We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Quaint, Quiet and in the heart of everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Continent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Continent to your Saves list
Hotel du Continent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small, Quaint, Quiet and in the heart of everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My sister and i stayed here during our recent visit to Paris. Rooms are very small, but super clean. This Hotel is centrally located, close to Louvre, Jardin Des Tulieries, Champs Elysees! We highly recommend a hop on hop off tour bus! We bought L'Open Tour. The Restaurants surrounding the hotel are expensive (Ferdi's requires a reservation). The Front Desk staff are super friendly, speak great english and are very helpful!
The lift is small, just enough room for two people with large suitecases
We stayed in room # 36, had the window open all night. There was street noise but things quiet down after the local resturants closed

Very Much recommend this quaint, place!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 36.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    61
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
111
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just come home from a trip to Paris where we stayed at Hotel du Continent. The first person we met at the hotel was Melanie, and she welkommed us in a great way, and she was very good in english, better than us. The breakfast were exelent, if continental breakfast is what you wont, and the laidyes that served as very polite. And the hotel is just a short walk from Louvre, Seine, The Concord placa etc.etc. So thank you Paris, thank you Melanie.And the weather were wonderfui, 23-24 degrees.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is close to shopping and the Louvre. Perfect choice for my first trip to Paris. It was clean and beautifully appointed designer by Christian Lacroix. Room size: XS means XS. We enjoyed the delicious petit déjeuner. The staff was kind and helpful. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor and would recommend it. We chose the suite since there was 3 of us. It's a small boutique hotel with personalized service, very clean, nice breakfast, and has an excellent location. You are close to the subway, 10 min to the Louvre and Musee d'orsay. There are some nice restaurants close by as well. We chose the breakfast and found that it lasted us a good part of the day. Really nice staff looking after you here as well.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a in great location- a quiet street yet so convenient. The interior is super chic, yet the staff is so helpful and friendly- a very rare combo in Paris. I had a suite and is was a fabulously decorated. The only flaw is a small bathroom- and i just got over it quickly ...i would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear mspickiep,
Thanks so much for your stunning review on Tripadvisor about our boutique-hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us.
Yes our hotel got a stylish but intimate and discrete atmosphere in a perfect situation in Paris. Thank you for our staff appreciation.
We focus to fill a « private home atmosphere » in order you feel the best ever.
See you soon in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was so glad I chose this hotel for our 2 night stay in Paris. The location was perfect, we pretty much walked everywhere - Musee d'Orsay (a nice stroll through the Jardin des Tuileres), Le Louvre, Notre Dame. It is less than 5 mins walk to the Place de la Concorde and its Metro (which takes you up to Sacre Couer). It is also a block away from the Rue Sainte Honore with all of its fabulous designer shops (think Bond Street or Sloane Street in London). We also went to Versailles and the train takes you straight there from the Metro at Musee d'Orsay.

The room was lovely, we were in Antartica on the 2nd floor, perfect size to relax after a long days walking. The bed is right next to the bathroom, which has a sliding door, so if you are shy and don't know your companion 'that' well yet, bear that in mind!! They could do with a hook to hold the shower at head height while you are in there (it is at tap level which isn't ideal) but that is a minor issue for a short break. There were bath robes and slippers, a safe and a mini fridge with soft drinks and water.

Downstairs there is a bar where you help yourself to coffee (Nespresso) or alcohol and just write what you had on the form and give to reception. We only had breakfast once and just had coffee, juice and croissants which was perfect for us. Not sure what else they offer but that is all we wanted.

The staff were really nice and friendly and all in all I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this place. If, like us you want something different from the usual chains where the rooms all look the same no matter which country you are in, and something smaller, more boutiquey and personal then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JenLouEm,
Thank you for having chosen our small boutique-hotel in Paris ! And thanks so much for your stunning review on Tripadvisor.
It was great to meet you during your stay in Paris ! Yes our hotel got a peculiar romantic atmosphere as we focus on each client confort and well-being in a stylish relax but intimate and discrete mood.
So, anything to deal with chains hotel ! Our team is there for you 24h/24 and Paris is on your feet -Concorde, rue Saint-Honoré, Place Vendôme, Embankments of Seine...
See you very soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the end of Feb at the height of Fashion Week. The location is excellent for high end shoppers because it's very near Rue St Honore, Cambon, place Vendome, etc. If you love to shop this place is a great base. It was so near the shops that stores can actually deliver your things to the hotel. Hands free shopping is always appreciated. The hotel is small. Very limited but friendly staff so you have to do things by yourself like bring your own luggage to the room.

The decoration is by Christian Lacroix so it's very colorful and vibrant. Rooms are small but clean and had Missoni amenities. Layout and design very well thought of so you don't really feel cramped. It always smells good in the room. Always.

Didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on that but the area has so many cafes and restaurants so getting something to eat is not a problem. The street has many interesting and beautiful stores so staying there was really fantastic.

Expensive for a 3-star but worth it. I highly recommend it for the great location and nice staff. They were all very helpful.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear windiemd,
Welcome to fashionistas paradise !
Thank you for your review.
We were delighted to receive you in our boutique-hotel in the heart of Paris.
Yes the proximity of the iconic streets dedicated to fashion and luxyry are very attractive... Saint-Honoré Street, Palais Royal, Rivoli street, place Vendôme, Champs Elysées, Montaigne street...
The best of Paris fashion name dropping...
We hope you shall return and see us again !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Address: 30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Paris
#46 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#89 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Continent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Continent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.