We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic rooms, good breakfast, top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bvj Paris Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bvj Paris Louvre to your Saves list
Bvj Paris Louvre
20 Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Vienna, Austria
1 review
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“basic rooms, good breakfast, top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I had a reservation for one night, arrived in the evening, no problems at check-in. I feared the 10-bed dorm could be noisy, but we were only 5 guys that night (friday) in this dorm, so it was not very crowded. Rooms are basic with bunk beds, but were quite clean, including a basin.
Toilets and showers are outside the room but on the same floor.
There are safe numeric lockers downstairs (although you have to put in 2 euros to lock them).
The place was a bit lacking in atmosphere, but probably most guys and girls were out on that friday evening.
Reception was staffed 24 hours, which is fine when you go out in the evening and come back veeery late at night ;)
In the morning there was a surprisingly good continental breakfast. Check-out was quick and easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    40
    15
    38
See reviews for
4
10
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It had the basic needs. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest and the shower didn't drain well, at all! So I would turn the water on for just a bit so I wouldn't have the dirty waters receding on my shower shoes. Again... Basic needs. Great location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

we stayed at bvj for a nite..the place is neat n tidy, staff is friendly n nice, breakfast is included, n the best part os d location it is situated 10 mins walk from d musee d louvre n metro st is 7 mins frm dsplace... v stayed in a double bunk room.. quite nice place for single women travellers ... dey hav separate dorms fr gals n boys.. washrooms r common but nycly maintained.. n enuf on all d floors ... so u dont hav to wait... advised to take ur own towel shower gels n creams coz toileteries are not provided...wifi is paid but affordable..... in all its a nyc deal.... n v njoyed stayng here... will opt nxt tym also wen i m dere. :)

Room Tip: dey hav rooms wd double bunks in wch i stayed wch ws nyc... travellers can try dat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Bit pricey compared to usual hostel prices (stayed in mid October) but not so much for Paris. Lack of the usual social area and staff can be somewhat distracted (usually because there's only one of them on). However rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy (no towel) and breakfast was very nice continental affair. No free WiFi. Not a bad hostel but I'd suggest finding somewhere cosier unless you're in a large group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Checked-in for 4 days knowing I was sacrificing the social side of other hostels for the location BVJ Louvre offered. My expectations were very low, all I was after was clean sheets, a hot shower & someplace quiet to sleep. The showers were cold & sprayed every direction except at you & ensured there was nowhere dry to hang your towel & the push button needed to be pressed every 5 seconds.
Their policy of only issuing one key per room was really annoying as you had to rely on the last person leaving the room to actually lock the door behind you, and once someone was int eh room the door had to be left unlocked the whole time,so it didn't stop complete strangers wandering into the room
Easily the worst part of my stay was getting bitten by bed bugs. One itchy spot on my first night I thought nothing of, but by the end of my stay I was covered in red itchy welts. On check-out, when I complained to the manager she had two things to say 1) its too late to do anything about it now. & 2) you can't prove you got bitten here. They didn't seen to care about it at all.
Wished I followed my first instinct on arrival & found somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff a nice, but they need about two more working at all times, the wait is like 20 mins everytime just to speak to someone. Very very basic. Clean mostly but there are way better hostels to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location, about 10mins from the Louvre. Have to pay for wifi and showers are look like they're from a prison, but functional. If you stay on the street side there is a lot of noise late at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bvj Paris Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bvj Paris Louvre

Address: 20 Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1948, the first Youth Hostel of Paris open 24H, located in the hurt of the historical Paris, 200mt from the Louvre Museum, and King Garden. You can reach any point of Paris in less then 20 min, enjoy our stay in rooms from 2 to 8/10 beds, shower and toilets on the floor and a free no limit breakfast with tea, coffee, chocolate, 3 breads, 8 jams, 2 different orange juice, 2 types of cereals, yogurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bvj Paris Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bvj Paris Louvre Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bvj Paris Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.