We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite boutique hotel on Bld St Michel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #58 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exquisite boutique hotel on Bld St Michel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg is a delightful boutique hotel situated on the Boulevard St Michel very close to the Luxembourg Gardens. Breakfast is a delight with fresh French pastries and fruit daily and lunch/dinner easily accessible at Cafe La Luca downstairs when the weather is inclement. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the RER B Luxembourg station (literally up the stairs at Sortie 3 and across the street) and thus very easy to reach from the Charles de Gaulle or Orly airports (both on the RER B line). Alternatively a lovely stroll down the Bld St Michel leads to the centre of Paris with the Latin Quarter and Notre Dame reachable within 15 minutes. Although the hotel seems a bit pricy, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful with regards to all your needs, the service is excellent and the rooms are exquisitely decorated and not too small. I would recommend this hotel to any friend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We do thank you for your very positive review.

Thank you for mentioning our Brasserie Le Luco open daily for: breakfast, lunch and dinner with fresh and high end products.

We are pleased that you appreciated the helpfulness of our staff and our “excellent service”.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    151
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
252
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Absolutely a wonderful boutique hotel on the left bank in Paris.Wonderful rooms. great restaurant. staff very helpful. close to a metro and across from the Luxembourg gardensLot's of shops on the avenue. Bus stop right in front. Grocery store down the block.Laundry and bakeries and fruit market around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time and for the title you gave to the review.

We are glad to read that you found our rooms “wonderful” and that you appreciated our Brasserie, Le Luco.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for a future reservation.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is only 3 stops from Gare Du Nord on the RER line and (providing you choose the right exit, it's a 50/50 chance!) only seconds from the station exit.
The staff were lovely and gave us some advice on getting around and recommended some trips for us.
The room was fairly small but had everything we needed (including a bath) and is decorated in a really quirky style, it's also immaculately clean.
The location means you can easily walk down to Notre Dame or even the catacombs if you fancy a longer stroll.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning a Paris mini-break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg for your first time in Paris.

We are glad to read that we were helpful with our city knowledges. Thank you also for mentioning the rooms’ decoration and services.

We will be glad to welcome you again for you future stay in Paris. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a deluxe room @ this lovely hotel just near the beautiful Jardin de Luxembourg. All the staff of the hotel are very friendly, helpful & professional. They all speak fluent English. Our nicely decorated room was very clean with a good comforable bed and linen and furthermore we liked the kettle to have a cup of tea in the evening (a kettle is hard to find in other hotels in Paris). Because our room was facing the back of the hotel (with views over a beautiful garden) it was quiet during the nights. The breakfast in the cosy bistro was very good. Overall an excellent choice of hotel if you plan to visit Paris. We recommend an early booking because the Hotel seems to be very popular (even now in the low season).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Observatoire Luxembourg.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and all the services at the hotel. Our team was very glad to welcome you, we all speak English and are glad to practice the many languages we speak. We want our guests to feel at home.

We will be glad to welcome you again for your next stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Observatoire and have to say that the location is just super, from the airport (CDG) it only took 45 mins door to door for 9 euro single, once you get out of the train stop the hotel is just straight in front of you. We were able to walk to most tourist spots with 20/25 mins down a nice safe neighhood.
Yes the rooms are small but it is in the middle of Paris so something has to give. In fairness to the hotels we did not feel to jammed in because everything was in the right place, just not much floor space but enough room to move around ok and the bed was really comfy, 3 great nights sleep, a little noise from outside but not to bad to stop us sleeping well each night.
The bathrooms were great, lovely and clean, a real newness to them, we even had a bath which was lovely after a day's wakling around the sights.
The staff, only had dealings with them at reception, they were very freindly and helpful and their english was prefect, better than my french anyway.
We only ate in the cafe once, just because we were on the go alot, the food was good and service fice also.
No problem telling anyone to stay here, for the price i was happy and would go back again. And have a walk in the gardens across the road, at this time of year it was very full of colour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Deeney74,

Thank you for your time and for this very good review about the hotel Observatoire Luxembourg and the Brasserie Le Luco.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated our hotel. We are sorry about the eventual street noise since all our windows are double-glazing.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Observatoire Luxembourg.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We received a very warm welcome at the hotel, and Jessica and Moustafa could not have been more courteous and helpful whether it was helping with local dinner reservations, a 4:15 am airport shuttle, or any other question or request. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to the metro, and it's great to be so close to the beautiful Jardin du Luxembourg. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a bit odd, but we could overlook that given all the other positives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and for having noticed the helpfulness of Jessica and Moustafa.

It is a pleasure for us to help our guests with dinner or shuttle reservations or anything you may need.

We will be glad to welcome you again soon at the Observatoire Luxembourg. Please contact us directly for your next stay.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you’re looking for a spacious room in a hotel with character I think Paris is not the right city. However there is so much to see & experience in this lovely city you spend little time indoors.

Our room was compact with just enough room to walk around the bed. Nicely decorated, comfortable bed & a good bathroom. We didn’t dine in the hotel as there is so much choice elsewhere. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful.

Location is good, a quiet smart area just across from the Luxembourg gardens. I’d been unsure about the nearby station being an RER rather than a Metro but we found this easy with frequent trains and easy connections to the Metro network. If you don’t want to miss anything by going underground it’s walking distance to the river & lots of interesting areas on the left bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to do thank you for the time you took to write this review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, the Parisian rooms are usually small because of the architecture, we try to organize the room in order to let a maximum of space and comfort for our guests. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are glad to know that you appreciated our staff and services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of our hotel within a short distance from the main monuments of Paris. The RER is as safe and simple as the metro in Paris but it also allows joining the Charles de Gaulle airport more easily than in metro.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for a future reservation.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#67 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.