We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it lacks in room size it makes up in location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Continent

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Continent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel du Continent
30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #82 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What it lacks in room size it makes up in location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Daughter and I stayed for 3 nights for whirlwind visit to Paris in April....great location to access all major tourist attractions either by foot or by metro. Our bedroom on the first floor up was really (really) small and bathroom was down below accessible by really steep and narrow staircase but if you don't have mobility issues and you do not plan to do more than sleep in the room, then this could be for you. Room was very clean, queen size bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom (especially the shower) was wonderful to wash one's weary body after sightseeing. Note that we opened the window for sleeping and could hear kitchen cleanup duties being performed until about midnight but the room did have AC so it might not be problematic if you kept window closed. Certainly worth considering.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in many different hotels in Paris, but this one is my favourite so far in this price range. Nice decor, excellent location and friendly staff. My singel-bedroom was small, but clean, and really quiet; I slept with the window wide open, and it was quiet during the night. I would have preferred a room without carpets on the floor, but this is Paris... the bathroom was nice and clean. Le Louvre, Les Champs Elysees and Lafayette are all within a short walking distance. Good value for money! I'll be back!

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, with window towards the back of the hotel. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Hotel du Continent for 5 nights in April, it was a wonderful stay during a perfect weather week.
The hotel itself is almost perfectly situated right near Place Vendome, the Rue St Honore, the Tuileries and Place de la Concorde. The decor is lively and imaginative, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, any issue we had was solved quickly and always with a smile. For instance, when Paris had a bad heat wave and one night was particularly muggy, we asked the reception if they had an issue with the a/c, the answer was that they shut it off for the season and they were caught unaware by the heat wave, they promised to bring a technician to turn it on ahead of schedule and they did that day. All the staff without exception were friendly and accommodating.
If we had one criticism, it is that the room itself is small, but for the price, one could not ask for any more, plus that gave us an incentive to venture outside and enjoy the city. On the plus side the amenities were top notch: wifi was almost always excellent, the shower was one of the best I ever experienced in a hotel anywhere in the world, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the cleanliness was without reproach.

The hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are supposedly bigger, the room we had was quite small, if you can, splurge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel! I had room 48 which is a single for 5 nights and it was perfect. I was worried after everyone said the rooms are small, but it was perfect! Hotel is newly remodeled, free wifi, and close to all the sights! Concorde is your nearest metro stop and a 5 minute walk around the block, but I mainly walked and only used the metro for cooking classes. I have stayed at other hotels and would highly recommend this one. As a single female traveling I want to be safe and felt very safe at this hotel and in this neighborhood.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the hotel and had no complaints. This hotel is located one block from the entrance to the Tuileries and the Louvre. It is located in a high-end fashion district but there were plenty of restaurants from which to choose. The hotel is only a few months old and everything is new and in great condition. The bed was comfortable and the room was small but adequate. The bathroom was beautifully done and hot water was plentiful. The wi-fi access was reliable while we were there. The front desk staff was helpful and spoke English which helped us immensely. I would highly recommend the hotel for travelers of any kind, although our room was much too small for more than 2 people. Overall, I loved the hotel and would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig ci
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite its tiny size ,this boutique hotel is meant to impress with its strong yet elegant character. The room and fittings were functional, a proper desk lamp, night lamps, closet, countered sink with towel shelf, shower. The internet was consistently good except for the second night, which was repaired the morning after. Location is perfect for shopping at Rue Cambon, Rue Saint Honore. 2 blocks away from a taxi stand. A bit far from public transportations , but then Paris public transportation is a bit difficult to understand so we took the cab most of the time.
Downside, the airconditioner was a bit warm. At 5:00 am, I could hear the garbage truck passing by since we were at the 1st floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lynette,

Many thanks for having shared your impression about the new decoration of our “Boutique Hotel”.
Indeed, the hotel location in the stylish 1st district of Paris is highly appreciated, especially for fashion addicted. Regarding the public transportation, we are just 2 min walk on metro line 1, 8 and 12 - Concorde.
Next time we will prepare for you a room on a higher floor and, why not, let you discover a new continent. Meanwhile we hope to have news from you.
Warm greetings from the whole team “Du Continent”.

Regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I decided to spoil ourselves with a sojourn in Paris and we chose this wonderful hotel styled by Christian Lacroix. This wasn't the reason we chose it, but it nonetheless lived up to our expectations. :) Its location is perfect, very close to Louvre and Champs Elysees, it made it a lot easier for us to go about the city.
We were treated in a royal manner. I felt like a princess all along. The staff was extremely obliging and positive, and they were always at our service to make sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend not skipping breakfast, you get good quality and tasty food, definitely worth the 10 EUR. Our room was a double one situated on the Asian floor, this meaning that it was beautifully decorated with delicate Asian elements, and we even got a virtual tour of Asia on this account. We enjoyed a splendid view over the Parisian streets and what surprised me was that we had no problems with the noise (I'm a light sleeper).
The hotel also has a very stylish lobby and an HONESTY BAR with different French wines to try; Lanson Champaigne for connoisseurs ;)

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our choice and will definitely go back!
Excellent service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your lovely review about our hotel. We are very glad that you and your boyfriend felt like a royal couple amongst us and our services were up to your expectations. Nice to see that you also appreciated our fine champagne and the “Honesty Bar” concept.
Awaiting to welcoming you here for another stay in Paris.

Warm regards,
Andreea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris
Address: 30, rue du Mont-Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Continent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.