We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Design de la Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location - Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here about a year ago for our honeymoon. The location was great. You are walking distance to the metro system and a lot of nice restaurants in all price ranges. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The one thing that prevented this from being a 5 star review was the first room we stayed in had a bit of a water problem as water was draining from the shower to the carpeted room. The staff found us another room and it was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    428
    96
    26
    13
See reviews for
84
548
79
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel!
The staff are very friendly and speak perfect English. The rooms are very modern with great air con, full black out curtains and an Apple Mac/television. It was a great location and they even have loads of umbrellas they let you borrow on a rainy day! The only draw back was the breakfast, which I don't think was worth the full price when you can get more at the nearby cafés for less. Overall we had a fantastic time though and have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a great spot, quiet but fairly central, well-served by cafes and restaurants, just around the corner from the lively, picturesque Place de la Sorbonne. Tiny room, yes, but good bed, bath, and linens, and the Mac a big plus. It served its main purpose very well. Staff were mostly helpful, though the person who greeted me on an early arrival wasn't. No welcome, no offer of a cup of coffee or a place to wash up after a night flight, which I've had at other places. Also recommended a restaurant that was closed, and advised against using the very convenient RER, which I never figured out. Unlike some small hotels, this is clearly not owner-operated. As for the "design" aspect, well, come back in three or four years and see if it's stood the test of time.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor across a courtyard from the office. Absolutely quiet and quite dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Based on previous trips to Paris, I was certain I wanted to stay in the left bank close to St Germaine des Pre area. The hotel was situated in the perfect location to suit my needs, was easy to get to and find. The staff were absolutely accommodating and provided excellent service. Would definitely recommend to future Paris patrons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and it is generally quiet, although you can hear loud guests in the adjacent rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the computer system in the room and they took care of immediately after we let them know there was a problem. The rooms were renovated and clean.

Yes, the rooms are small, but it is Paris, get over it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Design Hotel for 4 nights. We 'liked' the hotel on Facebook and were able to get a discounted rate with free breakfast included. The room was facing the Sorbonne University and we were on the fifth floor which was lovely and quiet. The room was small but everything was well laid out. The ensuite was very small and a larger person would struggle but we coped fine. Breakfast was a selection of breads and croissants, fresh juice and coffee, cereals, eggs, freshly made crepes and some meats and cheeses. It was a very nice start to the day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and special mention to the cook who made us fresh crepes every day. The hotel recommended Place de la Contrescarpe which had great cafes and restaurants at a reasonable price. The hotel was 5 mins walk from Luxembourg train station. I would highly recommend this hotel for its great location, lovely staff and well designed rooms.

Room Tip: Use facebook to get a discounted rate and free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a 24 hour layover in Paris between leaving Turkey and returning to the US. This hotel was the best I could find price & location-wise under such short notice. The location was great, we could literally walk anywhere in the city), the room and bathroom were clean, brightly decorated, the staff was helpful, the bed was very comfortable, I think there's an iMac in every guestroom. It was all we could ask for an overnight in Paris. Would definitely stay there or at one of their sister hotels again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the Sorbonne - beautiful architecture to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Design de la Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#252 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#300 Family Hotel in Paris
#300 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design de la Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AvailPro, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Design de la Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.