We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty hotel in ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Notre Dame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Notre Dame to your Saves list
Hotel le Notre Dame
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Arty hotel in ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Le Notre Dame is well placed with rooms looking out over the Notre Dame Cathedral. It is right next to an RER station with trains to CDg every 15 minutes. The "Batobus" hop on, hop off river boats stop nearby, allowing easy travel up and down the river.

The rooms are decorated in a quirky/arty style, and are very clean, though a little on the smalle side. Breaakfast is simple, but if you are looking for something more extensive, there are streetside cafe's right next door who serev breakfast.

Recommended, and will probably be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear "Rickx" , We would like to thank you for the nice and precise feedback about your stay with us ; it was a pleasure to have you at the hotel ; and indeed we are proud to be a small boutique hotel with special vibes given by our special design signed Christian LACROIX ; located in the center of Paris;Best Regards and we are looking forward to welcome you as promise :) . Simona and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    189
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
50
334
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here some months back for 9 days with my mother and sister. While in Paris both my mother and sister became ill and had to be hospitalized. Simona and her staff were INCREDIBLY helpful. She and her team made all arrangements and translated with doctors and ambulance drivers for me. I was impressed with (and very grateful for) the thoughtful, caring and competent staff that went above and beyond to help my family. I look forward to returning to Hotel le Notre Dame (and to my wonderful attic room with the loft bed) under less stressful circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Madam , First of all it is so nice to have news about you ; we really hope that your charming monther and sister are well ; and everything we done was for us normal ; it is not easy to get sick when you are far away from home.We really hope to welcome all of you in the very next future but promis ....this time we will assist you with restaurants & sightseeing - as well as we assist you with doctors :). Looking forward for your next visit as promise and all the best to you & your family.Simona and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our room faced the cathedral and we were very happy to be so conveniently located to the center of the city, and to the Metro/RER. The hotel is small, the rooms are tiny and there is no elevator to get to the reception desk so be prepared for that. We felt that was a reasonable compromise for the well-appointed rooms and lovely, warm attitude of the staff. If you choose a room facing the cathedral, keep in mind that it is a very busy part of the city and there is street noise. Nonetheless, we would go back today if we could!

Room Tip: consider getting a view vs getting a quieter night sleep. The view is spectacular, though, and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest ; We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave you feedback regarding your stay with us ; and is so nice to see that everything went well and that you have been pleased with your hotel choice.Best Regards and we are looking forward to see you very soon ; Simona and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Paris! It's close to the metro and most landmarks in Paris. This hotel is very expensive, but the sights are worth it, (my room overlooked the Seine, Notre Dame, and more). I like to have refrigerators in rooms when I travel....this hotel does not have refrigerators nor cable, which was a big let down. But as I mentioned, great hotel for its central location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at HND a few weeks ago. Our decision was based upon Tripadvisor reviews. Which, for the first time, has left me perplexed. The hotel was not what we expected. We were looking for something memorable, convenient and reasonably priced. The hotel definitely fit the bill for those three things. We had a beautiful view of Notre Dame, the hotel is truly central to everything and the price worked with our budget. But there is a "but" to this review. Although we knew the hotel was literally across the street from Notre Dame, we had no idea how busy the street the hotel was on would be. We're talking crazy busy. There was so much street noise and it lasted until four in the morning. That combined with our jet lag left us extremely frustrated and disappointed. Hotel's fault? No, I suppose. But perhaps putting in different windows would help minimize the noise level. Having stayed in many hotels in NYC, we never encountered the noise that we did on those two nights. Fortunately, we were able to switch rooms. I was never so happy to have a view of concrete! We finally slept :)
As far as the rest of the hotel, the decor is definitely funky and Parisian but also worn. I was afraid to think of how dirty the carpet was in the room. But, everything else was clean....bedding, towels, etc. Another thing that wasnt pleasant was the fact that the entrance to the hotel is sandwiched between souvenir shops. You barely know it's a hotel. You walk straight into a staircase (that you need to carry your luggage up) that takes you up to the "lobby". Nothing grand or inviting about that either. You really don't feel pampered from the get go.
My final "but". If you're looking for location, and the things I've mentioned don't bother you, then this is a great hotel. You are close to many cafes and restaurants, great neighborhoods and the metro is right across the street. But, I would not stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing Notre Dame unless you're a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We decided to stay here due to the location with the RER and Metro lines all being very close and convenient for getting in and out of Paris and also due to its proximity to St Michel where we love wondering around and choosing a restaurant (not too mention the worlds best chocolate shop!) . We booked a river view room which cost a bit more but worth it for the view we had of Notre Dame and the River Seine! At first the hotel is a little hard to find but the cafe on the corner is a good indication you are there - the entrance unfortunately means 20 or so stairs to lug your suitcase up - but from there you have the typical one person one bag elevator that many of the old buildings were fitted with!
Staff were wonderful, very helpful and put themselves out of the misery of us trying to speak French and spoke English to us! They are very knowledgeable and quick to assist with any directions or information you need including booking taxis etc
The room was quite quirky, but the view was amazing... could have spent my time laying on the bed watching the changing light on Notre Dame all day. Space was limited but for a Paris, the room was a good size and comfortably took our two suitcases with room to move around. Wardrobe space limited - but you make do. Room was very clean and well serviced each day.
We only ate breakfast here on our last day and it was great - very French - and cheaper than the cafes on the street.
Highly recommend - great location - will be back!

Room Tip: If you are not a good sleeper and easily distracted by noise - might be best to ask for a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel,because it was so convenient to RerB train from the airport. At many metro stations you need to lug your luggage, but there is an elevator up to a street just around the corner. The entrance to the hotel is between a cafe and a souvenir shop and a little bit hard to see. The door leads to a narrow staircase and you have to carry your luggage up steep 20 steps, which is very inconvenient. There is a small elevator from the first floor lobby to the rooms. The decor of the hotel is Very tacky ,but probably some people like it. The walls are covered with different color wall to wall carpeting. In a fire the whole place might go up in flames. In my room one wall was hairy fake elephant skin wallpaper. One wall had wallpaper with large prints such a flowers and picture of a painting. The last wall was fake gray wood paneling. The uneven floor was covered with hairy carpeting with a patio tile pattern. The wall had a giant flat screen TV that was streaming street view of Notre Dame. I could not figure out how to turn it off so I just covered with a towel. For extra cost you can get a view of the river which is Worth it since the rooms are dark and small. The location is great for tourism. Behind the hotel is the Latin quarter with tons of restaurants. Notre Dame is across the river. St Germaine des Pres is a few blocks away with nice shopping. Your can also walk to Louvre, Sorbonne and the Luxembourg park. I would choose this hotel if you are in Paris to explore and do not plan to spend a a lot oF time in the room. If you have any moBlity issues this is not the right place because of the steps to the lobby and the bath tub. There is not standalone shower in the bathroom. You need to climb into a bath and use a hand shower to wash.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Notre Dame

Address: 1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#114 Business Hotel in Paris
#146 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#155 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Notre Dame 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Notre Dame Paris
Le Notre Dame Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.