We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippopotamus - Wagram

Hippopotamus - Wagram
46 Avenue de Wagram, Paris, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,163 of 13,440 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great service, good English speaking staff. Good meals at reasonable prices. We ate there twice whilst in Paris. Highly recommend... First time travellers to Paris... Also free WiFi...free snacks with beer....friendly staff...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    23
    17
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reliable low hassle option for a decent dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Despite greeting them in French they clocked my Englishness straight away and handed me the English menu. Good service I suppose. The crispy shrimp started was greasy, deep fried and bland, but my steak for main course was perfectly seasoned and cooked. The crime brûlée to follow was lovely and generously sized. The waitress was efficient without feeling the need to be friendly. There were no errors or problems. On the whole, if you are seeking a good dinner with no language hassles this will suit you fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

like other reviewers I was surprised at the number of places that were closed. Was walking back towards our hotel and came upon this place. Reasonable food not too pricey and good value with wines. Would go back again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Franchised fast food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Paris is world famous for fantastic food. Hippopotamus is not that. It's just plain, American-style fast food. It's not terrible, but it's not good by any stretch. And it's fairly expensive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worse 2nd Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been to this restraunt twice, once in October 2012 and again in May 2013. The first time was amazing, staff very helpful with menus in english(or any language we wanted), the next time we found the staff decided to hide the english menus tho very badly so when we pointed at the shelf the kept the menus on they simply replied "no anglais" and made us order in french. We then got poor service being left till last for waiters to come over. The food was still good so might go back again in august when we are in paris again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippopotamus - Wagram also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Saint-Mande, Val-de-Marne
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippopotamus - Wagram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippopotamus - Wagram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.