We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and comfort in a cracking location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Saint-Jacques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Relais Saint-Jacques
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue de l'Abbe de l'Epee, 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegance and comfort in a cracking location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The location is spot on - in amongst the loveliness of the Latin Quarter. It's on a quiet street but we could walk easily to many of the best spots of Paris. Rue Mouffetard is worth a wander, and dinner at Au Port de Salut down the road is a must for a slice of authentic Parisien charm.

The staff at the hotel were great, really helpful and efficient. And the bed was one of the most comfortable we can remember.

We felt the breakfast was a little pricey but Paris generally is (even by London's standards) so that may be as expected.

But overall, this hotel is a real find. Big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    98
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
22
151
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cowra nsw australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

R oman at the reception was very helpful and gave us lots of advice on eating places and how to get there when walking. Thanks Roman from the four Aussies. Our rooms were adequate and we were able to walk to the restaurants outside our hotel and to the shopping areas which were close to our hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sweet but small lounge with self serve beer and champagne plus nibbles. Honour system. Liked it. Helpful staff. Rooms nice but small. Good toiletries. Book a front room - they are larger.
Located on the Left Bank within walking distance of Notre Damme
Breakfasts were of good quality.

Room Tip: Choose a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved our stay at Relais Saint-Jacques! Romain was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The location is within a few blocks of a major Metro station that was very convenient to see the main sites. There are a number of good restaurants in the Cluny area just off St. Michael and Gay Lussac. There is a favorite and very popular local restaurant and wine bar 2 doors up from the hotel. Classic French cuisine and a great wine selection.
We were in Paris for only 4 nights, but would have enjoyed extending our stay at Relais Saint-Jacques to spend more time in the 4th and 5th districts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Located on a small quiet street. Close to RER. Good dining nearby on Mouffetard street. Walking distance to St. Germain shopping/ dining. Good Nespresso coffee with smallish selection, but good quality breakfast. We liked everything about this hotel. As mentioned before, the rooms are small, but adequate for Paris.

Room Tip: Room 502 on the top floor had a long balcony and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised as the hotel turned out to be perfect for a last minute weekend surprise trip. Very central, cute boutique hotel in the Latin Quarter with a lovely view of the Pantheon and spacious, clean deluxe room with a balcony. Staff were always very helpful - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a nice friendly boutique Paris hotel. It is quite small the bedrooms are an acceptable size with all the normal facilities. There is a lounge with an honesty bar and free wifi and the staff are very helpful.

If I had to find something to be critical of it would be the size of the bathrooms. The cat protection league would love them as there is certainly not enough room to swing a cat in them, but otherwise we had a lovely four day stay.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but is a breakfast area. The restaurant next door is great thou and my wife and myself had a lovely dinner there.

We did all the normal tourist things, Notre Dame, Effield Tower, Louvre and I highly recommend the show at the Moulin Rougue with the river trip we which booked through viators.

Room Tip: All rooms seem much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Saint-Jacques

Address: 3 Rue de l'Abbe de l'Epee, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#144 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Saint-Jacques 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Relais Saint Jacques This former family guesthouse, a favourite of the German Poet Rainer Maria Rilke, who stayed here while corresponding with the sculptor Rodin, is now a charming and tastefully luxurious boutique hotel, ideally located on the edge of Luxembourg Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Jacques Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.