We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place with well-made, interesting food and friendly service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galette Cafe

Galette Cafe
2 rue de l'Universite | Saint Germain des Près, 75007 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
+33 1 42 60 22 04
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Galette Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 13,309 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: At « Galette Café » the dough of our “galettes” and “crêpes” is prepared daily in the traditional way using the best organic flours from “Bretagne” (Britanny): A buckwheat flour PGI and a wheat flour of high quality.An array of delicious fillings cooked with care and precision everyday compose our “galettes” and “crêpes”; and perfectly pair with our selection of artisanal ciders or with a cold draft beer.In addition to our traditional ice creams; our artisanal and organic Kouign-amann can be enjoyed at any time of the day.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A charming place with well-made, interesting food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor and we pleased that it was just as good as it had sounded. Unlike a lot of places we ate, where the service was more "French"--that is, somewhat aloof--the waiters we had both of the evenings we visited were very kind and helpful and tolerant of our poor French. The atmosphere was pleasant, the dining room was tastefully decorated, and the food was wonderful. We loved the galletes--ham/cheese/egg, ratatouille--and we thought we were in heaven when we tried the apple-caramel crepe and the Kouing Amann with house-made caramel ice cream. Whew. Wonderful. Definitely go--it was one of the nicest dinner experiences we had in Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    91
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we loved Galette Cafe. After a long day of walking through Paris we went down a small street behind the Musee d' Orsay and happened upon a small little bistro. The waiter was excellent and the food was there in no time. I had the farmer's salad and it was heaped with bacon. It was all fresh and the crepes were wonderful. Can't say enough about this little jewel!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real find among a closed Left Bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having had galettes for the first time just two days earlier it was a relief to find this place with three very hungry people in tow, two of whom were kids. The Left Bank on a Friday night is a strangely closed place and to stumble across an eaterie of this quality seemed heaven sent.
A huge smile and extremely warm welcome was sustained throughout the stay finishing with the waiter offering to take a photo of our party at the end.
We all enjoyed various galettes which were simple, filling and above all very tasty. The wine was reasonably priced and complemented our food very well.
A great experience. Try it if you're passing and I would go out if my way to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best crepes in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place was awesome! Located near the Pont de Arts (romantic bridge where lovers place their locks). I tried the buckwheat crepes as well as the savoury salted caramel crepes with my girlfriend, and i can assure you, the moment was almost spiritual. The latter was a generous recommendation from the waiter in service, and this, he said, was the best crepe in his opinion. Service was also great, with the staff dropping by occasionally to check on how the food was. It was funny how every 10 mins or so I would hear diners at another table nearby would cry out something like "this crepe is amazing" or "mmm". Best dining experience in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A lovely little cafe serving a great assortment of galettes, crepes and fillings made with high-quality, fresh ingredients. The friendly service was probably the best that we experienced throughout our stay in Paris. Make a note to lunch here if you are in the area! (And also try out their artesan cider.) Very good prices for great tasting food and wonderful service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galette Cafe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Galette Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galette Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.