We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160, rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

its amazingly excellent. Very good supportive English specking staff, clean and comfortable rooms and very nicely decorative environment. Speedy and silent lifts. Dedicated smoking lounge. Since the hotel is almost new the interior is nicely decorative and fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
68
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

So lots of positives. Modern, clean, friendly reception staff, quiet considering the location on Rue la Fayette, well (perfectly) suited for the Gare du Nord/Eurostar/metro. Reasonable price for Paris. However there were a couple of things that if booking here you need to watch out for - firstly, adjoining rooms are not soundproofed - of our four night stay we had two nits where the couple in the adjacent room sounded like we were in a dormitory. They weren't excessively noisy either, just being normal, so when booking make sure you aren't in an adjoining room if at all possible.

Secondly, they were a little to keen to interrupt us and clean the rooms in the morning. We are a young couple who work hard and appreciate a lie in on the odd occasion that we get them, so when the room staff were ignoring the do not disturb sign - consistently - I found it a bit irritating. However, not a problem if you are not into 'staying in bed' in the morning.

I would recommend the hotel though, and may stay there again as the pro's outweigh the cons and I'm sure the cons could be avoided with planning and communication.

Happy travels.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Already when I entered to the hotel I was amazed by huge reception space with friendly receptionnist stuff who spoke very well English. The hotel is very new and modern in the spirit of contemporary art. The room was very clean with all the necessary stuff that help to make your stay more comfortable (air conditioner, TV etc...). The way the room looks like was very nice with colorful wall behind the bed with beautiful light lane shining on it.
In spite of I wrote so far, I would add also that there is a garden connected with the breakfast hall, if its sunny You could eat outside there with lots of green around You, anyway the interior offers the fireplace and it is very interesting to see that while eated. There is also another terrasse in the 3rd floor that is a nice place to smoke. I really like the hotel and it is very special, clean place that I do recommend to everyone who wishes to be in Paris and especially close to the GARE DU NORD train station that is around 50 metres next to the hotel . Concerning to the price, it corresponds the quality and modern style of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Genuine 5-minute walk from Gare De Nord. Not within short walking distance of major attractions though - e.g. Eiffel Tower. But metros are over the place.

Staff were consistently very friendly and couldn't mark them any higher. Never kept waiting at reception. Helpful with luggage storage as well.

Hotel feels like a standard business/chain hotel with the usual chain hotel features but with a little extra class and charisma and style, e.g nice elevator, cool like shower head etc, little touches like that.

There was at some noise at night as a busy area, but fell asleep in 5 minutes anyway. I personally heard no noise from inside the hotel.

Very well located for cheap eats especially. Slightly seedy area actually, with sex shops and there was a small gang of youths hanging about. There is a small supermarket 10 seconds walk from the front door of the hotel, so it's easy to save on the €15 extra breakfast charge if you want.

The internet access was good, and they also let me use it in reception as I was still waiting for an email just after the check out time.

Can't think of any major negative poinnts.

The reason I only gave this hotel 3* despite an apparently 4-5* review is because of the cost. €289 is marked on the front door and the room as the price (or something of that order) but you're more likely to pay what I paid which I think was €160-180. I have stayed in many hotels in Western Europe including UK, France, Germany, Spain, and others and I would rate this hotel at about €80 by the standards of most of those places. Yes, it's Paris, and fairly central, but surely that only knocks up the price by 40-50%? Other places I have stayed in in Paris over the years have been better value for money. Feel like I paid €160-€180 for a hotel that seems to me to have a market value of €120? If you can get it for near to €120 I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel Hor is one of those gems that you come about once in while. Recently opened in spitting distance from Gare du Nord, it could not be better located for connections to Brussels, Koeln etc but also in terms of accessibility from Airport Charles de Gaulle. Public transport from and to the airport is going to easy when one stays so close to Gare du Nord. The premises are brand new, very clean and pleasant. My room was small but very efficiently designed, ticked all the boxes for my typical needs as a person who travels a lot professionally. The service was super friendly and attentive. Travelling as much as I do, I would normally find some faults in even the best hotels: Hotel Hor strikes me as the exception - just perfect. It made my week end break in Paris even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The higher up the better given the noise level from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is very new and clean. We were greeted by very helpful reception and was greeted by their friendliness. We chose this hotel due to its great location between the Gare du Nord station and Gare de l'est which is just 2 minutes away behind the hotel. Reception is equipped with 2 computers and a printer for use so you can buy tickets to shows or muzuems. Bought ticket for Palace of Versailles and printed them to avoid the crowd. The reception was very helpful as she helped me booked a seat for Lido Cabaret via the phone as well.

Trains from CDG Airport brings you to Gare du Nord station and you just have to walk across 2 streets to reach this hotel. L'Open Bus Tour bus stop is right in front of Gare du Nord station making it very accessible to hop on. Ticket of the L'Open Bus Tour bus tour can be purchased on the bus.

There are also many nice restaurants around the area in front of Gare du Nord station. One must absolutely try Terminus Nord as its it setup as a classic brasserie. You can find the review from tripadvisor as well.

You can also walk down the street to Gallerie Lafayette which this hotel is situated along. It will take a long time to walk down, approximately 25-30 minutes depending on your pace but good if you are adventurous. You can also walk to Sacre Coeur Basilica along the Gare du Nord station at about the same time if you wished. But do be on a lookout and awareness for pickpockets.

Dangerous to hangout at night around the hotel but near where the restaurants are fine. There is a card scanner at the entrance of the hotel so no strangers can come in. You will need to scan your card for the glass entrance door to open. Similarly for elevator use as well. Overall, the hotel is nicely located with a lot of accessibility to places.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden which I think will be quieter. Most rooms are joining rooms as seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Responsable réception at Hotel Hor, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam,

It is right that Gare du Nord serves a lot of touristic and business destinations and it is with pleasure that we will welcome you again at the Hotel Hor.

Security is always a delicate matter near major train stations in the world. This is why we have taken steps to secure the hotel (reception 24h/24, video surveillance, entrance to the hotel at night thanks to a card scanner…)

Kind regards.

Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had initially booked to stay with another hotel down the road that had great reviews on tripadvisor. When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately told that there was a problem with our room and we would be driven down the road to Hotel Hor. My boyfriend was sceptic but I am a kind of 'go with it' kind of girl. What's meant to be is meant to be.
We were both pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel and the room. Only renovated a few months back. Still looked fresh. I'm not sure what the cost of this hotel is compared to the hotel we booked, but we feel that Hotel Hor is worth what we paid.
The receptionist was very helpful too. We were desperately trying to find an Italian restaurant that serves Italian cuisine and not just pizza and pasta . I think we eventually found somewhere.
Yes, we would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hor

Address: 160, rue la Fayette, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 24/24, this hotel is 120 meters away from the metro station Gare du Nord, which leads directly to Saint-Michel area. It offers free Wi-Fi, a terrace and a small garden. Rooms at hotel are Hor soundproof and serviced by a lift. All rooms have modern decor, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. Some rooms have a private terrace and are suitable for people with reduced mobility. Guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast in the dining room, garden or in the comfort of your room. There are restaurants and cafes within 100 meters of the hotel. You also have possibility to park your car to Gare de L'est and Gare du nord Station parking area for a preferential price ( 25% discount on public price) The hotel Hor is a 20 minute walk from the Republic Square, 12 minutes walk from the Canal Saint-Martin. The Montmartre district is a 15 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.