We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small outside but big inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montparnasse St Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montparnasse St Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Montparnasse St Germain
19, rue du Depart, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #712 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small outside but big inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We found this Hotel to be quite nice. We had four people in our room and did not feel cramped. The bathroom was quite large and everything was clean. No view to be had but we were close to the "Awful Tower" which meant we had connections to a lot of transportation and we even walked to Notre Dame. For Paris it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
21
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent location for the metro and restaurants. Hotel staff was friendly and spoke English well enough. Breakfast consisted of nice rolls and croissants with jams, cereals, yogurt, apple sauce and bread with toaster...not too bad for 10 Euro. Room was very clean but we had a plumbing issue in the shower as the water would not drain. Front deskman came up to the room but was unable to fix it so we showered with water filling up the bathtub and had to drain the basin with the trash can. Maintenance came in the morning to fix the drain but left the dirty towels and screws they used in the bathroom--not a huge issue considering the price of the hotel was such a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is my hotel in Paris from now on. Clean and big family rooms, huge bathroom and enough toiletries for our stay as we were travelling with hand luggage only and did not bring our own shampoos and stuff.
Location excellent opposite Tour Montparnasse. Close by you can find many cafeterias, creperies and restaurants. Metro is about 50 meters far and can get you to Latin Quarter or to Eiffel without making changes. I have usually stayed at Latin quarter but it is way more expensive to stay there and this is just as nice. Also a straight metro line to Defert where the Orlybus leaves. Only a few stops and you are there.
Staff in hotel were polite but not overly friendly. They did provide a luggage room for us as we had an evening flight and check out was at noon. That left us almost five hours of city-time in the lovely Paris without having to drag our bags with us.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and am sure to be back there if ever in Paris again.

Room Tip: We had a family room 205 facing the back so did not have any problems with traffic noise. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel has a great location, but it's rather basic ... and customer service is average at best, considering the cost. But then ... this is in the middle of Paris ... it's what you'd expect for €150 per night, here.

It's an easy Metro journey from Gare du Nord (direct on the M4 line, taking about 20 mins and is only about 2 mins walk from the local Metro station). That and the fact that it's within about 2km (30 mins walk) of all the main attractions like Eiffel Tower, The Louvre, Notre Dame etc also adds to the attractiveness of the location. And it's well served by cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The area feels safe.

Although, on our arrival we were greeted by locked glass doors - you need to ring the doorbell to even get into to the reception - until you're given a 4-digit PIN for the keypad after you checkin. However once we got in, we were met with a civil, if not exactly cheerful receptionist -- but that's kind of the customer service culture in general, here.

We collected our keys and went up to our room. The room was small and basic - but clean - until we went into the bathroom and found dirty towels on the floor, a toothbrush in the glass, and a detached loo seat.

Our hearts sank as we worked out the French for 'The room is not ready. And the toilet is broken'. Thank God for the free WiFi (good performance, once you find out what the password is) and Google Translate.

Luckily the receptionist understood my broken French - it's amazing how universal body language and tone of voice is - and she'd given the cleaner some 'coaching' on the internal phone system, she quickly replaced our room with one that was properly prepared (and in fact better all round - with quite a posh bathroom). And she even apologised.

As to practicalities - the bed was comfortable - I slept like a log. The street outside is quite noisy, though - so if you're a light sleeper or you like to have the window open, be prepared for a lot of traffic noise, car lights, and city sirens, pretty much throughout the night. Back on the customer service theme, there are no help or instructions or welcome pack in the room. There are no tea or coffee-making facilities.

Our room didn't have bedside cabinets and the phone was perched on the headboard. We went out for breakfast - the area is well served by lots of restaurants and cafes within 5 minutes walk. But you can eat in for €8.

In summary then, this is a typical central-city hotel. You pay for the location - which is good; but pretty much everything else is the bare minimum they can get away with, for the price (€150) of what would be a much more luxurious, personal, customer experience somewhere other than the capital.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean room and bathroom. But had a broken small mirror in the bathroom.
Confortable bed.
Wifi works ok.
Breakfast not bad, but a little lacking for 8 euros.
Close to metro and comercial centre of Montparnasse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montparnasse St Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montparnasse St Germain

Address: 19, rue du Depart, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montparnasse St Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montparnasse St Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.