We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Continent

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Continent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Continent
30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #93 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
manhattan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great quiet convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely spot. Quiet understated, close to sights in the 1st. Room was clean, small fridge is great. Pretty good value for the area.it doesn't have a restaurant inside, but it's next door to the westin.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
46
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed two nights in this hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. The room was clean, the shower very comfortable and there was enough space for two people. The location is convenient with multiple very good restaurants and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very happy with our accommodation for our 1 night stay at Hotel du Continent. We were given an upgrade (celebrating a special anniversary) for which we were most grateful, so our room was super comfortable. Loved the quirky decorating - so different to everywhere else we've stayed. This hotel has all the things you're looking for - very clean, comfortable bed, good bathroom, fabulous location and really helpful staff. There are plenty of restaurants close by so you don't have to go too far for an excellent dinner (we ate at Ferdi which was really good).

We would like to acknowledge the wonderful reservation staff who tried so hard to help us when there were no taxis or cars available to take us to the airport. To say we were stressed is an understatement but despite being busy, they tried everything to resolve what was a disastrous situation for us.

Only negative was the breakfast. We thought it was pretty basic and uninspiring for the price.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Paris and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking to be centrally located in Paris, this is the place for you! Close to Rue Cambon minutes from Concorde subway station and one street off the Louvre. It is a cute boutique hotel with amazing staff: friendly and helpful! Breakfast at 10 euros is a steal.
Only negative was the noisy AC in our XL suite- The rest was near perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was in a nice area good for sightseeing, close to the champs and Louvre. I was in a single bed room with ensuite bathroom. The staff was very nice and helpful and the room was very clean and had a robe for the shower. Only 2 negatives: 1. Not in a good location for nightlife if you're young and into that kind of thing. 2. The bathroom was in the same room but down some very steep stairs... which can be dangerous if you're drunk ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very reasonably priced considering its prime location in the first arrondissment, withing walking distance of the Louvre, l'Opera, Place du Concord, Tuileries, Musee d'Orsay and the Champs-Elysees. The rooms are newly refurbished, and though garishly decorated, are clean. However, the least expensive double is 242 Euro/night, for the smallest room this side of a broom closet. There was literally only 3 feet of space on either side of the bed and my husband and I had to take turns navigating around the minuscule room. Also, there is absolutely no shelf or storage space in the bathroom (which has a shower only, no tub), requiring bathroom necessities such as brushes, makeup, contact lens supplies, sundries to be crowded onto one very tiny desk crammed into the room. The bathroom sink was totally inefficient, with no means of controlling water retention in the sink. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable, and our room was quiet. Air conditioning was excellent. Though I felt crowded and closed in, there's not a better hotel location for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This little boutique hotel is absolutely perfect for those looking to explore Paris. Located within a few minutes' walk from the Louvre and practically across the street from the Tuileries Garden (1st Arr.), we found it to be a gem. Yes, the rooms are tiny, but well appointed and not lacking modern conveniences. The shower was excellent, bed very comfortable and the WiFi connection worked just fine, albeit a little slow at times. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful--our special thanks to Andrea and Nicola! The only thing which was surprising is the lack of an iron in the room. Instead, we found a menu with prices should we want anything ironed. A note to management: it would be a very good idea to include an iron in rooms as a convenience for your guests--a simple amenity that goes a long way to please your guests. Other than that, highly recommend staying at Hotel du Continental.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Address: 30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#148 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, AvailPro, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Continent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.