We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FOR BEST RATE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #89 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fabulous hotel, the most welcoming and helpful staff anywhere in Paris. Highly recommended. Convenient location right by the RER and next to the beautiful Luxembourg gardens. Some lovely places to eat in the vicinity and a relaxed, left bank vibe. Stayed with my 75 year old father who tried out his very limited French on the patient and accommodating staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 204 and 205 situated at the back of the hotel. Lovely and quiet overlooking prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    196
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
319
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just came back with my hubby from a long weekend in Paris.
The welcoming was just perfect, we were cheers by a very knowledgable Italian man, Michele. He give us a number of great tips what to see where to eat, Parisian insight. If you will stay there you must ask him he will open your world. Another employer that deserve to be mention for his great attitude is Mustafa, always ready to help and to full fill our wish. The breakfast is soo good, simple but genuine, and the location is great. Walking distance from everywhere.
Thank you!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Giuliana c,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the tips and recommendations from our staff members. Customer service being our first priority, your kind words were truly appreciated.

As you did mention, our buffet breakfast, served from 7 to 10am (11 on Sundays) is simple but made up only with fresh products. You will find both hot and cold products: ham, dairy produces, sausages, eggs, yogurts, as well as handmade pastries.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next visit in our capital,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an amazing stay in this perfectly located hotel for my Husbands 60th Birthday. We asked for a quiet room and was given room 503 overlooking the gardens of the Institute of the Deaf which was quiet and peaceful. It was so easy to get to from CDG airport (RER B) which only took about 45mins and a bargain at €10 each way. Thanks to Michele and the team who couldn't do enough for us, always friendly and welcoming. and special thanks for the champagne and macaroons which were in the room on arrival. A special hotel which we will return to.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nallycat,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you had a nice birthday celebration with us and that you particularly enjoyed our special treats on this very special occasion.

The RER B indeed takes you to the airport (Orly and CDG) in 45 minutes for a fare of 10€. Should you feel more comfortable travelling in a car, we offer you a transfer service from and to the airport. Do not hesitate to contact us for further information.

We would be glad to welcome you for your next stay in our capital and we remind you to contact us directly for our best offers!

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great 3 star hotel. I really liked the location- we were in walking distance from St Michel and St. Germain but we felt like we were in a local neighborhood. The hotel is quaint with interesting decor. The staff was really helpful. Michel and Moustafa were really friendly, gave us great directions and advice on things to do. The breakfast at the adjoining restaurant was really good and a good value for the money. The only two suggestions I have that would have improved my stay would be better lighting in the room (the lighting is romantic but not sufficient for other activities) and shower curtain/door- the floor in the bathroom does get wet when taking a shower. The hotel is clean, water pressure an temperature were excellent. Location by Luxembourg gardens was great too- walking through the park to get to the rest of the city was great. Good access to transport as well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Christopher G,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review about your recent stay with us.

Your kind words about our location and our Customer service were truly appreciated. Depending on what are your plans for your stay in Paris, our Front Desk team will be delighted to give you some suggestions, recommendations or directions. Do not hesitate to ask them!

Please rest assured your suggestions were taken into consideration and forwarded to the concerned parties. Your comments are of great value as we are always in search of improvement.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and advise you to contact us directly for our best rates!

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've had a wonderful stay at this cute parisien hotel. Very clean and well maintained rooms, free wi-fi, the BEST location and a super-friendly staff (especially Mikelle!). A few complementary treats and snacks were in the room for us (heart-shaped pastries, speculoos cookies, savory pringles) along with a nice welcome-card. We'll be happy to recommend this hotel to friends and family, and return to it on our next visit... Thank you for some great nights at the city of lights!

Room Tip: We've upgraded to a superior room and it was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear DganitEP,

Thank you for taking time to share your remarks about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and rest assured that your kind words about our service were shared with the rest of the team.

As you did mention, coffee and tea facilities are available in your room, along with some biscuits (speculoos). We are pleased to refill them every day and to provide you with more upon request. The rooms are also equipped with a minibar where you'll be able to find soft drinks such as water, coke, orange juice... The prices are displayed in the desks.

We thank you for recommending our hotel and hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! To benefit from our best rates and even added values, contact us directly.

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I just returned from a week in Paris, and this hotel played a huge role in our positive experience.

As far as transportation options go, it's directly off the RER B train from the airport - the exit is no more than 50 feet from the hotel front door. It's across the street from Luxembourg garden, and an easy 15 minute walk to Saint-Michele, Notre Dame, Sorbonne, Parthenon, Pont Nuef and more. L'Open Tour's hop on hop off buses have two stops both within a 5 minute walk.

The hotel staff were friendly and so helpful. Michele and Jessica. greeted us our first day and set the tone. Susith was also helpful with getting our room temperature just right.

The rooms are small, definitely, but my wife and were out and about so much that it didn't really impact us. Bathrooms are right, and the Internet is almost non existent - but honestly these issues are minuscule. If you are looking for a great location to use as a base of for exploring this wonderful city, you will not be disappointed with this hotel!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jeff T,

Thank you for sparing your time and write about your recent experience with us.

We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you particularly took advantage of our location. As you did mention, the hotel is located a few steps away from the RER station. Should you arrive from one of the airports (Orly or CDG) or from Gare du Nord, the train is direct to the hotel. Exit at the "Luxembourg" stop and choose the exit "Rue de l'Abbé de l'Epée".

The HopOn-HopOff bus stops next to the Panthéon, which is located 5 min away from the hotel. This bus is ideal to discover the city as they offer you four different routes and you have the possibility to hop off and hop on as many times as you want. Our Front Desk team will be glad to provide you with the necessary information if needed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next visit to Paris and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers.

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed from March 20 to 30. After many evenings researching hotels online and using trip advisor successfully for other trips we were happy when we first booked online for this hotel. Imagine our disappointment when we arrived to find the cute hotel that we saw in pictures with great views of a garden , now covered in scaffolding ? There was never any mention of this at any time on any of the websites when we did our reservation . On other trips we have been made aware if a hotel would be under renovations , etc so we were properly prepared to not have a view or to expect construction noise . When we asked about this at our check in on a Saturday we were told the scaffolding and the work would be done on Monday and that our room was at the back where the gardens were and that they were done that side .... Not only was the scaffolding not gone by the Monday , every single morning we awoke to two angry construction workers yelling outside our window while momentarily scraping paint only to go back to pacing by our window on the scaffolding to continue arguing some more. We could not open our window in the morning for fresh air as I was not comfortable or felt safe with two yelling men outside our window . Using the shower while there are people immediately outside your window is not a very comfortable experience. This continued for our entire trip and we were never offered any kind of explanation or apology of any sort . Yes, thank goodness the beds are comfortable . Yes , if I did get a chance to use the shower after waiting out then constr workers to move along there was plenty of hot water .
The dinner we had at the hotel restaurant was superb , start to finish . Service was fantastic, wine was great , food was amazing !
On our last day we asked for a wake up call , it was 45 minutes late ! And yes , after ten days the scaffolding was still up and unfortunately the lack of communication or any effort for them to make the situation any better leads me to write a less than favourable review .

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear WestCoastr,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

We were more than surprised to read your review. As you did mention, the hotel was experiencing a façade-cleansing during the first months of 2015. We always strive to offer our guests the best service and product possible and these works were part of our improvement. The works were finished by the end of March (March 27th to be accurate) and the scaffolding removed, as forecasted and mentioned to our guests. Scaffolding and works are now completely finished.

During the cleansing, we were glad to assist our guests by offering them another room or even to stay in our sister hotel, Hôtel Le Six. Please kindly note that our Front Desk team is available 24/7 to make your stay the most enjoyable possible: do not hesitate to let them know should you encounter any trouble during your stay.

Regarding the alarm clock, our system is automatic and we always ring your room a second time a few minutes after the hour set to make sure you are awake. Thus, we were quite astonished, especially since we always inquire our guests upon check-out about their stay. Your remarks and suggestions are mostly welcome, for us to be able to offer you a better service.

We remind you that booking directly through our website or via email ensures you our best rates and even some added values (breakfast offered, upgrade upon availability…).

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again,

With our best regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Paris
#68 Family Hotel in Paris
#82 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.