We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Sanguine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Sanguine
6 rue de Surene | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay. If you have been agonizing on where to stay in Paris, hopefully my experiences can help. If location is very important to you, but you're budget conscious, this is an excellent choice. Place de Madeleine is filled with pricey boutiques and expensive 4 star hotels, and to be so ideally situated in this location at this price is quite good. For site-seeing, you are less than a 5 minute walk to Place de La Concorde (which has an excellent Christmas Market in December, and worth going to during the evening). Note, there is also a metro stop at Concorde, which is just 2 stops to the Louvre. The Orsay Museum is very walkable from the hotel, just 10-15 minutes. Madeleine Metro is also just 2 minutes from the hotel. You can take that metro directly to Abesses if visiting Montmartre (which I recommend). You can also take the Madeleine Metro to Chatelet to visit Saint Chappelle, Concergerie and Notre Dame. Or, you can walk 8-10 minutes to St Augustin metro, and take that directly to Trocadero to the Eiffel Tower. You can take metro from the CDG airport to La Sanguine, but you will need to transfer at Chatelet and then when you arrive at Madeleine, you will need to climb some stairs. So, if you have lots of luggage, might not be the best choice, but it only cost 9.40 euros. A taxi from the airport will be 50 euros. The hotel will arrange a taxi for you to go back to the airport, which was very convenient. The rooms at the hotel are very basic, small, clean. Nothing special, but we didn't come to Paris to spend a lot of time in our room, nor did we want to shell out over 200 euros a night for one of the fancier hotels down the street. Breakfast is an extra 10 euros if you want it. Unfortunately, we never got a chance to enjoy breakfast, so I can't comment on that. Overall, well-located hotel on a small side street right next to Place de la Madeleine, with helpful and friendly owners.
TIP: Especially if you are coming to the hotel by metro from the airport and this is your first time to Paris, use Google Maps satellite street view to get your bearings before you go and see what is near by. I was able to walk confidently from the metro to the hotel, because I had already previewed the area and knew where to go. Even better, if you have an iPod, bring that, download the TripAdvisor Paris city guide app. I used that map in conjunction with the iPod's GPS functionality A LOT.

Room Tip: We paid 135 euros/night for a double room on the 4th floor. Reminder, that means 5 flights (not just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
43
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A heartfelt and since THANK YOU to the incredibly helpful folks at LaSanguine. My friend and I recently spent 8 days and 7 nights in Paris and found this facility to be the PERFECT set up for us. Located right next to the Madeline Opera House, the location was perfect. Everything was in easy walking distance, and if you don’t want to walk, there are cabs all over that area. The hotel is spotlessly clean and so welcoming—it is beautiful and comfortable. But the staff is the highpoint. These people took excellent care of us. They fussed over us like we were more family than hotel customers, making sure that every day in Paris was exactly what we wanted. They helped us organize the cab back to the airport, counseled us on the time change, advised about things to see—they were just terrific in every way. And all this with us speaking next to no French—they were completely understanding and accommodating with that, too. The continental breakfast was perfect—so French and exactly the experience we wanted. Fifteen thumbs up to LaSanguine—we’d both move in on a permanent basis if they would let us do so!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is my second visit to La Sanguine. I spent 6 nights at La Sanguine and enjoyed one. My room was clean and nicely furnished. My bed was comfortable and cozy. The location is just perfect. I walked to the Louvre and to Notre Dame easily. The croissants are the best I have had in Paris. They are all made by the owner/chef also makes the croissants and the lovely jelly that is served each morning. Madame Nicole and Jean Patrick are so kind and helpful. As a widow this is a safe and friendly hotel. On a final note Tokyo, the dog, is with Madame and Monsiuer Plumerand everyday at the hotel. He makes Hotel La Sanguine feel like home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Would fully recommend this lovely hotel situated in a great location. After an incredibly long flight we arrived to very freindly staff and soon became part of the family.My daughter made freinds with Tokoyo the dog and the fresh pastries and homemade spreads for breakfast were delicious. Jean-Patrick and Madame Nicole made our stay very special. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

(+) Location - We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in October 2012, the location is perfect, 10 minutes (by walking) from the Louvre,2 minutes from the Concorde. 15-20 minutes from the roisybus station (bus that takes you to/from the airport).

(-) There is no elevator so you need to use the stairs to get to your room.

The street is quiet, except for the garbage machine that collect the garbage in the morning.
The room is pretty clean and pretty big for Paris but during our stay i don't think that our sheets were replaced by new/clean, we had to ask a soap from the reception because it wasn't replaced, and big towels.But when we asked, we got all we needed right a way.

(+) The staff is very nice and helpfull.

(+) There is a safe in each room inside the mini bar, we didn't know it until we got there, they don't mention it.

Nice, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our second time here. For the price, I don't know if you can do better with this location. You can walk to great places and the metro is right there. The staff could not be sweeter.

The rooms are small for US standards, but workable. We understand they are being forced to remodel to enlarge room sizes (due to some rating system). So, the rooms might get bigger, but there won't be as many and they will likely need to raise the prices.

Again .. great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ive stayed here several times in the past and it just keeps getting better. Whole family is so helpful with arrangements or any other need while visiting. Great location and best value in Paris. Cant wait to start planning our next holiday and will definitely make this our home while in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Sanguine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sanguine

Address: 6 rue de Surene | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#131 Business Hotel in Paris
#187 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#238 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
La Sanguine Hotel
La Sanguine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Sanguine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Sanguine to your Saves list