We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely average hostel in a not so safe area” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Regent Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Regent Hostel to your Saves list
Le Regent Hostel
37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€9 (EUR)
Ranked #36 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Completely average hostel in a not so safe area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in Le Regent Hostel July 2012, it is located in the bad section of Paris aka Montmartre, where it is not advisable to leave your hostel after night. Let me give you an idea of the location, my brother walked ten feet from it down the street to the ATM and two gypsy children tried to cover the screen with a piece of paper and pressed more money than he was getting out so they could rob him of it. This was during the day. Also during the day as a woman I could look forward to all the unsavory male characters leering at me in the area. The hostel itself: we walked in and the room still was full of trash from the previous owners, we know because we were the first to check in that day. And their dirty towels were still in the bathroom. And the guy who works at reception is your typical snotty French guy who got mad at me for losing the tiny slip of paper with the overly complicated internet wifi code. So I recommend finding somewhere else in Paris, out of Montmartre, out of this hostel, so you can have a better trip in Paris than we did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    175
    114
    38
    36
See reviews for
32
99
111
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hostel, although with more of a hotel feeling, is not so welcoming as others, maybe because it's Paris. There are locks in and out of the hotel. You have to ring to get in and the reception are is too small. There are 2 computers to rent and wifi is free if you have good signal in your room. Breakfast is rather poor, not hearty as announced, and laundry services are expensive compared to those in Montmartre district. But the view!!! Day or nite of SacreCoeur from our room was delightful. We were on 6th floor, mini elevator, and it was lovely.

Room Tip: If you may, ask for a room with a view to Sacre Coeur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

What you pay is what you can expect, the location is near a train station which is really helpfull to move arround. However, it is kind of far away from everything good in paris, exept for le monmarte. I didnt really like the location, it just feels like not paris.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The location was outside of the center of Paris but the Anvers and Pigalle metro stops were super close and it was a 5 min walk to the Sacre Coeur which was convenient. Walkable from gare du nord and easy to find. The staff were helpful but not overly friendly and all spoke English. 24 hour reception was also nice since we had to check out before 5am.
The room was small and hard to lay out all our luggage but there was a sink inside the room which was nice. Our rooms were cleaned and made everyday. The shared shower on the 5th floor worked fine and was decent but small. there were no hooks to put our towels. The toilet was on the 4th floor and that was kind of annoying especially because there was no sink in there.
The breakfast was tasty (croissants, cereal, OJ, coffee) and simple. There was a washer and dryer for 8 euros, a luggage check room, towels, hair dryer, hand soap, kitchen with silverware and hot plates. No AC but we opened the windows and it was fine. Overall it was a great place to stay in Paris,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here & were immediately very impressed.
We had a private twin room so with our own bathroom and we had a balcony off our room & bathroom which was exciting.

The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was also a good perk (it wasn't anything amazing but still handy and money-saving).

There's also an on-site laundry which is key & lots of places downstairs to hang out. There's also free WiFi downstairs which is great.

The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed to ask anything & it felt secure at night because you need a special card to swipe in.

I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: I've read some less positive reviews about the shared bathroom rooms - I recommend spending a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Yes, Paris is expensive when compering to capitals of neighbour countries, still quality of this hostel was dissapointment. We had double room with shared bathroom and shower. First of all, the bathroom was shared between 12 rooms and there were only toilet bowl, no sink. We had to wash our hands at our own room upstairs, which isn't too hygienic. The shower was smelly and there were mold at the roof and walls. There were no possibility to hang towel or clothes anywhere. Our actual room was ok, tiny and walls paperthin. We could hear everything what other quests talked at the hall. That was quite inconvenient, and we couldn't sleep at all at first night when people were partying louldly. I was suprised, that stuff didn't do anything to stop the noise. Other nights were more quiet and we didn't have to buy earplugs (though they were drilling at the street early in the morning, but that's not the hostels fault). I give two points to this hostel and that's because of the good location. Maybe I'm getting old,but next time I will find something better even with poor location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I would not stay here again. The only saving grace was the ultra-convenient location (so close to the train station and metro!)

This is just a warning...

First of all the hostel/hotel attracts very diverse kinds of people maybe due to the low cost. On our first morning, there was a man talking to himself on the first floor... It put us off a little. The bathrooms in this place are dirty and not well-maintained, though we made do. The rooms as well are not kept well and gave us the feel that they were not cleaned in a long long time. (Maybe the grumpy housemaids just made the bed again for the next stayer!)

Breakfast was alright, the usual hostel fare.

THE THING THAT RUINED IT FOR US: Everyone in the hostel had their backpacks and luggage locks picked by a burglar who stole some things, including a laptop! This happened to everybody who left their luggage and bags in the luggage room. The worst thing is, nobody said anything to us about the incident until we asked the reception what happened. Only then did the staff tell us that this has happened before and that on that day, everybody's bags were picked (like this happens every day and is no big deal!) Disappointed with this, and even more upset when told there is no CCTV camera INSIDE the room.

Cannot describe our disappointment more. We definitely will NOT be staying again.

Only stay here if you have no valuables, and you can enjoy the good proximity to the metro.

One good thing is that SOME staff (2 out of 5 or so) were friendly and helpful.

April 2012.

Room Tip: If staying on top floors, choose one with good view of Sacre Coeur. DO NOT LEAVE ANY VALUABLES IN LU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Regent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regent Hostel

Address: 37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Paris from the heart. You are not 20 mn away to the center , 10 mn to the center but just in the center . Ideally located in front of the most visited site of Paris : the Sacré Coeur and a short stroll away from the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle ; the staff of the Regent Hostel will welcome you day or night and will make your stay inforgettable. Come and meet fellow travelers, cook in our common kitchen, hang out in our cool lounge (with great football table) or enjoy the free Wi–fi while just hanging out. share stories and tips. The welcoming ambiance of the Regent Hostel will be just what you are looking for while visiting all the wonderful sights of Paris.We offer:• A parisian breakfast from 7:30 am to 10 am (Juice, fresh croissant, coffee, French bread with butter and jam,hot drinks)• a kitchen fully equipped opens from 12 am to 10.30 pm • 24 hour reception• Free Wifi in the whole hostel• HIGH SPEED internet kiosks (paying) • Cleaned daily• Elevator ( lift )• English NEWSPAPER• FAX SERVICE • parking nearby ( charge ) • Free Day storage luggage after check out • 100% Hostel smoking Free • Free Iron ; Ironing boarding• Hot water 24 hours • Free Use of major mobile phone recharger • Free maps and knowledgeable advice• Lockers at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Regent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regent Hotel Paris
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Regent Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.