We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Saint-Jacques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Relais Saint-Jacques
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue de l'Abbe de l'Epee, 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated once you do some research on the paris metro system many places on the tourist map are actually within walking distance. Some great restaurants offering traditional French cuisine at ver reasonable prices. The hotel staff are very knowledgable and accommodating. The hotel has a quaint lounge to the right of the reception area but no one actually explained what this lounge is used for or what it has to offer.the hotel rooms are furnished very tastefully decorated with good aircondition. The only criticism is that they have shower over bath which I find great difficulty getting in and out of which is quite dangerous for those in senior years. The bathrooms are appointed with L'Occitane toiletries which are of high quality. Breakfast is cosy and provides good variety of breakfast favorites with real freshly squeezed orange juice which is a rarity in France. The only overall criticism is the wifi which although free the speed in the morning is quite good however in the evenings is pathetically slow and often disconnects annoying when trying to do some business work.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are very pleased to be informed you had a nice stay with us and in Paris. Regarding the wifi, we are currently looking for a solution with the company concerned, the speed should be improved in a very short time especially the evening when many guests are using Internet. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon. Best regards. S.Maguer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    97
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
148
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stay in this area of Paris for about one month each year. I booked this hotel for my first night on my last trip. The room is very small but standard size for Paris. Furnished in a very traditional style with attention to detail. Staff were very helpful. I did not stay longer as I like there to be more cafes very very close by, just a personal preference and no reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, we are glad when we reading that you enjoyed your one night stay with us, it is our job first of all. Paris is full of old buildings with modest size rooms indeed, especially on the left bank. Our rooms are between 15-23m² and 32m² for our Suite, what is not too bad we can imagine we most are not to be pitied…
Regarding your preference to be very close by cafes, we are pleased to inform you that “Le Mauzac”, our neighbour is making works to be renovated, should open very soon. In case you will come back in a future Parisian stay we hope you can enjoy it. King regards, S.Peccatte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Staff very pleasant and friendly ,good location if like us you don't mind walking . Some good local restaurants .we did not eat in the hotel as we preferred to go out to the local brasseries,
All in all a very good hotel

Room Tip: If you want to get any where fast use the rental bikes located in the streets. Ask for top floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Gary D,
We really appreciate your taking the time to review us. Thank you for your wonderful praises regarding the staff and location. One of the many great perks we enjoy is that we are very close to Luxembourg garden and not right in the middle of the big boulevards, so we are able to avoid the huge crowds. The fact that we are in a little quiet street also helps since it more tranquil. I hope during your next visit you stay with us again. S.Peccatte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This charming hotel was perfectly located in the Latin quarter. Its very close to the subway line,, Jardin du Luxembourg, many fine restaurants and shopping and only a 20 minute walk to the Seine, Sorbonne and the Pantheon. The staff is very pleasant and the rooms were exceptional. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Madame, We thank you for your kind review and for the time you took for. We are pleased to be informed that you enjoyed your stay in our property and we will be very pleased to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris. Best regards, S. Peccatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It was our first stay in Paris and we had chosen this hotel because of its good location, positive reviews and its look. We couldn't choose better! Everything was great - welcoming and friendly staff, free upgrade to beautiful room with great view (we could see Pantheon and even Eiffel tower from distance), nice and cosy honesty bar or excellent room service. We would recommend this hotel to all who want to stay in Paris in a hotel with magical atmosphere of chateau rooms and be treated well.
Advantages: location (RER station 5 minutes by feet, Luxemburg gardens 7 minutes, Pantheon 10 minutes, Notre Dame 20 minutes), friendly and helpful staff, charming chateau rooms, room service and more
Disadvantages: some people may find rooms and furniture little bit outdated, but we believe it helps to build the atmosphere

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony have beautiful view; higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madame, we thank you for the time you took in leaving us your feeling about our hotel. We are pleased to be informed that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the furniture, we are pleased to inform you that the hotel will be all renovated through beginning of 2015. We will be very pleased to welcome you again very soon. Best regards, S.Peccatte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed in this nice hotel for 5-6 days and it was just great! Room was of a reasonable size for a couple. The breakfast was not included but it was really good ... It was worthwhile. Location was great, in particular to arrive from or go to the airport. The Luxemburg gardens are just close to the hotel and fantastic to relax or even exercise. The toilletries were just great, smooth towels and nice view from the room. Wifi worked well, all was nice and cool. Really recommend! Thank you guys

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Sir, we deeply thank you for having taken time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to be informed that you had a nice stay in our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon in a future stay in Paris. Best regards, S.PECCATTE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My Girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights from 14th - 16th March 2014. The Hotel is very easy to find if travelling from Charles De Gaulle Airport. The RER B train line runs directly from the Airport and stops at Luxembourg Metro which is a few minutes walk from the Hotel. The Luxembourg Metro will connect you to the whole City. The Hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly and the reception and bar area were very clean on arrival. We stayed in a Prestige Double Room which overlooked the street at the front of the hotel. The window glazing blocked all street noises during the night. The rooms were nicely decorated with a well stocked mini bar. The bathroom had lots of soaps, shampoo and shower gel along with fresh towels, bath robes and slippers. We didn't eat in the Hotel as there were many Cafes, Patisseries and restaurants close by to sample the French Cuisine. I recommend L' Oree Du Parc restaurant next to the hotel for some local French cuisine. The Hotel is right next to Luxembourg Gardens which is great for walking or sitting on the grass on a sunny day. My only complaint about our stay was that the hotel corridors smelled of cigarette smoke. Other than that, it was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Relais Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking time for live us your kind review. Your opinion is important for us and we are pleased to be informed that you had a nice time in our property. Regarding the smoke smells in the corridor, our hotel is no-smoking however sometimes some guests smoke into the rooms, be sure we do our best to refresh it afterwards.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Best regards. S.Peccatte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Saint-Jacques

Address: 3 Rue de l'Abbe de l'Epee, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#329 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Saint-Jacques 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Relais Saint Jacques This former family guesthouse, a favourite of the German Poet Rainer Maria Rilke, who stayed here while corresponding with the sculptor Rodin, is now a charming and tastefully luxurious boutique hotel, ideally located on the edge of Luxembourg Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Jacques Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.