We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, charm, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Continent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Continent to your Saves list
Hotel du Continent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #78 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Location, charm, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel in the best location with friendly helpful staff, good price for Paris. Close to Place de la Concorde, Place Vendome, the Louvre, Tuileries, Jeu de Paume, Orangerie and the No. 1 metro line. Decor a bit funky, but that's part of the charm. We'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us.
We are sorry to understand that no one warned you about the design signed Christian Lacroix, the famous french designer.
yes, the unique atmosphere of your boutique hotel in Paris is inspired by old travels style revisited by the genius of the artist and the luxury surroundings symbols of Paris.
We hope you liked this special design though.
We hope to see you again in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
63
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Hotel is located few steps away from Rue Castiglione and Place Vendome, within walking distance to every place downtown Paris, from the fashion district to The Louvre, Place de La Concorde etc. Just 30 rooms, in five floors, each representing one Continent.
Nicely decorated with Christian Lacroix wallpaper reproducing old Maps. In a very quiet street, it grants silent rest in confortable beds for affordable prices.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello lapatriarca ,
We were delighted to receive you in our boutique-hotel in the heart of Paris.
Yes we got only 30 rooms. To preserve the quality of our welcome and services it is absolutely necessary : we do still focus on "private home" atmosphere !
Furthermore, you are in the true historic and lively heart of Paris but in a peaceful location.
We hope you shall return and see us again !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is ideally situated for sightseeing, I crammed alot of touring into a 24 hour layover. The staff are super friendly and helpful in explaining the hotel, offering services, they upgraded my room as they had the space and they allowed me to check in early when i went by to drop my bag before sightseeing, all unexpected nice touches and I was only staying one night on a layover and they treated me the same as if I was there for a week.

The hotel is fully renovated and very charming. The room was cleverly designed as the bathroom is in the lower floor to your room which allowed them to make a very generous bathroom and soaker shower for paris where space is soo expensive. My only suggestion is maybe put Led lights under the stair treads or baseboards it would be a cool effect.

Thanks Hotel du Continent !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear happyfamily17
Thank you for your stunning review.
We are very happy you took advantage of the exceptional situation of our romantic boutique-hotel !
Yes the exceptional design was thought by Christian lacroix, the famous french designer !
And the whole historic and luxury city is at your feet without effort !
Thank you for our staff appreciation. Our goal is that you can feel exactly like a "private home".
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Paris about a month ago. The hotel was perfect! The concieges were pleasant and helpful. The service providers were also friendly. I was surprised by the size of my room but I'm glad I read reviews about European hotels. the lobby was the best feature-I loved the wallpaper. Regardless, I was very comfortable. The location was perfect to anywhere in the city to travel to. I want to thank one of the concierges (Melanie)for helping me with my French-she was patient and accommodating. It really helped. I will highly recommend this hotel. I know I will stay at this hotel whenever I make it to Paris.

Room Tip: The Antartica room is very small but comfortable. Unfortunately, you can hear doors shutting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lynn H,
Thank you for your review.
We were delighted to receive you in our boutique-hotel in the heart of Paris.
We are glad you took advantage of the stylish design signed Christian Lacroix. No doubt that the special and romantic atmosphere of hotel du Continent is a true asset.
Thank you for our staff's appreciation.
We like to be assured you feel warm, helped when you stay amongst us.
We hope you shall return and see us again !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled solo to Paris in October and stayed at the Hotel du Continent. This hotel is close to all major attractions, it is newly renovated (everything is new!), it offers free wi-fi, it is located in a great area and it is safe to walk at night from a nice dinner. The hotel's best asset is their staff, they were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Paris, whether it is business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Carmen R
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
It was nice to meet you during your stay in Paris.
It's great if you enjoyed our unique design and peculiar atmosphere especially thought by the famous french designer Christian Lacroix.
Yes the wifi is free and secured in the whole hotel and we offer a large ranks of services for business women and men.
Thank you for our staff' appreciation.
See you soon in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent three days at the Hotel du Continent in October. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. The location was great. We enjoy walking so we walked everywhere, no public transportation although some of the sights were a hike. The staff was exceptional, the breakfast was more than adequate and the room was very comfortable. Very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear jeannie466,
Thank you for your nice review about our boutique-hotel.
We were glad to meet you during your stay amongst us..
We are delighted you took advantage of our services.
Yes the situation is perfect to explore by foot the whole historic and monumental Paris.
You could discover the fashion and chic side Paris -Madeleine and place Vendôme, Rue de Rivoli, rue royale…- , as well as the great monuments like Eiffel Tower, Le Louvre, Notre Dame etc.
We hope you shall return and see us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just returned from a 6 day trip to Paris staying at Hotel du Continent. At first impression I thought the hotel was comfortable and chic. When I looked up the word chic, it said "casual and understated style" This hotel is casual yet not understated. It has over the top style, well designed by Christian LaCroix. Wall coverings, furniture and light fixtures are all unique and fashion forward. They all blend in harmony in a very colorful palette. My room was small, typical for European rooms, yet everything was very well thought out with great attention to detail. It is all very new, clean and comfortable. Great bathroom, shower was powerful. Toiletries by Missoni. Fantastic!
The front desk was very nice, spoke English, and saw that all of my needs were met. They did this with a smile. The breakfast, at ten Euros was a good price for an elegant start to the day. The lady serving in the breakfast room is very sweet. Wonderful coffee, croissant, yogurt, and juice.
I felt very much "at home" at Hotel du Continent, and will return.

Room Tip: My room faced the inner courtyard. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello mmramz,
Thank you so much for you great review about our boutique-hotel !
We are very happy you fully enjoyed your stay amongst us.
And yes, the "like home" feeling is one of our goal. Each guest must experiment the most comfortable and cool atmosphere, even at the other side of the world, like you.
It's so great that the incredible artistic work of Christian lacroix pleased you !
We are very proud of the result in our boutique hotel in the heart of Paris !
See you very soon in France !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Address: 30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Paris
#98 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#151 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Continent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AvailPro, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Continent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.