We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Design Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Design Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #331 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was such a nice hotel! I loved the decor, especially the fabric wallpaper! It was so exciting when we arrived, this hotel is such a gem! We had booked the Classic Room and were a little concerned at how small it would be, but it was big enough to swing a cat and suited us just fine! Everything has been really well thought out, and the use of space is very clever. The bathroom was quite small, you would perhaps struggle if you were a little overweight but it was fine for us. Having a mac in the rooms is genius, it meant we could check opening times of galleries, find restaurants and check out tour prices with minimal time and effort. I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff were lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne last week, on our honeymoon. We unfortunately were only able to stay two nights, but we were really pleased with the choice that we made. The staff were very friendly, efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. They upgraded us to a superior room, because it was our honeymoon, which was nice and appreciated. The location was excellent for us: far from the madding crowd that is Paris, but easy to get to lovely places to visit, drink and eat. The rooms were clean, had pretty well everything you could want, and the wi-fi and computer access very useful....particularly to find places to eat on trip advisor! No complaints, just thank you, and we would certainly choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get married ! (so you can have a superior room :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonF_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I took my partner and two friends to Paris to celebrate his 40th birthday. We wanted a hotel in the 5/6th and the Design De la Sorbonne was a great location. We booked on Room only basis as I think it’s far nicer to start the day at a sunny pavement cafe when in Paris. Quirky and glamorous interior, (love the staircase) and for Paris, quite good size rooms with free wi-fi. A great little cafe round the corner for breakfast too. Very helpful reception staff and all in all, a lovely birthday weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This neat hotel is lovely. So modern. Friendly staff with 24 hour reception. We arrived at 11.45pm on the late train. Good wifi. Breakfast on request in a quaint dining room. Creeps were delicious. This location is super. Opposite the University and a block from St Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel more highly. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and our room was lovely. Computer access in the room was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. It is the perfect location for a stay in Paris - walking distance from numerous cafes, bars and restaurants and many of the main sights - however our room was quiet and we didn't hear any street noise. The fact that it is a short walk from the RER is an added bonus (direct train - Line B - from the airport). We will definitely stay there when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent a week-end here with a friend and was happy about this hotel. The location is perfect: literally in front of La Sorbonne, close to metro and RER station (excellent if arriving from the airport), walking distance from Notre Dame, Rue de Rivoli and just in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The reception and the rooms are well designed and each room has a mac computer ith free internet access. Wifi is also free. Unfortunately, the rooms and especially the bathrooms are tiny: definitely a place to avoid if you have kids! The lift was also tiny: ask for a room downstairs if you have any problems with small spaces as one person hardly fits in it! Overall: good hotel for a solo traveller or a couple

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnamonfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#126 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#510 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Quartier Latin
BEST WESTERN Le Jardin de Cluny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#97 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#303 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#253 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#315 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing