We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to the metro and a great park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #61 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location close to the metro and a great park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location close to the metro good parks in his neighborhood and Notre Dame And the Latin quarter only a 25 minute walk away, The hotel is very close to Luxembourg Gardens,one beautiful park, The second largest in central Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Paul C,

We do than you for your review.

We delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the good location of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    148
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
249
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-October. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. My room had a queen-sized bed and there wasn't a lot of extra floor space for wandering around, but it was certainly adequate and comfortable. The staff at the front desk and the next door bar were very friendly and patient with our limited use of the French language. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry if you found the room small (for your information we do have several room categories) and we do our best to maximize the space. Indeed, do not hesitate to book another room category next time.

We are very happy to know that you will come back for a new stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for this next booking.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Observatorie as group of 25 people and for such size group hotel is little bit too small but all other aspects are more than good. We were very happy with the staff, their efficiency, with meals we had there at the restaurant, they served us good wine, desserts, coffee and it is sometimes most helpful to have this option in the center of Paris, few hotels offer this. It is small hotel and rooms for some guests not knowing Paris could be surprise, but it worked just fine, location great, wi-fi worked OK, even not that noisy despite the fact that my window was looking at the main street, St. Michel boulevard. We will for sure map this hotel and will be happy if the are available for our us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your participation.

We have been glad to welcome your group at our hotel and to adapt our services for you.

All the team thank you for your kind words that are very encouraging for us in our main goal: satisfy our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

City center and convenient location, right across street to RER station.
Room is small but has some design. Bathroom elegant.
Neighborhood feels safe even at night.
Soundproofing not so good as I can hear doors opening and closing pretty often.
Breakfast is very continental.
But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Yuli_TW,

We do thank you for your review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location and design. We apologize if you have been disturbed by some noise. For your information all the rooms are soundproof.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, our team will do its best to give you a more quiet room.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for one night on business. Just needed an easy hotel on the RER B line as arrived on the Eurostar and departed CDG. This property is a two second walk from the Luxembourg RER B stop right on St. Michel across from the garden. Perfect.

I stayed in a deluxe room and it was plenty spacious, wonderful bed with down pillows, nice sized bath with tub and shower, and with lots of area in the bath for personal items. Towel warmer was a nice touch. Mini fridge stocked with complementary water, coke, juice. Coffee/tea service. Only down down side was noise from St. Michel if you like open windows. The property is located on a busy corner. Otherwise no problem as the windows are double paned and high quality so blocked all noise. Good cable TV with French, English, German and Italian stations (maybe more languages).

Check in experience was very very nice. Super attentive, personable staff. Called me by name from the moment I checked in. Arrived around noon - room was understandably not ready. I had a business meeting and was travel grungy. Staff offered a room to use for clean up, which was above and beyond excepted service. WC sufficed, but appreciated the willingness to let me use a room prior to check in.

Tons of restaurants and shopping right out the door. Nice Brasserie is part of the hotel - fish of the day for lunch was fantastic. A Marche Franprix is located half block away, with a pharmacy and Credit Lyonnaise with ATM a half block further. Easy and stunning 15 minute walk to Notre Dame and Latin Quarter. Sorbonne is two blocks away. And of course there is a fairly nice park across the street - haha.

Plan to rebooked for a longer stay as this boutique hotel is priced extremely well for the location and amenities. Makes me happy to offer a positive review with no hesitation. Nice job, Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

What a positive review! Thank you so much for your compliments.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our rooms and services.

When it is possible, we are glad to propose a room for guests who need to take a shower or change before having their room clean.

Thank you also for mentioning your ‘fantastic” lunch at Le Luco Brasserie.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you another time soon at the Observatoire Luxembourg.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg. I booked the hotel online, and it was a hotel that I immediately fell in love with. I try to find places that are akin to the city that we visit, and this hotel was what I would expect a Parisian Hotel would be. I loved its style, there's a bit of quirkiness to it. Our room was very comfortable, we had street views. We stayed here for four hectic days, location is excellent close to the RER. It's an easy walk to Saint Germain and Notre Dame my favourite areas. The staff were excellent and accommodating. We had breakfast included in our rates, it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_leSix6, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for this very positive review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our staff and services.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for a future stay at L’Observatoire Luxembourg.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this hotel after deciding which area we wanted to stay in and seeing the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and I'm very glad I did.

This is a smallish hotel and it is clean and stylish. We had a warm reception and the receptionist took pity on my vastly inadaquate French and switched to very well spoken English, to everyone's relief.

Our room was not huge, but we didn't expect it to be, this is Paris after all. It was well appointed and stylish with very comfortable beds. My only criticism on the room would be when it comes to storage, surely it wouldn't hurt to have just one drawer in the room and a hook on the back of the bathroom door?

The shower had excellent water pressure and temperature and although the road outside was noisy, the windows were good at blocking out the noise.

Through our two night stay everyone at the hotel was charming and helpful. They provided good advice on transport and dinner and even loaned us an adaptor which was very helpful.

Two things to mention; my boss sent us a bottle of champage as a thankyou for some extensive overtime recently, this was waiting for us in the room when we arrived which was lovely. However once finished, the bottle and full ice bucket (by now full of water) was also waiting for us each time we returned to the hotel, in fact I believe we left the room at the end of the stay before it did. In a room with limited space it would have been good to have it removed. I'm sure a quick call would have had it removed as they were always helpful, but we forgot to ask!

Secondly; despite having a menu in our room there was some definite confusion about room service (one of us was struck down with a bug on the second night, forcing us to cancel our dinner reservation and stay in, nothing to do with the hotel). We were first told there was no room service, then received a call back to say there was room service but when we tried to order they didn't seem to be able to tell us what was available.

These are minor niggles, usually we wouldn't want to eat in the room and we could easily have had the champagne bucket removed if we had reminded the staff. They didn't really interfere with our enjoyment of out stay.

The location is good, the nearby park at the Palace of Luxembourg is charming and the bus stops right outside the hotel. The transport links would have been even better if it was not for the RER strike, but that was not the fault of the hotel! At least the streets felt reltively safe when walking back at night. It is a straightforward walk to Saint Germaine and the river and Notre Damn area, and the 38 bus goes straight from the Gare du Nord.

All round, I would give this hotel a solid recommendation and will be staying there again without hesitation if I find myself back in Paris.

Wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_leSix6, Responsable commercial at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Melissa P.,

We do thank you for your message and for your kind interest in Observatoire Luxembourg hotel.

We delighted that you enjoyed the room and the staff.

Our Brasserie Le Luco is opened all the day so you can ask for room service whenever you need from 7 am to 11 pm. We also propose you a Brunch every Sunday.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107, Boulevard Saint-Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#56 Business Hotel in Paris
#68 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.