We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel by vere small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Le Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good hotel by vere small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good location right on top of the Metor just 24 minutes from Gare du Nord if you arrive by Eurostar also close to the L Open Tour bus stop ask reception can get you a small discount. everywhere is easy to get to also very close to many restraints.
The hotel is very clean with very friendly staff good breakfast
The only problem we found was the size of the room ours (42) was about 10 feet by 10 feet with a double bed and not much room around it for anything else.
I don’t know if other rooms are bigger may be worth asking if this is a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    181
    24
    14
    1
See reviews for
67
213
17
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This wonderful small hotel is an excellent place to stay while in Paris. In terms of the pros it has many! Firstly, the rooms were spacious (we were 3 adults and stayed in a triple room with 3 single beds). The rooms have a very luxurious feeling to them and are very well kept and clean! The location of the hotel itself comes with pros and cons of its own. It's located near 2 metro stops which are very convenient but for someone like myself who enjoys speaking english, it was difficult to eat in this area as most of the restaurants and cafes don't expect too many tourists in this area (it's outside of the tourist area perhaps). As a result it was difficult to communicate with the waiters in the many cafes on Montparnasse. Nevertheless, some did make a great effort to find a common ground. Back at the hotel- it was very quiet and sleeping was great. The room we had (58 i believe), had doors (which open completely to let in that breathtaking Parisian air and view) which opened to a yard for school children- however that was never a problem. They were never loud and even if they're too loud for your liking, you can close the doors and turn on the A/C. Now in terms of cons, it has one or two. Firstly, a WARNING TO THOSE WHO NEED WI-FI. Chances are you won't be able to access the free wi-fi on the 4th floor and up (unless it was just me). It was kind of disappointing and i had to count my blessings that i didn't rely on the wi-fi for my communication/directional needs. The second con is more of a caution. Don't buy the breakfast that's included with the hotel. The cafes in the area (especially on Montparnasse) offer great filling breakfasts for the same value- sometimes even less. Eat and enjoy Paris but not in the hotel. It is quite expensive but so are most things in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor or below if you want internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel le Royal is a perfect small hotel in Paris. It is located near two Metro stops and has recently been renovated. The neighborhood has many cafes and creperies nearby and good shopping. It is near the Luxembourg Gardens and withing walking distance of many attractions. The hotel has an inviting lobby and a wonderful young lady to greet you at the desk, Aurelie. She is very helpful and can arrange anything very quickly. She is a gem! The breakfast is adequate, but if you want good pastries and coffee don't eat there. Unfortunately Hotel le Royal has no curb appeal. However, once you are inside, the rooms are clean and newly decorated and the bathrooms are updated and super. I will definitely come back to this great little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There's nothing wrong with this hotel at all but I didn't find it has any 'Parisian' atmosphere at all. It smells of cleaning fluid in the foyer. Having said that it's nicely decorated and very clean. Our room was a 'superior' but there was no-where to put our very small suitcases so just as well we stayed only one night. Also the bed we had can't be 6' long as I'm less than that and my feet hung over the end of the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the royal for two nights in June. We booked the standard room and were disappointed to find the room extremely small with hardly any place for luggage. The bed was tiny as well. The hotel as such looks nice though and the staff are friendly but at 150 euros per night i expect better - even in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Norwood London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

At this price I cannot fault Le Royal. I stayed here June 3/7 2013.

The staff are friendly & helpful, the public room attractive & comfortable, the included breakfast not only croissants & preserve but also fruit salad, cold cuts & egg, all good quality. The room (we were upgraded) was quite spacious, attractive, quiet and comfortable, with efficient and quiet air con.

The location is good, the area (Montparnasse) is quite smart, near the Luxembourg Gardens, there are many restaurants, cafes and bars of varying prices and types, the metro (line 4) is within 100m, Line 4 runs from Gare du Nord so direct from Eurostar, and just one change to the Charles de Gaulle airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Le Royal for 6 nights with a deal from Go-Today and could not have been happier with our stay. The staff, one gentleman in particular, was so friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke good English and gave us directions on the best way to get to the Louvre/Opera Garnier/etc whenever we needed it. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect, especially for two women traveling alone. The neighborhood is adorable with several cute sidewalk cafés open well after midnight. This made us feel a lot safer walking home late. While we were originally concerned that our street would be noisy, it didn't reach the inside of the hotel and didn't affect us whatsoever. The breakfast was wonderful! We fully enjoyed walking down every morning to the very cute dining room. Breakfast was an assortment of meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit salad, apple sauce, boiled eggs, chocolate and plain croissants, french baguettes, orange juice, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, and warm milk. We loved everything! I especially enjoyed the chocolate croissants :) Our room was very comfortable; it was small but that was to be expected from a European hotel, and really cute! Another thing about the location of this hotel: it was so convenient and close to everything! It took 10 minutes to get to the Louvre, 20 minutes to walk to the Eiffel Tower, and for anything further out there were Metro stations just a block away. We also very much appreciated the espresso machine in the lobby! I do not understand any negative feedback, our experience was 100% positive. My mom and I both agreed that there is nowhere we would rather stay than Le Royal for our next visit to Paris :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 212 Boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#191 Family Hotel in Paris
#431 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The << Royal - Rive gauche>> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.