We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Paris!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg to your Saves list
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FOR BEST RATE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #98 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were delighted with our stay! I lived in Paris many years ago and have visited many times since. This is my new favorite place to stay! The location is wonderful and very quiet for Paris—just a short walk from some of the best places in Paris (it was also fun to stroll through the Luxembourg Gardens each day which are just across the street). The RER/Metro for the hotel (Luxembourg) was a direct stop from Charles de Gaulle airport which was extremely convenient and the access is practically across the street. Our room was quite large by Paris standards (most hotels in Paris are extremely tiny), and even included a place to put luggage, a desk/chair, a refrigerator, a large closet, two nightstands, lovely lighting and handy reading lights by each bedside. The bathrooms are modern, clean and well appointed, including bathroom slippers and heated towel racks. The thing we truly enjoyed was the amount of light and the beautiful view we had from our economy priced room (we stayed in room 404). The “flat iron” shaped building affords every room large windows--a very, very unusual treat for Paris! Even the stairway had windows. Most hotels in Paris do not have views, and if you are in an economy room, you will probably be at the back of the hotel overlooking an airshaft. We overlooked the garden across from the back of the hotel and our room was so quiet we could even hear the small fountain in the middle of the garden all throughout the day and night if we had the windows open. On the very few occasions we came back to the room in the middle of the day, we enjoyed sitting and looking out the window at our lovely view. The weather was quite warm at times and our air conditioner worked very well when needed. They have complimentary wifi (a bit slow, but we were happy to have it), and a nice café is also attached to the building which can even provide room service if needed. The elevator was small, but we were glad to have it when coming in and out with luggage. We were greeted by name each day we were at the hotel, and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. It was my daughter’s birthday during our stay, and they even helped me arrange for flowers and macaroons to be waiting in our room upon arrival which was very special. I would VERY DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and we plan to stay here on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear sharman a,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found your "new favourite place to stay" and all your wonderful comments about our rooms, amenities, location and staff were highly appreciated.

We were pleased to organise the surprise for your daughter and were glad to read that she enjoyed it. If you are coming on a special occasion and wish to have flowers, champagne or even chocolate in your room upon arrival, we invite you to contact us prior to your arrival for the organisation.

Our Classic and some of our Deluxe Rooms indeed benefit from a view on a private garden. Our Superior Rooms have a view whether on the Boulevard Saint Michel or a corner view on a square. Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival if you have a preference: we will do our best to meet your request.

Thank you for recommending our hotel: we would be pleased to welcome one of your relatives or yourself soon again!

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    213
    26
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
348
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights here and we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a nice view of the gardens behind the hotel. The RER is on the next corner and across the road is the entrance to Les Jardins de Luxembourg which are just beautiful and calm amid the hustle and bustle. Thank you Mustafa for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear June H,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our beds and our service. Our mattresses were changed recently for the best comfort of our guests: we would be happy to provide you with their references if interested.
As you mentioned, the Luxembourg Gardens are a few steps away from the hotel. If you are traveling with children, there is a children park with a lot of facilities. The park has different opening hours, depending on the season. Our Front Desk staff will be happy to provide you with them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next stay in our capital and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one week. Very clean, delicious breakfasts, friendly and helpful staff - especially Moustafa!
There is a Bus that stops right outside the hotel to take you down Blvd. St. Michele, if you like. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear KarenPKathyE,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your recent experience in our establishment.

Your comments about our buffet breakfast and our staff were highly appreciated.
As you did mention, the bus 38 stops in front of the hotel and will drive you down the Boulevard Saint Michel and up to Gare du Nord if you are taking the Eurostar or the Thalys train. If you walk a bit further and reach the main entrance of the Luxembourg Gardens, you will be able to catch the bus 27 (going to Musée du Louvre and the Opera). Our Front Desk staff will be happy to assist you to find the best and quickest route.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A good place to stay!! Near Sorbonne University, Luxemburg Park, Saint Germain... Good place to stay in vacations or for a congress 8that was my case). Near the touristic center but at the same time in a very quiet area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Berta A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you particularly enjoyed our location and that you recommend our establishment for both leisure and business. We are indeed located close to the Senate and other business institutions such as the “Ecole des Mines” or the ENS.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming next time you come to Paris then, for business or for leisure, and we advise to contact us directly for our best offers.

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is on a quiet street across from the Luxembourg Gardens. Very nice location close to metro stop. Our room was updated, stylish and convenient, with high quality bed linens and towels. The toiletries provided by the hotel smelled lovely and though I usually refrain from using hotel shampoo because it makes by hair stiff, this one left my hair as nice as my normal shampoo. I think they must have used a water softener as well. Might seem like a small point, but when on vacation and lacking your normal toiletries this was one less thing to pack and worry about. Their restaurant was quaint and well managed and the food was delicious. There are also multiple places to buy 'street food' close to the hotel. Staff were very helpful. The rooms are not huge but no hotel in Paris has huge rooms. But our room was arranged in such a way that we were able to settle 3 people in relative comfort. Nice little sitting area with couches and chairs and a computer. Prior to making the reservation I read another review in which the writer advised getting a room on the garden side of the hotel because his/her room located on the other 'street' side was noisy. I booked a room on the 4th floor on the side of the Gardens and there was no street noise at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Paulita S,

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review about your recent stay with us.

Your comments about our location and amenities were highly appreciated. You did emphasize our toiletries: we have chosen Fragonard, a French well-know perfumer, and were delighted to read that you appreciated their scent and quality.

We were also glad to read that you enjoyed our Brasserie Le Luco which serves you from 7am to 10pm from Monday to Saturday; and from 9am to 5pm on Sundays and Bank Holidays. Upon availability, you can ask to have your meal delivered directly in your room.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and we invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A nicely appointed small hotel in a great location. We had a triple room that was on the smallish side, but I expect that in Paris. The bathroom was larger than expected and the beds were the most comfortable we had on our trip. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Only complaint was that there were technical problems with the wi fi while we were there. Walking distance to many of the sights.Very close to RER to and from airport. Would stay there again as all in all a good experience.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear kktunnell,

Thank you for sparing your time and share your comments about your recent stay with us.

Your comments about our beds were highly appreciated. They were changed last year for the comfort of our guests. If you are interested in having more details, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Should you have any trouble (in your case, with the WiFi), we advise you to come and inform our Front Desk staff as soon as possible so that they can find a solution. There was indeed an update with our WiFi provider during your stay, which explains the technical problems you faced. We, once again, apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming for your next stay in Paris,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very cute. The interior decorating was very nice and the rooms were appointed nicely. We had a fifth floor room with a view of the park next door. It was very quite and we got a great nights sleep. The room and bathroom are not big and the standard room cannot fit more than 2. Be aware the elevator is about the size of a closet so expect multiple trips

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Aaron W,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed good night sleeps and the quietness of our rooms.
You mentioned the smallness of our Classic Rooms. This room category is indeed only available if you are a party of two. If you travel with a baby, you will have to book a Superior or Deluxe Room and the baby cot will be at your disposal and free of charge. If you are a party of 3 people, our Deluxe Rooms are available with an extra charge of 25€ for the rollaway bed.
Our elevator is indeed quite tiny. If you cannot fit inside with your luggage, we will be happy to assist you and send your luggage in a second trip. Do not hesitate to ask for any assistance you might need, we will do our best for you to have the most enjoyable stay possible.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you next time you come to Paris and invite you to contact us directly for our best offers,

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Business Hotel in Paris
#98 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.