We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, spotless, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 boulevard Raspail | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent location, spotless, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There's nothing wrong with this hotel at all but I didn't find it has any 'Parisian' atmosphere at all. It smells of cleaning fluid in the foyer. Having said that it's nicely decorated and very clean. Our room was a 'superior' but there was no-where to put our very small suitcases so just as well we stayed only one night. Also the bed we had can't be 6' long as I'm less than that and my feet hung over the end of the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    163
    21
    15
    1
See reviews for
60
176
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the royal for two nights in June. We booked the standard room and were disappointed to find the room extremely small with hardly any place for luggage. The bed was tiny as well. The hotel as such looks nice though and the staff are friendly but at 150 euros per night i expect better - even in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Norwood London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

At this price I cannot fault Le Royal. I stayed here June 3/7 2013.

The staff are friendly & helpful, the public room attractive & comfortable, the included breakfast not only croissants & preserve but also fruit salad, cold cuts & egg, all good quality. The room (we were upgraded) was quite spacious, attractive, quiet and comfortable, with efficient and quiet air con.

The location is good, the area (Montparnasse) is quite smart, near the Luxembourg Gardens, there are many restaurants, cafes and bars of varying prices and types, the metro (line 4) is within 100m, Line 4 runs from Gare du Nord so direct from Eurostar, and just one change to the Charles de Gaulle airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Le Royal for 6 nights with a deal from Go-Today and could not have been happier with our stay. The staff, one gentleman in particular, was so friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke good English and gave us directions on the best way to get to the Louvre/Opera Garnier/etc whenever we needed it. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect, especially for two women traveling alone. The neighborhood is adorable with several cute sidewalk cafés open well after midnight. This made us feel a lot safer walking home late. While we were originally concerned that our street would be noisy, it didn't reach the inside of the hotel and didn't affect us whatsoever. The breakfast was wonderful! We fully enjoyed walking down every morning to the very cute dining room. Breakfast was an assortment of meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit salad, apple sauce, boiled eggs, chocolate and plain croissants, french baguettes, orange juice, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, and warm milk. We loved everything! I especially enjoyed the chocolate croissants :) Our room was very comfortable; it was small but that was to be expected from a European hotel, and really cute! Another thing about the location of this hotel: it was so convenient and close to everything! It took 10 minutes to get to the Louvre, 20 minutes to walk to the Eiffel Tower, and for anything further out there were Metro stations just a block away. We also very much appreciated the espresso machine in the lobby! I do not understand any negative feedback, our experience was 100% positive. My mom and I both agreed that there is nowhere we would rather stay than Le Royal for our next visit to Paris :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently spent three nights here and were very pleasantly surprised to discover this hotel.. This is a great value for Paris. Beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable in an excellent location in stylish Montparnasse on the Left Bank. A metro station is around the corner and it's within very easy walking distance to many nice restaurants and cafes on the Blvd Montparnasse, ,including the famous Le Dome, Le Coupole, Lila's, and the Luxembourg gardens. . A lovely, inviting lobby was stocked with comfy chairs and magazines. GREAT service at the front desk. They answered all our questions and had a taxicab for us when we needed it. Our "junior suite" room for three guests was amazingly spacious by Parisian standards, with a big, luxurious and well-equipped bath having BOTH a tub and walk-in shower, a double sink, separate water closet (!). Free WI-FI. An elevator makes moving luggage easy. Nice breakfast and coffee is free any time. We have visited Paris many times and intend to keep this at the top of our list of Paris hotel accommodations.

Room Tip: If you have more than just two persons, ask about the suite.. You will pay more than a standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First of all want to qualify this review as being "old" as in I stayed there 5 years ago(2008) but just never got around to writing a review on it.. But, have lately seen people asking about the hotel and the location and just want to note down my impressions.

Hotel is well located , in the 14th near border of 5th/6th. Vavin metro station very close by, several nice cafes and brasseries nearby .. Luxembourg Garden an easy walk to visit.I stayed here alone with my then 11 yr old daughter and never felt unsafe walking around in evening or coming or going in area by foot or metro.

Room was good size for that price range.. hotel rooms in Paris do tend to be very small, I considered the room size decent.. plus, nice fairly spacious bathroom .

Air conditioning worked well. We had a room facing the front and did not notice street noise being particularily loud, and I do not like traffic noise myself.
I would stay here again, but noticed prices have gone up to a bit more then I would like to pay now, but if there was a special or deal on I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location a block from Montparnasse and Blvd Raspail in the 6th District, near line 4 Metro. Friendly front desk, multi-lingual staff, attentive chamber maids and just off Blvd Montparnasse with many restaurants. Recently remodeled it is clean and without the musty odor of many older hotels in the area. It is located about a quarter mile from the huge Montparnasse Center, one of the few sky scrapers in the south and it makes a good orientation landmark. There is a small grocery store a long block away where you can buy fresh fruit and water and keep them in the mini bar. A pleasure in all regards I highly recommend it if you are staying in the 6 Arris.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 212 boulevard Raspail | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#162 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel le royal is located in the heart of paris ,a few steps from luxembourg garden and st germain des près ;The hotel welcome you in a new decoration with contempory atmosfer.Free wifi and air conditioning an all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.