We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Jewish Art and History (Musee d'Art et Histoire du Judaisme)
71 rue du Temple, 75004 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)
33 0 1 53 01 86 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent artifacts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a docent at the Museum of Jewish Heritage in NYC and was in awe of the collection that is in this museum. It is not only from France, but from all over Europe from hundreds of years ago. The Judaica collection is like no other I have ever seen. The prayer books and items associated with the synagogue were fascinating. My favorite was the Sukkah that was from Austria, I believe, with the scenes of the mountains painted inside. It was heartwarming to see so many people visiting the museum, so many different ethnicities and religions! There is alot to see and do in Paris, but if you are interested in Judaism and seeing some beautiful things from the Jewish past of Europe, don't miss this! Lovely gift shop, with reasonably priced items. I always purchase something when I visit a museum, and bought a beautiful hamsa bracelet!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Sombre reflective atmosphere well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Passed the gates many times and often planned to go here and at last we did so today. Entry is rather security conscious but takes just a minute or so. The building is a fine showcase for the exhibits which give a full picture of Jewish history of oppression. The exhibits run from models and photographs of synagogue's through the ages to fine Chagall paintings and old costumes worn throughoutvthe ages. The exhibition for a non Jew is interesting and revealing. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit and woukd recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Journey through Jewish history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A small museum crammed full of French -Jewish history. In addition to historical information, there are beautiful pieces of judaica, original works of art including paintings by Chagall, small models of synagogues and a photo exhibition of modern day Jews living in France and talking about their jewish identities. The museum is on a number of floors, the top level is devoted to the Jews who immigrated from Arab countries and blended their sephardic customs and lifestyles with those of the already existing ashkenazic community [which was largely decimated by the holocaust and revived by this influx of observant Jewery]. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Another side of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lots of learning here, lots of history, and what history! What is neat too is the museum's location, i.e. in the Marais, which is the old Jewish ghetto so the spot is doubly meaningful. Visiting the museum you will see replicas of old synagogues and then walking aorund the neighborhood you will also see some interesting synagogues or just study rooms, hassidims wlaking their regular fast pace between hre and there. There are also nice kosher restaurants around. I'd say pay attention to the walls too; you'll see lines of bullet holes in some places and also plaques that commemorate WWII events. In short, there's as much history inside the museum than around it. A great visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a well curated museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This museum is impeccable. There is an abundance of well thought out information (although not much of it is in English so make sure you get an audio guide).

There are so many wonderful artefacts and objects to look at

The museum is huge, so be prepared to spend some time here.

Please note this is not a holocaust museum. I was so happy to learn about actual Jewish history and that the museum doesn't focus so heavily on the holocaust unlike other Jewish history museums I've been to.

Note: this attraction is not open on Saturdays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Jewish Art and History (Musee d'Art et Histoire du Judaisme) also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Museum of Jewish Art and History (Musee d'Art et Histoire du Judaisme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Jewish Art and History (Musee d'Art et Histoire du Judaisme), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.