We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Design de la Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 1,790 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Design. It met all of our needs, at a reasonable price. It is clean, centrally located to sights and the metro, the staff is friendly and helpful, and there is air conditioning. Just around the corner is a little square with restaurants and a tabac, all of which we used. Breakfast was not included (but can be purchased) so we bought croissants, fruit, and juice and ate in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    469
    106
    28
    14
See reviews for
95
616
86
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is located on a quiet street opposite the Sorbonne, and easy 10-minute walk from either the Odeon or the Cluny - La Sorbonne metro stations. Even though the hotel was on a small street, the area felt safe as there are restaurants nearby.

Even though our room was small, it was clean and the design was modern and functional, so we felt comfortable.

As mentioned in other reviews, the lift had room for two large suitcases and one person, so we opted to take the stairs when not carrying luggage.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights. We had one of the queen deluxe rooms and were pleased with the size of the room. It wasn't huge, but believe me, I've stayed in much smaller rooms. The staff were friendly. The hotel is very conveniently located. I was initially surprised that they have guests cook their own eggs at breakfast (unless you want them boiled), but after the initial surprise wore off, I enjoyed it. That way, you know you get them the way you like them. My only complaint would be that the staircase is a spiral staircase, which I don't like in general, and that the elevator is so small and slow that it's not a practical alternative. I would definitely be willing to stay there again if I return to Paris.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I originally booked this hotel for a January trip but had to postpone and even though my reservation was supposed to be non-refundable, they were extremely gracious by allowing me to use the entire credit towards my rescheduled visit.

I was warmly greeted on arrival and every staff member I came into contact with was friendly, even the late night clerk. The room was small but typical of central Paris and very clean and stylish. Bathroom was very small with a miniature sink and shower but the water pressure was great. I had a great view of the Sorbonne across the street. The mac computer/TV is great if you don't travel with a laptop.

The only negative was that 1 day I needed to return to the room at 3pm to do some work and my room hadn't been cleaned. By the time I left the room again, the housekeeper had left for the day. Not really a big deal for me but may be for others.

They offer half price breakfast on your first morning which I took advantage of & it was above average in quality and choice. They had mini frying pans where you could cook your own eggs and also had an attendant use the same pans to make crepes as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice hotel with nicely furnished rooms. Rooms are kind of small but from what I understand is par for the course.

Didn't like the breakfast and internet was very slow but service was good and room was very clean albeit small.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne. We got an upgraded room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the Sorbonne. The windows opened wide, allowing for fresh air and a clearer view of the tarp-covered Pantheon (under construction). Noise was not a problem at all, and the curtains completely blocked the sun, allowing for a good night's sleep. Be aware that the elevator is small--it holds 2-3 with no luggage, so be ready for a tight squeeze or to climb the stairs to your room.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and all spoke great English. We got to the hotel almost 4 hours early and they will willing and able to accommodate an early check in (we did give them previous notice that we would be arriving early, but did not expect that they would be able to get us into a room so quickly).

We booked through Facebook and therefore got a good rate with breakfast included. The breakfast was wonderful. You could either have food cooked to order or select from a small buffet. We had crepes, cereal, cheese, meats, yogurt, baked goods, and eggs available every morning.

The room, and especially the bathroom, was tiny. However, it was clean, very modern and well appointed with a desktop computer/TV (and free wi-fi for laptops). Our bed was comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room nice and cool. And the water pressure in the shower was excellent; however, the shower knob placement was less than ideal, as I consistently accidentally knocked it to scalding hot every time I lathered up. That said, a great bonus was that the shower was COMPLETELY enclosed rather than a half glass wall. The toilet was situated in a small niche that would be a tight squeeze for larger people, but it worked fine for us. The bathroom did have a bit of a mildew-like smell, but it went away if you left the bathroom door open when not in use.

The hotel location was wonderful for us--right around the corner from Luxembourg Gardens and the Pantheon and a 10-15 minute walk to Notre Dame. The 5th can be quite touristy, but the hotel is tucked away a bit in a non-touristy space. There are restaurants, shops, and a number of metro stations within easy walking distance.

I would give this hotel 4.5 stars if possible, but the small room size (fairly common in France from what I understand) keeps it from being a 5. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this hotel without reservations.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 53. It was small, but it had a wonderful view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We greatly enjoyed this place right across alley from Sorbonne and within a short walk of countless restaurants, Luxembourg Gardens, Pantheon, Notre Dame, etc. Kind and helpful service. Excellent breakfast. Rooms were small but well appointed--the two adjoining rooms worked out well for our family of four. Also liked the art in the halls--nice touch. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#119 of 1,790 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Quartier Latin
BEST WESTERN Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#78 of 1,790 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#301 of 1,790 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#575 of 1,790 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#639 of 1,790 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design de la Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in Paris
#262 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#340 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design de la Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Design de la Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.