We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Design de la Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Rondebosch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This neat hotel is lovely. So modern. Friendly staff with 24 hour reception. We arrived at 11.45pm on the late train. Good wifi. Breakfast on request in a quaint dining room. Creeps were delicious. This location is super. Opposite the University and a block from St Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    416
    93
    26
    13
See reviews for
83
526
77
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel more highly. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and our room was lovely. Computer access in the room was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. It is the perfect location for a stay in Paris - walking distance from numerous cafes, bars and restaurants and many of the main sights - however our room was quiet and we didn't hear any street noise. The fact that it is a short walk from the RER is an added bonus (direct train - Line B - from the airport). We will definitely stay there when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent a week-end here with a friend and was happy about this hotel. The location is perfect: literally in front of La Sorbonne, close to metro and RER station (excellent if arriving from the airport), walking distance from Notre Dame, Rue de Rivoli and just in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The reception and the rooms are well designed and each room has a mac computer ith free internet access. Wifi is also free. Unfortunately, the rooms and especially the bathrooms are tiny: definitely a place to avoid if you have kids! The lift was also tiny: ask for a room downstairs if you have any problems with small spaces as one person hardly fits in it! Overall: good hotel for a solo traveller or a couple

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely Fabulous! My partner and I stayed in Hotel Design Sorbonne for 3 nights and I heartily recommend it. Everything about this hotel works from it’s location opposite the Sorbonne, to the helpful and courteous staff to the aesthetic of the beautifully styled rooms. Located on Paris’s left bank, the hotel is just around the corner from Jardin de Luxembourg. It’s close to Notre Dame and Pantheon and both the metro and RER are nearby.

While the rooms are small but comfortable, the décor runs along modern clean lines, it’s a boutique hotel, beautifully styled and an apple mac was provided in the room. Tea/coffee making facilities were not provided in our room but we asked for a courtesy tray and one was provided. The useful addition of free wi-fi negated us having to input long codes to search the web and, importantly for those travelling alone or on a first trip to Paris, reception was staffed 24 hours a day.

The biggest selling point of Hotel Design Sorbonne is the staff. They were helpful and friendly, and the absence of homophobia and racism (unfortunately still an issue in the 21st century) greatly enhanced the quality of our stay. The staff treated us with professionalism and courtesy at all times and were able to communicate in flawless English.

In a nutshell, this hotel was small but perfectly formed. We travelled as a couple, but for those travelling alone or unfamiliar with Paris, both the hotel and the surrounding area felt very safe and it provided us with an excellent base for exploring the city.
If I were returning to Paris, Hotel Design Sorbonne would be my first stop and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, celebrating springtime in this wonderful city. The location of this hotel is really fantastic, close to Notre Dame and Pantheon. A few metro stations are nearby, RER station is also very near, useful for going to the airport and back. We had the deluxe double room, which is spacious for Paris standards. Breakfast is pretty solid. The staff is very, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The regular double room is quite small. "Small" in Paris means tiny anywhere else. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in April. We took the metro from the airport to the hotel but it was a little difficult to find once off the metro as all of our maps didnt actually have the road on! We got there eventually, and were pleased to find that our room was ready for us to check in (despite our early arrival at 11.00am).
The room and bathroom was small - but what we expected with it being central Paris. We were so busy that we hardly spent anytime in the room so it did not matter to us. Decor was very boutique and the addition of the apple mac in the room was great. We found it really useful as we were able to check google maps or find places to eat on the net.
There was plenty of closet space for our short stay and our room (47) looked out over the courtyard - this meant there was NO noise at all!
The location of the hotel was great too. Just a couple of minutes walk from Luxembourg metro. Though most of the time we walked everywhere. There are plenty of cafe's and restaurants around to either get a coffee/beer/meal/croissant - anything really! We wondered whether it would be a bit 'studenty' being so close to Sorbonne University - but it was fine. Very french and not hugely touristy which is why we loved the area so much.
We would definately reccomend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Design de la Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#253 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#261 Business Hotel in Paris
#270 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design de la Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Design de la Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.