We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Niel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Niel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Niel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, rue Saussier Leroy, 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #587 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We spent two nights here with small children and just didn't feel like we got good value. The room we had was a family room on the first floor. With a large window/door we didn't really feel safe at all due to it backing up to an alley. That combined with minimal cleanliness lead to poor value for the money

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
68
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel was clean, only a couple of blocks from the Metro, and situation in a non-touristy area with authentic restaurants, markets, and the like. The room was nice, since we had two kids, they gave us two rooms which you can close off into a suite by closing an exterior door. The desk staff was helpful and pleasant. Can comment on the value as it was height of travel season so rates were set accordingly. If you stay, there is a small restaurant down the block, the Green Table or something like that which has an excellent lunch. Only complaint we had was the shower leaked badly and made the floor outside the bathoom wet. We just showered in the kids' room.

Room Tip: Good location to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We'll be back!
Great value for money. Good sized and clean rooms with newly renovated bathrooms. Hotel is located in a very friendly area with fresh produce markets on the weekends. A 5 minute walk to Arc de Triomphe and 3 metro stations.
Bed was very comfortable - better than some 5 star hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have just spent a lovely long weekend in Paris and we stayed at Niel Hotel. We chose the Hotel by reading the advice left from other 'Trip Advisors' and we were not disappointed.

The Hotel is small, but very clean and was just perfect for what we needed.
Our room was small and the bathroom again was small - but we hardly spent any time at all, in the Hotel, just really to sleep, so it was perfect for us.

We had a double bed, which was very comfortable, a double wardrobe, two bedside tables, lamps, satellite TV, free use of the safe, and a shower (rather than a bath, which our friends had) in the bathroom.

There are no tea/coffee making facilties in the rooms, we did not have breakfast, neither did we look for the bar area, but they do have a vending machine, by the lift, which gives you water, tea, coffee, white/red wine and fizzy drinks. If I remember rightly, they were all either 1 euro or 1.50 euros.

The rooms were 'serviced' daily and they also provided us with fresh towels.

Our room was facing the street (rue Saussier Leroy) and the view was of the buildings facing, but we had two big windows which gave us plenty of natural light.

The Hotel is within 5 minutes walk from Ternes Metro Station and maybe 10 minutes from the Arc De Triumphe, where you can catch the Tour Buses (highly recommended, your tickets lasts for two days and it has stops at 9 different popular sites).

There is a market at the end of rue Saussier Leroy, which offers fresh vegetables, fruit, cheese and meat. There are also lots of shops offering clothes, shoes, breads/pastries/cakes, cheese, wine all within 2/3 minutes walk.

There are loads of bars/bistros and restaurants around the direct area, dependant upon what you are willing to pay - its always worth a look at the menu before ordering!

Pretty much common sense, but the closer you are to one of the popular attractions - the more you may pay. We found that next to Notre Dame you could pay 20 euros for a 'large beer', yet we found a lovely Bistro on one of the side roads of Avenue de Champs Elysees and that same beer was 12 euros.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I guess this is just another small , average hotel in Paris.
It is rather close to Arc de Triomphe Etoile (cca. 10 min. walk) where both metro station and AF airport bus station are located.
Our room was small, but pleasant. On the other hand, the bathroom was rather plain and cold, with just a small heater with some sort of timer switch.
Breakfast consists of juice, coffee or tea, croissants, butter , jam, honey and boiled egg with addition of fruit and joghurt.
Next time we go to Paris, we will look for another place to stay, as we believe there are better 3 star hotels than this one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We loved our time at the Hotel Niel. The room was small but so quaint and all we needed. Very quiet yet close to markets, metro, and shopping and retaurants. Nice bathroom and friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Quite expensive regarding to the service.
But clean and acceptable location (close to underground station)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Niel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niel Hotel

Address: 11, rue Saussier Leroy, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#398 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Niel Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Niel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niel Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.