We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like owning your own apartment in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helzear Rive Gauche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Helzear Rive Gauche to your Saves list
Helzear Rive Gauche
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Liancourt | Tour Montparnasse, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Like owning your own apartment in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a pleasant night in a quiet area. Room was comfortable although not very spacious. I wouldn't recommend for elderly given the number of stairs to reach our room. Despite this we had a wonderful stay. Lots of good restaurants are located nearby. Staff was very helpful and efficient.
We will probably go back there as it is a good option especially when you compare with hotels of similar standing in the neighborhood. Good choice although not the cheapest.

Room Tip: Would rather recommend room at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    40
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
28
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked an apartment for I two night stop-over in Paris at the end of our summer holiday. We found Helzear online and it looked delightful - clean, light, great location etc.

We were appalled when we arrived. We had booked an apartment designed for 7 people (as a family of 5 so as to have more space) it was described to have 2 double beds and 2 sofa beds on our order confirmation. However, we found we had been given a 5 person apartment with only one double bed and 2 sofa beds. This was even more disappointing as the sofa beds are very uncomfortable and creaky. On sofa bed was in the Living area and once it was opened you had to climb over it to get across the room, this however, was still better than the sofa bed in the other bedroom - once the bed was out it 100% blocked the entrance to the bathroom. So you couldn't enter it without climbing across the bed and scrambling off into the door of the bathroom.

The creaky beds and cramped apartment and VERY UNCLEAN floors and bathrooms( covered in hair and dust when we arrived ), whilst unpleasant and depressing we're not the main factors that ruined our short time in paris. It was the NOISE. All through the night there were street cleaners and motorbikes and god knows what else and then as I finally started to get some sleep after a thoroughly disturbed night the BUILDING WORK RIGHT NEXT DOOR STARTED AT 7am!!!!!! (They are building some apartment complex next door that is barely started and doesn't look as though it will be finished until at least SPRING 2014.

Over all I would NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN.

there was also NO AIR-CONDITIONING and NO WINDOWS in either bathroom or the MASTER BEDROOM. so it was also unbearably stuffy

Room Tip: Don't ever go here. A HOLIDAY INN would be preferable compared to this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

With our 3 kids we enjoyed the spacious appartment on a short trip to Paris. The apartment was clean and was well equiped. It has good connections to the metro, and there were shops in the near neighbourhood.
The personnel was very helpful and made useful recommendations.

Room Tip: We had the "Edgar Degas" apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We have greatly enjoid our stay at the Helzear Montparnasse apartments. Very good concept for family with children. Convenient and easy accesible. The staff is very helpful, I would definitely advice!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Traveled to Paris by train from Germany, with my wife and 3 yr old son. Location was great for us - 15 min walk to the Luxembourg Gardens, tons of cafes and restaurants in the adjacent area. If you want to be in the middle of the touristy areas, than I would consider staying a bit closer to the river, but we really enjoyed being in Montparnasse.

As for the hotel/apartment itself - it was just enough space for us three. It was nice to have a balcony, and also have separate living room and bedroom. Kitchen was well stocked, so we had all the items we needed for a two night stay with a young kid.

Staff was extremely friendly, and really made sure everything was taken care of.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Helzear Rive Gauche in Paris.
The rooms are very nice, it was very cosy and it was a very pleasant stay. The people were very friendly and the accomodation was exactly what I expected.
We stayed with our 2 daughters and the area felt very secure.

When we return to Paris. Helzear Rive Gauche is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eerbeek, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Paris. The apartment was clean and close to the metro. At the moment, construction work is going on by the neighbors, and they start at 8 AM.
Short distance to supermarket and bakery.
I do recommend Helzear to anyone who wants to stay in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helzear Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helzear Rive Gauche

Address: 40 rue Liancourt | Tour Montparnasse, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helzear Rive Gauche 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter one of our Rive Gauche Montparnasse Helzear hotel-apartments and discover the luxury and privacy of an environment in which you can feel totally at home. Relax and invite your friends in a refined, contemporary setting, while at the same time enjoying the services of a top hotel. There is a wonderfull garden in the earth of the city : prepare a confidential and peacefull stay in Paris downtonwn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Helzear Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helzear Rive Gauche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.