We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect Parisian Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du Levant to your Saves list
Hotel du Levant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #224 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just Perfect Parisian Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is our first time to be in Paris although it is not the first time we travel. And in fairness to Hotel du Levant, it is a total pleasure to experience the warm hospitality it rendered to us. It is just like Paris, it got charm, warmth, beauty and history.
When travelling, we usually choose homely hotels that will suite our needs. And after doing some researches, reading and reviewing all details I would say Hotel du Levant exceeded our expectation. Even though it is in the lively district of the Latin Quarter it is a total haven after a long day stroll.
Best of all is the service; the staffs were very accommodating, friendly and courteous. The breakfast was absolute satisfaction; boiling your own egg is quite exciting. . Our room was kept absolutely clean and although I would admit it is a bit small but it is comfy and very functional to our needs. Wi-fi is just great and free. Maybe it is the reason why they have survived many generations - they were able to maintain the old Parisian style in our modern time. And what is more advantageous with this hotel is the location; food, transportation, shops and grocery all just steps away. Much more I love is simply strolling around the area for wherever you are heading; north, south, and east, west are the sites that might interest you. All of these you can get in a very reasonable price.
So, I am highly recommending Hotel du Levant for those who want to really feel Paris! To Hotel du Levant, thank you for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your comment that described very well the Hotel du Levant.

Indeed, we are proud to offer to our clients a place where they can feel like at home. The Hotel du Levant is mixing history, nostalgia and modernity. The location of the Hotel du Levant is unbeatable as it is close to everything, in the heart of the Latin Quarter.

The Hotel du Levant is managed by the fourth generation of the same family so you can feel there is a lot of character inside. The decoration is very elaborated.

We are very glad the Hotel du Levant overcame your expectations and we hope to welcome you another time.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    221
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
129
122
111
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend of a friend. Admittedly, I did not see on their website that they do not have non smoking rooms. When I walked into the room, it was like falling head first into an ash tray. I requested another room but as they were full they did not have another room to give me. I requested a refund and they refused. I ended up walking out, losing the cost of the room and spent the night at a friend's house instead. I am grateful I had a friend in Paris who could accommodate me on short notice. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you enjoy the overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

I am sorry about the bad experience you had at our hotel.

Regarding the problem of smell of cigarette smoke you encountered, what I can tell you is that there is no mention about non-smoking rooms at all on our website. The policy of the hotel allows people to smoke in the room if they would like. There is no smoking or non-smoking rooms at the Hotel du Levant. During your booking, we were clear about the fact that there are no smoking or non-smoking room at the Hotel so you were aware about it.

During the cleaning of the room, housekeeper uses spray to make the smell of cigarette smoke disappeared if needed and ventilate the room. We are sorry even though our precautions you smell it. The Hotel du Levant is usually rewarded for the cleanliness of its rooms. Maybe you are over-sensitive.

During your stay, the Hotel was fully booked, consequently it was impossible for us to offer you another room otherwise we would have done it for sure.

Indeed, it is true you asked a refund. We refused because you have used the room for an hour before coming to the reception to tell the problem. If the problem of odor was at that point difficult to handle it would have been better not using the room and tell directly the reception. You can understand that by using the room, we have offered you a service and that it is natural to pay for it. Despite our 48 hours cancellation policy, we would have given you a refund if you would not have used the room.

We hope you understand our point of view and really fell that your comment (which is your first comment on Tripadvisor) is a little abusive as you were aware about our smoking policy and by the fact you used the room. It is really a bad mark we do not deserve. All our previous good comments can be a testimony of the quality of the Hotel du Levant.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This charming family owned historic hotel was ideal for our short break to Paris. The welcome was warm, the service efficient and friendly and the standards high.
Our room for three was delightfully furnished and very comfortable. Although in a busy street it was not noisy at all and it is fantastic to be in the lively latin quarter.
If you are looking for a pleasant stay in Paris look no further. The Hotel du Levant will always be our first choice when in Paris from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your very nice comment .

We will be very happy to see you again in our hotel .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was a single woman spending 2 nights in Paris. This accommodation was perfect for me. The hotel is excellent in its location. On the edge of the Latin Quarter where there are plentiful restaurants and right next to St Germain where the shopping is incredible. The River Seine, Notre Dame cathedral, Isle de Cite and the metro are very close, as are many of the sights of Paris. The hotel has a wonderful and caring staff. Breakfast was lovely. My room, although a bit small (but this is Paris), was immaculate, charming and extremely comfortable. It also was very quiet. I also loved that the sitting room or lobby downstairs was very cozy. I will definitely return and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not over look the street. At night, especially during the summer, it may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay , and particularly our area.

Some of our rooms are small rooms but they are clean and functional.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as soon as possible .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a great place for the price (for a single traveler desiring a single room). The room I had was small, but very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The en suite bath was more than sufficient and the wet-bar/fridge in the room also accommodated my purchases (not just the overpriced snacks and drinks the hotel supplied). The staff was quite good and I had ample free wifi. The breakfast included in the room price (80 Euros) was better than I've had in any other hotels in this price range. Altogether a very pleasant stay and very highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We appreciate you enjoyed your breakfast as some people think our breakfast buffet has a poor variety of items .

Anyway, we will be happy to see you agin some other time as soon as you can .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel du Levant is a gem. There are several reasons for this.
The hotel is a B and B, which serves a satisfying and delicious breakfast. The staff are gracious and helpful and the hotel is spotless.
It is reasonably priced and value for money. We were there for 6 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
We had a room on the 5 th floor overlooking the charming street. Fortunately the hotel has an elevator ! The street is lively in the evening which might not suit all. We found it delightfully viby and left our window open so that we could hear the laughter outside.
The situation of the hotel is ideal as it is in the heart of the Latin Quarter. It is a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame Cathedral and an even shorter walk to the metro St.Michel and bus stops.
It was my friend's second visit to Hotel du Levant and , given the opportunity, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If one is sensitive to noise ( it is happy, buzzing noise - no hooting or cars ) then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for all your praises about our hotel and the staff.

We hardly ever hear nice comments about the bustling atmosphere of the city as well .

Most people tend to prefer peace and quiet even in the centre of Paris.

Your review headline says ' I hope to return' , and we do hope you will , we will be very happy about it .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel with easy access to everything. One block walk to the Metro, shopping, and dining. The room was quite comfortable and the size very nice. Hairdryer, toiletries, and clean towels! I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your very nice comment.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and particularly our area.

We do hope to see you again in our hotel as soon as possible .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Paris
#197 Family Hotel in Paris
#303 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Levant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.