We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ParisChambres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ParisChambres
Save
You added ParisChambres to your Saves list
Rue St Lazare | Niveau Rue Bourdaloue, Au 2eme Etage, 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had an amazing experience staying at this hotel. The rooms were super clean and the hotel is situated in a very nice place. The staff were super friendly and helpful with everything. Overall very nice stay and will be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
40
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B&B, and aside from trusting reviews read here, we were flying blind. Thankfully, even the most rave reviews didn't do justice to this wonderful experience! Anou is everything she's described to be and more: warm, generous, vivacious and full of stories, tips and suggestions for a unique Paris stay. If anyone has any hesitation about booking a B&B in a foreign country (as we did), you need not worry about this one - you'll enjoy every minute. Thank you Anou!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

For no good reason, the proprietress of Paris Chambres, Anou , abruptly cancelled our reservations less than two weeks before our arrival. Here is the fuller story.

My wife and I made reservations nearly six months in advance for the first week in June. When I wrote to reconfirm about a month out, Anou said she had double booked our room for the the final night of our stay. We agreed to stay elsewhere the final night, though she offered to pay the difference in the rate. So far, that was only a minor blip.

But then the disaster occurred. A couple of weeks later while we were already traveling in Europe, she sent an email late one evening demanding that we immediately email or fax a copy of our passports, which I would have gladly done. Just a few minutes later and before I even saw that first email, she unilaterally cancelled our reservation, saying she "could not receive us" in her home.

When I saw these emails the very next morning, I immediately wrote her and offered to email copies of our passports. But she said it was too late. Why? She said she didn't like the "arrogant" tone of my auto response to the first email, which said nothing more than we were travelling in Europe and would be responding to emails sporadically. I explained that this was an auto response, but she essentially called me a liar, saying that I was refusing to do as she asked. She said that she had previously asked for our passports in her confirming email five months earlier. I have carefully reviewed all our prior communications and there was no such request. Somewhat inconsistently, she said it is on her website. Not true. Her website merely says she "may ask for proof of identity at time of booking (for check payment) or during your stay...." In the previous five months, she had asked for nothing except payment of a 200 Euro deposit, which I had promptly made.

When I told her that her decision had put us in a terrible bind, needing to find a room in Paris two weeks away, in June, during the final week of the French Open no less, she said a room was available in the so-so reviewed hotel near her that was twice as expensive. When I told her that we had incurred a fee to send her the deposit, she essentially said "too bad."

So why do I think she treated us this way? I cannot know for sure, but these possibilities come to mind: 1) She didn't want to bear the cost of putting us up elsewhere for our final night, even though that was the consequence of her own mistake; 2) she had actually double booked for more than the one night; and/or 3) she is simply erratic and unreliable.

I have been using tripadvisor for years to find everything from luxury hotels, to B&Bs, from fine restaurants to cafes. I have had only good experiences until this one. I guess this is the exception that proves the rule.

Epilogue: After spending hours on the internet while vacationing in Croatia, we were ultimately able to find a nice VRBO. It was 60% more expensive than her room, but the most reasonable accommodation we could find on such short notice during a busy time in Paris. And when we arrived in Paris I called to reconfirm a restaurant reservation she had supposedly made for us. They had no reservation for us and they were fully booked.

As they say, "A word to the wise is sufficient."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parischambres, Responsable réception at ParisChambres, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Google Translation
Your reservation has been canceled for the simple reason that you did not want to prove your identity to the control of the authorities.

As you know, for your reservation to be effective you must prove your identity.

You had more than 5 and a half months to do it, but you never responded to my requests. I wrote to you by mail without answering and again at the end, even by mail ...

Then your reservation has been canceled 21 days prior to and repaid immediately, leaving you 21 days to find an accommodation, that you found the same day elsewhere.

In addition, precision, guest is not a tour operator, we do not advance money to book museums, theaters, shows, restaurants deposit ...

Votre réservation a été annulée pour la simple raison que vous n'avez pas voulu justifier de vos identités pour le controle des autorités.

Comme vous le saviez, pour que votre réservation soit effective vous devez justifier votre identité.

Vous aviez plus de 5 mois et demi pour le faire, mais vous n'avez jamais répondu à mes demandes. Je vous ai écrit, par courrier, sans donner de réponse et encore à la fin, encore par mail...

Alors, votre réservation a été annulée 21 jours avant et remboursée immédiatement, ce qui vous laissait 21 jours pour trouver un hébergement, ce que vous avez trouvé le jours même d'ailleurs.

De plus, une précision, une chambre d'hôtes n'est pas un tour opérator, on n'avance pas d'argent pour réserver les musées, théâtres, shows, acompte de restaurants...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room for 3 nights based on the previous reviews and location. I found the reviews were quite accurate and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, comfortable, and very peacefully quiet. The breakfast table was just as pictured - lovely, complete with excellent hot tea, fresh homebaked bread and croissants (yes! Fresh and crisp!) with an amazing variety of homemade organic jams and a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. Anou was charming and very helpful in directing me to a variety of restaurants, sights off the normal track, and the best way to get to them. But beyond even that, when I decided to extend my stay in Paris, even though her room was already booked, she quickly found me another nearby accommodation at a very reasonable rate! Such service is exceptional and was a great relief to me. Also, this room is in a pleasant part of town where I felt safe to walk in the evening. I would recommend ParisChambers to my friends without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have just returned from my second stay 'chez Anou'. I wanted to see Paris in springtime and the city did not disappoint. However, what made this such a great trip was the quality of this B&B and Anou herself, a lady both generous of heart and spirit. If you like tea Anou is a connoisseur. (Coffee is available as well). Another reviewer has commented on the variety of jams at breakfast. Some flavours are really amazing. It is the small touches like an offer of a hot drink after a long day seeing the sights that marks this B&B out as deserving of its excellent reputation. Do ask Anou for information about the hidden gems of the 9th. She loves her arrondissement and it clearly gives her pleasure to share these secrets with guests. Paris has so much to offer its visitors which is not always mentioned in the standard guide books.

Top quality apartment (v comfortable bed), location, breakfast and hostess

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This review is a little late - my boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in April and only wish we could have stayed longer. The room is lovely, the breakfast is delicious but absolutely 100% the best thing about this trip is Anou. She is so helpful in giving suggestions about where to go/eat and really wants you to make the most out of your trip. DO stay here if you want to experience a real slice of Parisian life- at that price it must be worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Anou is the perfect hostess. Nothing is too much trouble. She has renovated the apartment and it is really well done, extremely tasteful and a fantastic place to stay. Not only is it comfortable, the breakfast is perfect. It is set well back from the street and is very quiet. She has 21 different jams for breakfast, so if you are lucky enough to be there for a week, you get 3 new ones every day. They are also really good, I have never had fresh pistachio jam before, really nice, the croissants and fresh local organic bread had me eating more than usual for breakfast. The conversation and tourist information was a bonus. I can't recommend highly enough, was a great way to start my first trip to Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ParisChambres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParisChambres

Address: Rue St Lazare | Niveau Rue Bourdaloue, Au 2eme Etage, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
130€/Night. Nestled in a wooded quiet courtyard, this charming guest house offers hospitality and wellbeing. Ideally located between Montmartre and the Opera / Lafayette, near Pigalle, Drouot, theaters, museums, bd Haussmann department stores ... You will be warmly welcomed. Perfect room for a holiday in Paris, a weekend getaway or a business trip (bathroom, toilet, office, Free Wifi ...) The small share in the lounge where delicacies and sweets will be waiting for you breakfast . 1 Single bedroom with 1 double bed for 2 adult smokers with no office, dressing cabinet, available hair dryer, umbrellas, plans ... Metro Notre-Dame de Lorette (line 12) or Peletier (line 7), Saint Stations Lazarus, East and North, direct line to Gare Montparnasse and fast to the Gare de Lyon (line 14) access. Direct Roissy by RoissyBus or RER. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ParisChambres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.