We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decadent Gourmet Food Tours

Decadent Gourmet Food Tours
Rue Cler, Paris, France
+33 6 65 26 49 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 728 Activities in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer french gourmet food tours including: chocolates, cheese, french sweets, boulangeries, farmers markets & kosher gourmets. Unlike other tasting tours in which one doesn't get to visit back kitchens at all, we actually take you inside the “laboratoires” to witness the creation process. You will also get to meet the master artisans–a very rare opportunity indeed. Ask them questions you’ve always wanted to ask. Come away with intriguing insider’s knowledge.
Kumamoto, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Rebekah, this tour guide, is a knowledgeable person. She is familiar with the cuisine of the French, French foods, agriculture and fishery products, farmers markets, chocolate and so on. In additionally, She is kind and friendly. Thanks to her, we enjoyed to visit farmers markets and chocolate factory of Michel Chaudun. I would recommend you to join the tour.

英語(もしくはフランス語)が分かるのであれば、このツアーをお勧めします。日本語のマルシェツアーは、他の観光地にも行って30分くらいマルシェを見て雰囲気と買い物を楽しむだけのところが多いようですが、このツアーは内容が濃いです。というのも、ガイドのレベッカさんがフランス料理研究家で、食材の選び方、産地、食についてのストーリー等を詳しく教えて下さるからです。また、ミシェル・ショーダン(ピエール・エルメの師匠、銀座他に直営店あり)
の店にも行き、ミシェルさんがチョコレートを作っている所を実際に見せてもらえました。

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly Decadent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our Decadent Gourmet Food Tour with Rebekah Lee as our wonderful guide. We learned so much about flour, yeast & timing while visiting the boulangerie. All are critical to the delicious finished product. Next on the tour was the cheese shop. All the beautiful fromage begged to be tried on the baguettes we brought from our previous stop. And, what can be said about the chocolate at the boutique shop of Michel Chaudun? I have never tasted anything so perfectly decadent. Thank you, Rebekah for passing along your incredible knowledge, passion & love of Paris & it’s gourmet foods.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We took the epicurean tour and it was great! The shop owners were friendly and our guide, Rebekah, was very knowledgeable. The small group tour (4 people) allows each person to ask questions and really see the products being made. My only regret is that we took our tour at nearly the end of our trip. We would have been more comfortable and informed when shopping in Paris if we had taken the tour first thing. Now we know what an artisan shop in Paris means and know how to recognize the various kinds of breads. We often take guided tours when we travel, and this was one of the best!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small group, behind the scenes tour or 3 amazing artisans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a wonderful morning walking tour last week . I was so impressed by everything, especially M. Chaudon's chocolate boutique. He has a real passion for making chocolate and I thought 'I have found the spectacular chocolate that I was looking for, in Paris'. The boulangerie smelled fantastic and it was nice to see the bread being made. We frequented it several times during the week - for quiche or pain du chocolat for breakfast; for sandwiches to take to Versailles for lunch, for bread 'pain tradit' with dinners. The multi-grain heavier breads travelled well. The tour guide's knowledge of French cheeses in the artisan cheese shop was impressive and I bought a few small goat cheeses to eat during the week. It was my favorite tour of my stay in Paris and all 3 shops were near each other so there wasn't much walking. Best for food lovers,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decadent Gourmet Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Decadent Gourmet Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decadent Gourmet Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.