We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Little" Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Design de la Sorbonne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great "Little" Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this little gem of a hotel in May with my daughter to cap-off her semester abroad. I wanted to be in a great neighborhood (across the street from the Sorbonne) with a chic decor and I certainly got both. The location is terrific -- within walking distance to many sites, close to the metro and wonderful restaurants and truly "french" neighborhoods.

Though the rooms, hallways, were designed beautifully, they were "tiny" even by Parisian standards. It was o.k. for two small women with small suitcases. Had I been here with my husband, he would have had a tough time fitting in the bathroom and sleeping on such a small bed.

That said, the staff couldn't have been nicer and we really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely return with my daughter. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    413
    93
    26
    13
See reviews for
82
524
77
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne for our first trip to Paris and we really liked it. The location is perfect, in a cool neighborhood and close to everything. We took the RER from CDG and made it to the hotel quickly and easily. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The room we had was nice and had a big window that opened out to view the Sorbonne across the street. We had breakfast at the hotel once and it was pretty good. I would definitely consider staying here again or at one of the other Hotels Paris Rive Gauche.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May and found our room to be clean and smartly decorated. The room had a safe, hair dryer and an iMac (which we loved), as well as free wifi. The bathroom was very small but clean and functionable and certainly no smaller than other hotels/apartments I have stayed in when in Paris (no bath though). The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful and available 24 hours a day. The hotel serves breakfast but we didn't eat in as we prefer to eat out. The location of the hotel is good: it is on a quiet street but only a five minute walk to Cluny-La Sorbonne station or to the cafes and shops on bd Saint Germain. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de la Sorbonne for our first trip to Paris and it couldn't be a better choice! Everything was great - the staff, the room, breakfast... The spot is just perfect, full of nice restaurants around. We just loved it and will definitely go back as soon as possible!

Estivemos nesse hotel na nossa primeira viagem a Paris e foi tudo maravilhoso - a melhor escolha possível! Tudo foi ótimo - a equipe, o quarto, o café da manhã... A localização é perfeita - praticamente no meio da praça da Sorbonne - cheia de bons restaurantes em volta. Amamos e com certeza voltaremos assim que possível!

Room Tip: We booked the Deluxe room with bathtub - it helped a lot after all the walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was such a nice hotel! I loved the decor, especially the fabric wallpaper! It was so exciting when we arrived, this hotel is such a gem! We had booked the Classic Room and were a little concerned at how small it would be, but it was big enough to swing a cat and suited us just fine! Everything has been really well thought out, and the use of space is very clever. The bathroom was quite small, you would perhaps struggle if you were a little overweight but it was fine for us. Having a mac in the rooms is genius, it meant we could check opening times of galleries, find restaurants and check out tour prices with minimal time and effort. I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff were lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne last week, on our honeymoon. We unfortunately were only able to stay two nights, but we were really pleased with the choice that we made. The staff were very friendly, efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. They upgraded us to a superior room, because it was our honeymoon, which was nice and appreciated. The location was excellent for us: far from the madding crowd that is Paris, but easy to get to lovely places to visit, drink and eat. The rooms were clean, had pretty well everything you could want, and the wi-fi and computer access very useful....particularly to find places to eat on trip advisor! No complaints, just thank you, and we would certainly choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get married ! (so you can have a superior room :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I took my partner and two friends to Paris to celebrate his 40th birthday. We wanted a hotel in the 5/6th and the Design De la Sorbonne was a great location. We booked on Room only basis as I think it’s far nicer to start the day at a sunny pavement cafe when in Paris. Quirky and glamorous interior, (love the staircase) and for Paris, quite good size rooms with free wi-fi. A great little cafe round the corner for breakfast too. Very helpful reception staff and all in all, a lovely birthday weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Design de la Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#252 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
#261 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design de la Sorbonne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Design de la Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.