We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint - attentive service + fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillipe Excoffier

Phillipe Excoffier
18 rue de l'exposition Paris 75007, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)
01 45 51 78 08
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Phillipe Excoffier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,120 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: I claim classic dishes, temperament and French technique, simmered kitchen, cleverly relieved of sauces, a kitchen that loves all products, market products and seasonal guiding the development of my card. I work cooking, treats each product with its specificities. The butter is played sparingly to keep only its nutty aromas, flavors are enriched broths and sauces, nothing is lost to the water fungi that enriches a sauce. Any excuse to magnify tastes. My lobster casserole is a bisque with cognac, slightly saffron, accompanied by vegetables from the market. My smoked bass with fennel arrives in a small casserole dish in which he has captured all the flavors of the vegetable and fresh thyme. The artichoke barigoule welcomes a truffle grated tatin artichoke and truffle juice is creamy and tasty dishes ... Buildings by associations of flavors and textures vie subtlety and simplicity. Side desserts, millefeuille with berries shows the perfection of the foliation and the greedy softness of a cream with vanilla and Grand Marnier souffle, such as caramel, sweet is my signature to which nobody can resist!
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Quaint - attentive service + fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the quiet 7e arrondissement. We were seated by the window and were fortunate to have a light breeze on a warm summer evening, pinko breaded shrimps as a starter with roasted red pepper coulis paired with a light white burgundy, followed by a artichoke rating and mini chèvre burgers (amazing!), our main course was sweet breads with Porto sauce and sautéed girolles mushrooms, and grilled sea bass with puréed white "coco" beans, raved about the presentation and flea ours throughout the meal. Our waiter Denis was very attentive and added to the totally enjoyable evening, We got to chat with the chef Phillipe over a digestif at the end of the night. A trip to Paris is not complete unless you are lucky enough to get such a great meal at such a reasonable price (prix fixe 37€} least once during your stay. Only constructive criticism is that the wine list could use some expansion but otherwise, you won't regret your evening in the least.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    32
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommened - excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Located near the Eiffel Tower on a side street, the food never disappoints. We live nearby and eat here regularly. The food is always excellent. The menu is relatively few items, but they are chosen carefully and then crafted by the Chef. The kitchen is open to see and the skill and quality is evident. Also, don't miss the souffle!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came upon this establishment because it was just down the street from our hotel. We had stayed at the same hotel and eaten at a restaurant in the vicinity some years ago, and very much enjoyed both, and so were looking to replicate that experience. The hotel (de ''Alma, reviewed elsewhere in TripAdvisor) was acceptable, but in seeking out the restaurant we found that the atmosphere had been changed dramatically. In place of the dark, rustic, Olde Worlde Charm, we found a thoroughly modern eatery. A little disappointed we asked about a table, and were asked if we had a reservation, which we did not. "We can give you a table from now (7 p.m.) only until 9 p.m., when we have a reservation already," was the response. Two hours being a very generous time budget for us, and most Americans, I understand, we accepted, sat, and dined languorously. My wife, sister- and brother-in-law, and I had a wonderful experience. The pampering staff were very attentive, without being intrusive. English, though a second language for most of the staff, was readily spoken, and an English language menu was available, as well as willing explanations of what was what on them. The service was impeccable. The food exceeded the service in quality. Our starters were large, and delicious; our mains were both generous and among the best food I have enjoyed anywhere in fifty years of travel. The sweets were in keeping with the rest - - eclectic, unusual, and delicious. Though it is difficult for me to do it, in light of the thousands of wonderful restaurants in Paris, we returned here two nights later, and tried other menu items (different from anything the four of us had tried the previous visit), and found everything to be every bit as good as our first visit's had been. The only crib I can think of, and in Paris this is really pointless, is the cost: bring the big wallet. I guess this is merely another example of "you get what you pay for." Very Highly Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro in the 7eme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience here. The starters and mains were the highlights. The service was discreet and efficient. The ambience and decor was spot on. I would recommend this place to people staying in the area wanting a high quality french bistro meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall terrific dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We dined at Phillipe Excoffier's bistro twice on a recent trip to Paris, and both times were among our best dining experiences in France. The staff was extremely professional and efficient, while at the same time friendly and welcoming. While we speak a little French, a small English-language menu board placed tableside made ordering so much easier. The 37 euro menu is a great value for the quality of food and service received. The wine list is not super-extensive, but has a great selection of wines from a variety of regions -- like everything else at this restaurant, it is focused and to the point.

Frankly, the only difficulty was getting a dinner reservation -- when we could not get in on a Friday evening, we settled for a mid-week lunch reservation and then while there booked a dinner reservation for the following week. This is understandable, as when we came back for dinner, the dining room was full.

Monsieur Excoffier is not just a name supplied to his restaurant. When we dropped in early to confirm our lunch reservation, he was meeting with his staff. He was busy in the open kitchen preparing the dishes both times we dined. After our dinner meal, he was nice enough to greet us and speak to us a little before we left, supplying a nice final touch to our visits there.

I believe rating inflation exists, and will not be prone to give many places a 5/5 rating. This one deserves it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillipe Excoffier also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Phillipe Excoffier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillipe Excoffier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.