We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Love Lock" bridge in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pont de l'Archeveche

Pont de l'Archeveche
Pont de l'Archeveche, Paris, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 634 Attractions in Paris
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The "Love Lock" bridge in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Personally I think it's romantic and like a tourist draw for people to put these locks on a bridge. Of course it's no good if it damages historical buildings but if so was the case I would expect the mayor of Paris to put up a sign to that effect and inform people of that fact. Also, I'm sure the value of the tourist draw this has far outpaces the cost of cutting these locks down if it becomes a problem.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    60
    14
    2
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favorite Paris bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

There is really nothing very outstanding about this bridge. It was built in 1828 and is the narrowest road bridge in Paris. The attraction it holds for me is purely romantic! The shadow of Pont de l'Archeveche is where Gene Kelly and Lesile Caron danced in the 1951 film, An American In Paris. What more reason could you want to see it? It's also where we boarded our Batobus river boat tour. There was an accordian player sitting near the bridge entertaining the tourists, accepting Euros for his efforts and he will play requests. He played La Vie En Rose for me, albeit, badly!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yet another vandalized bridge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After relaxing in the shade on a bench behind the magnificent Notre Dame, I headed south on my way to the Latin Quarter and to my disappointment the lovely Pont de l'Archeveche was covered in the stupid Locks of Love. As romantic as ithe idea sounds, it's not - it's vandalism.

Imagine thousands of litte keys floating down the Seine - what impact will they have on the environment? What happens when these locks, after being exposed to the elememts, start to corrode? Is that what you want to see behind one of the world's greatest cathedrals? Not me.

The view from the bridge is spectacular (take a look at google street view to see it "sans-locls" to see what I mean.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a romantic spot. A MUST see spot in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the brigde to the north of Notre Dame across the Seine. Everyone puts a lock on the bridge with the names of someone or those they love. It is a truly moving site and with the stunning Notre Dame Cathedral as the backdrop, it is an amazing photo opportunity.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pont de l'Archeveche also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pont de l'Archeveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont de l'Archeveche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.