We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive/Shabby/Very Limited Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Notre Dame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Notre Dame to your Saves list
Hotel le Notre Dame
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #249 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Expensive/Shabby/Very Limited Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was nice and clean with a view of the Seine and Notre Dame, but the entry, reception, stairs and elevator are shabby and dirty. It is one star hotel priced beyond its amenities and with no understanding of hospitality. The reception is one floor up from the street- no elevator-- they did not help us move our bags to reception or our rooms. The staff resisted helping with simple problems getting water for tea, opening the in-room safe (broken/passports locked inside). I do not like giving negative reviews but this hotel is a terrible waste of money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest ; we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us ; and we are very surprise to see your that you appreciated us as a 01 star hotel and in the same time happy to see that you find our cleanning service and our location at your expectations ; Concerning the lighting of the entrance and of the hotel is a complet part of the design made by Mr Christian LACROIX ; the stairs are well indicated in all our web pages and as a entier part of a historical building -17th century - ca not be remove.Our staff never "resist"helping clients , maybe it was just a misunderstunding , as you asked just for hot water ; concerning your safe - wich by the way is working well , please remember that it was 2.00am ; when you requested to be opened and our colleque informed you that it can be opend with the emergency procedure during the day times 7am to 7pm ; you insisted , despite the fact that you checked-out at 7-7.15 am ; next mornig ; and he wake up our front office manager to get the security process and he opened you the safe right away , this can not be apreciated as a " no understunding of service and hospitality".Wishing you a Happy New Year - Simona and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    171
    58
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
285
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I wanted so badly to like this hotel. I loved the decor by Christian LaCroix and the staff is super helpful. However, our room on the 2nd floor was so noisy, it felt as if we were out on the street. Every single motorcycle, ambulance or police siren echoed throughout the room, despite the double paned windows, earplugs, pillows over the head and sleeping pills. Yes, the views are amazing, but if you need quiet, this might not do the trick. We also noticed a stale odor as if cigarette smoke from the tourist shop at ground level was wafting up into the room.
We had booked the hotel for 4 nights and ended up leaving after the first. I can't recommend it, sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As others have noted, if proximity to the Seine and Notre Dame are high on your Paris “to-do” list, this property can’t be beat. OK, the rooms are on the small side, but as my traveling partner continually said, “this room is just sooo cozy.” Cozy or not, we did not have a room with a view of Notre Dame; what we did have was a huge flat screen TV which, when turned on, provided a real time view of the cathedral, the traffic, the pedestrians… What a delightfully quirky idea. Most of the front desk staff were friendly and pleasant and didn’t frown at us for not speaking French. Interior design-wise, what at first seemed to be an odd mix of colors turned out to actually work quite well. If you enjoy walking, the hotel’s location is also great for self-guided tours, with an abundance of restaurants and shops and Metro stops nearby. Ask at the front desk about the group of restaurants within a 5-minute walk from the hotel that offer complete meals – appetizer, entrée, and desert – for 10 Euros, total…!!! OK, none of them are Michelin rated but all seem to provide tasty and filling meals. One note: most of the rooms appear to be equipped with tubs and shower heads on a flexible tube (or whatever those are called). I find them hugely inconvenient; if you do, too, an early request for a room with an actual shower or at least a hook above the tub upon which the flexible head can be hung, will save you hours of uncomfortable tub contortions. But there was always plenty of hot water, and, as one reviewer mentioned, each room has individual temperature controls which for us were extraordinarily helpful on some very, very cold nights in early December. All in all, and with the various caveats taken into consideration, the Hotel Notre Dame Saint Michel provided us with a wonderfully memorable visit to the City of Light.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest ; We thank you very much for your complete and nice feedback about our hotel. We are so proud of our new design and the idea of the big flat screens that gives on live the Notre Dame view , so in fact we can say that all our rooms have a view over the Cathedral.We are happy to see that your stay with us leaves you a "wonderfull' memory ; and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in 2013.Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year 2013 // Simona and all the staff of Notre Dame
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during my first visit to Paris for three nights. It was designed by Christian LaCroix! It's quite cool, and very psychedelic in a way. The wallpaper, fabrics, etc, are all mismatched and quirky, like this designs.

It's located in a great area, especially for tourists - it is catty-corner from Notre Dame and on the border of St. Germain and the Latin Quarter. It's also right across the street from the RER line, so you can get here easily with 45 minutes from CDG and 20 minutes from the train station.

There is a small staircase you have to go up to bring your luggage, and a very small elevator to use to get to your room. You are able to store your luggage if you can't check in, or need to leave your luggage if you check out and plan on coming back to pick up your luggage later, for free.

We were able to check in early, and stayed in room 32. I posted a picture here. It overlooks Notre Dame and the Seine. There are also views of a courtyard, which we didn't see. Some might find it loud - I live in a busy area in the Bay Area so I'm used to noise, and it didn't bother me, but, if you're looking for a quiet experience, stay at the courtyard rooms.

Anyway, the staff was friendly and efficient. You leave your key with them when you leave, so don't forget! They do serve breakfast, but, we slept in generally so we missed it. There are lots of restaurants around the area, and it's easy to walk around. And honestly - it never gets old waking up and seeing Notre Dame out the window!

The bed was very comfortable, each room has it's own temperature control (sometimes not the case in Europe), and yes, the rooms are small (no problem for me, as I am a tiny person). I also requested a shower, and it was quite nice and very contemporary. My only complaint is that the complimentary bathroom items appeared to have been used previous, which I just threw in the trash and the cleaning staff left new bottles.

I enjoyed my stay. I probably will stay in a different area next time (closer into St. Germain perhaps), but, I did enjoy it. A wonderful introduction to Paris.

Room Tip: The top floors have short ceilings and might not be good if you're tall. Rooms are small, like m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear SARAH ; Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a complete and precise review about your stay in our hotel.It is nice to see that you appreciate our "Christian LACROIX" design that gives to our hotel a special atmosphere.Our location in the center of Paris; on a major street ; indeed can be noisy , but it gives you a very easy acces to major Parisian museums and attractions , so for a first discover of Paris it is so convenient.Many regrets for the iconvenience you had with the toilletries , the maid cleaning up you room promised us that it was "the first and last time hapenning".We all here hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon ; and we wish you A Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year 2013.Simona and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice on back-to-back occassions on arriving and returning to Paris. The first occassion, for two nights, was in a confortable room with a newer bathroom on the third floor. The primary compliant for this room was that the shower drain was giving off a strong odor. We contacted the hotel and managed to temporarily resolve the issue by placing a wet towel over the drain, but there was certainly gas coming back from the plumbing in this location. I would consider this experience somewhat less than satisfactory.

On our return, we were given a corner room on the fifth floor which was equally comfortable and, thankfully, lacked the odor problems in the prior room. The room has a somewhat odd shower which can be difficult to navigate, but the location, feel, and views made up for this quirk.

We consider this a good hotel in a good location at a reasonable price and, aside from a possible refresh of the public space finishes, is a good place to stay in Paris.

Room Tip: The room series "x2" is on the corner of the building and, though having a somewhat odd sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest ; Many thanks for your feedback about your stay with us, it is nice to see that you find our hotel "a good place to stay".Indeed we have a unbeatable position to visit Paris with easy access to the major touristic atractions.We regret the inconvenience you mentioned that as you said we tried to fix it as soon as posible ; and we hope this will not prevent you from giving us a new visit in the very next future.Best regards and looking forward to welcome you very soon.Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Bob and I stayed at Hotel le Notre Dame for 4 nights, a couple of friends recommended staying, they had so enjoyed thier stay, they were right, excellent, comfortable, and the wonderful friendly staff at the front dress could not have been more attentive with their warm and kind attention, we felt more like their friends than their guests. Niether of us speek french, that was no problem, the delightful staff spoke amazing english. The train conection are right across the street or around the corner, What could be better than to have Notre Dame right outside your hotel room. The area is crammed with places to eat, and Paris is right outside the door to explore and we did.
Thank you to all the people at Hotel le Notre Dame for making out first visit to Paris so memorable. Roger

Room Tip: Ask friends and family where they stayed, and take their advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Roger ; It is such a pleasure to read your comment ; We are so glad to see that our staff gives you satisfaction , we are always trying to provide the best to our clients ; and it is so nice when is appreciated. It will be a great pleasure to have you again with us ,next time do not hesitate to call us directly at the hotel ; and we will take good care of your booking.Best Regards and as we say in french "Au revoir" - see you very soon.Warms Regards.Simona&the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great stay for two nights at this hotel, based on the edge of the Latin Quarter. 30 second walk from the RER station great if landed at CDG Airport. 2 minutes to nearest metro station, 5 minute walk to a right bank metro. Hundreds of restaurants, cafes and bars with the nearest located next door. I had emailed ahead and we arrived at 10am todrop off our bags to explore the city until our room was ready which was perfect for us. Excellent base in which to explore Paris by day and have great places to eat and drnk by night. Room was comfortable, very nicely decorated and had an amazing view, my only comment would be shame Notre Dame not lit up at night but that isnt down to the hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 42, a corner room high enough for a good view and not much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest ; Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback about your stay in our proprety.It is a pleasure to see that everything went well ; and that you return back home with a nice souvenir about your short parisian holiday.We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon ; and that time you will see Notre Dame " shining" - the works that you saw in front of it are for the big celebrations for the 850 anniversary of the Cathedral starting this December.Best Regards Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Notre Dame

Address: 1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#154 Family Hotel in Paris
#186 Business Hotel in Paris
#229 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Notre Dame 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Notre Dame Paris
Le Notre Dame Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Notre Dame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.