We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best soufflé ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuisine de Philippe

La Cuisine de Philippe
25 Rue Servandoni | Metro St Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
143297637
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It opened in January this year at the location of the former Kiwi Corner restaurant. It has been rated on thefork.com website at 8.2/10. We've eaten there and found the restaurant to feature classic French cooking, extremely well prepared in a small congenial restaurant across from the Luxembourg Gardens. We sampled the dishes and found all of them very good to excellent. Nice choice of reasonably priced wines too. I particularly liked the Grand Marnier Souffle. The best part is the very reasonable prices which are shown on the thefork.com website.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best soufflé ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our wonderful first evening in Paris was spent at La Cuisine de Philippe.
Philippe and his wife were so charming and the mushroom soufflé was by far the best soufflé I've ever had. We felt as though we were invited to a dinner party in a Parisian home and enjoyed the stroll back to our apartment in the 6th arris after dinner. Wonderful memory!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    86
    19
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Soufflé, something amazing then - woo hoo - Soufflé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you're only reading my review - sorry, I've cheated and only included things I think the others haven't mentioned (see other kind reviews for some excellent reasons to visit this restaurant).

So - you like soufflé? Yes; then book. If you don't, can I suggest you book and challenge your current thinking around delicious eggy sweet and savoury cuisine.

So what am I adding to try and help you:

1) Book - it's tiny and excellent, you will not get a table by walking in (and they do - perhaps the only possible negative of this restaurant was the procession of people hoping to get a table by walking in - no chance at all .....)

2) Pre-Order a taxi home - not a busy route and you will struggle to pick up a cab from outside unless you've booked. I'm sure the restaurant will help here.

3) Try something different - It would have been too easy to go for the obvious Soufflés; chocolate, cheese. pistachio etc. (all excellent so my girlfriend tells me) - but a chance to go for honey, fruit etc. you won't see this elsewhere.

4) Stop searching for the website - brush up on your French (or English as we did) and phone. I don't think you'll find another way to reach them.

An absolute pleasure of an evening - to share in the passion this wife and husband team have for serving excellent food (and you will get chance to talk to both and express your heartfelt delight at having chosen to eat there.

Looking forwards to returning - I will be booking in advance .......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch. This place has been discovered, so get there before the line is out the door.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A stone's throw from the Luxembourg Gardens, this is exactly what you want from a Parisian bistro --- simple, honest food, served in a friendly environment. Locals go here, which I think is really important. The waitress (yes, only one is needed in a place of this size) was funny and fast. The cook (and owner) Philippe greeted us at the door.

The prices are reasonable and lunch is served with a decent glass of house wine.

The souffles are truly excellent. The fish that my wife ordered was excellent. My Boeuf Bourgignon was authentic.

The decor is original and tasteful. The lighting is perfect.

Note : cheek-by-jowl seating (but that's part of the fun)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Memorable souffles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our Hotel recommended this restaurant and it was amazing. Quaint, good service, intimate, and the food was incredible. We actually had dinner there 2 out of 4 nights in Paris it was so good. The soufflés were memorable! The Chef came out on the second night to say hello. It was only steps from our hotel and not related to the hotel but because of the proximity was the perfect restaurant for our hotel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience all the way around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This little gem was right up the street from our apartment. Make a reservation as the place is very small. Souffle's were wonderful!! Phillippe came out to make sure we were comfortable and that we enjoyed his wonderful meal. A definite must for your visit to Paris.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine de Philippe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Cuisine de Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuisine de Philippe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.