We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently Surprised, still not recommend to young families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Impasse Marteau, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #945 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasently Surprised, still not recommend to young families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for the night of July 31st 2013 to extend our stay in Paris from one long day, to two full days. We'd looked at the many Novotel's in Paris and from looking at the cheaper priced ones based on the outskirts, this won our choice due to being a suite rather than just a room, for the same price.
I'd read reviews about the rough area it's within prior to us going so was a bit apprehensive when stepping out of the metro station (Port de la Chapelle) at the end of the M12 line. However when getting out there was a hype of activity with shops and a modern tram line. We could see the hotel from the metro stop but it was the journey to get from there to the door which caused problems. Guests have to travel under the motorway slip road bridge which alongside it, sits a grass verge where there must have been around 30 or so young men, smoking who-knows-what. A rather intimidating experience for anyone. But once briskly passing, we got to the doors. They were secured with ring-system meaning they were locked until reception opened them - for extra security which was good. We got given our room on the forth floor and after walking down a very long, dark corridor (most lights weren't on) we arrived.
The room was huge. An 'L' shaped space including big table, two chairs, two single beds, a double and kitchenette equipped with Kettle, Sink, Microwave and Fridge which wasn't cold at all. We went to reception to ask but they said "It's not a freezer, that's how it is" but we managed to plug it in to a different socket and that got it working. The toilet is in a different part of the room from the rest of the bathroom, bit inconvenient. However - the main bathroom was very impressive with separate bath AND shower cupicle, both with shower heads that were removable, something I always miss in Hotels! The door however didn't lock and had a large hole for handles not giving you full privacy, so we had to shove socks in it. There was lots of windows though, giving lots of natural light, all of which looked out onto the back of the hotel where crumbling buildings where less than 50 meters away, inevitably home to multiple drug addicts, not great. But the hotel itself was pretty much faultless. Dark corridors and less-than-perfect-temperature fridges was about as bad as it got. Wifi was free and very speedy. Reception had been refurbished since website pictures had been taken.
The area though makes me say this is unsuitable for families with young children or females travelling alone.
TIP: Go under the bridge directly in front of the hotels doors then take a left up to the metro instead of turning left directly outside the hotel (go under motorway then under far slip road instead of nearest slip road) this is a slightly safer route, however a tad longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    413
    199
    61
    45
See reviews for
414
143
47
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good hotel, clean room. Location does not look the best but it is not far from the Metro and about 15-20 mins by Metro to centre of Paris. The location is by a big intersection of roadways. I would have thought it would be noisy but with the windows closed you do not hear a thing. Rooms have air conditioning. We parked our bicycles in the underground car park which was very safe and hasten to add we did not have to pay for. Felt safe at night returning late in the evening from a night out. Got metro to Abbesses, great night, lively with loads of restaurants at reasonable prices. This is the second year I have stayed at this hotel and I certainly would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

An extremely pleasant and friendly hotel for families who do not want to spend a fortune on a hotel (look at the 3 night deal, with free Wi-Fi and films) within Paris. The rooms were clean and more than adequate for a family of 4, and the breakfasts were good value for money when it is taken into consideration that kids eat for free. The staff were exceptionally friendly, and very responsive to any issues that arose. The hotel is roughly 10 minutes away from a Metro station, which in turn is about 30 minutes away from the centre of Paris. The only downsides were the location (alright during the day, but I would not have gone out at night with my children), car parking charges (€18 a day, though at least cars are kept safe) and, for some reason, a reluctance to refill teas, coffees and hot chocolates in the room each day (though Reception did resolve this problem, it was just a pain to have to ask each day). Nonetheless, overall our stay was great and I would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed with my family (2 adults + 2 boys) at the Suite Novotel at Porte de la Chapelle for 3 days. We really enjoyed the very large suite and the excellent bathroom. The suites have a fridge and complimentary WiFi. The hotel is quite close to a Metro-station and the street between the hotel and the station has street-lights and seems quite safe even though the neighbourhood looks a bit rough at the first glance.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling with children!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for a family vacation in Paris as this was one of the only ones offerins the space to suit a family of 4 in the room.What a shock ! We were stricly guided by a few reviews and we hit a big disapointement.

The area is not only scary during the day but litterally surronded with homeless , squatters , drug dealers.... The city'dumpters are right across the street...Since we needed to walk to reach the closest metro station, we ended up having to pay for taxis to come back to the hotel. Because of the area , no decent restaurants of cafes were close by. There again , we needed to go a distance to sit down with our family.

The hotel offers a basic service , with a staff who has little interest in helping you . No information about the area's commodities , or missing ammenities in the room. We had to wait until the 3rd day to have access to our television. Cleaness is also a bsic notion here. Walls that were white once upon a time are in need of a good clean up. AC works randomly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle

Address: 1 Impasse Marteau, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#344 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel with 187 inviting 30 m² suites. Enjoy our free unlimited Suitebox service, including hardwired high speed internet, calls to landlines within France, video and music on demand, multimedia area with chat, music, photos and more. 200 m from the metro, 2 km from Montmartre and the centre of Paris. 15 km from Roissy CDG Airport. 24 hr services including Boutique Gourmande refreshments, fitness area, business corner. Bar, free massages on Thursdays, pay parking. Accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Paris La Chapelle Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Chapelle
Suitehotel Porte De La Chapelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Paris Porte de la Chapelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.