We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Design de la Sorbonne to your Saves list
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A lovely hotel, perfectly situated in the latin quarter. Our room (#26) was perfectly fine in size for the two of us. I was traveling with my 18 year old daughter and we both really enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful with directions to the hotel from our metro station prior to our arrival as well as directions and suggestions to city highlights once we arrived. The room was very clean and quiet. There were people staying next to us but we really couldn't hear them unless they were leaving their room. We didn't spend much time at the hotel but it was very convenient and all of our interactions with the staff were positive. I would recommend the Design de la Sorbonne to anyone looking for a clean, quiet and charming hotel that is conveniently located in a lovely neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    449
    102
    27
    14
See reviews for
87
590
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room size is small, as expected, but it's clean and confortable. It has free wi-fi, what is not so common in Paris. It also has air conditioning (until october 14th), what is even more uncommon in Paris and we've used a lot.

The bedroom downside is that it's too dark (really!) and has no fridge. But it's confortable enough to be pleasant to comeback to hotel and have a rest after a long walk, for instance.

We were on room 2, which is located at ground level, other side of the small courtyard. I was worried about noise, but it was one of the most quiet places I've ever been.

The bathroom is really small, mainly the sink, it has no space for your bathroom acessories like womans makeup, deodorants, etc.

The highest point of this hotel is the Staff. It goes opposite to everything you have heard about parisians. They are extremely friendly and helpful. They make you feel at home, really.

The location is also good, about 5 mins walking to Cluny subway station and very close to boulevard St Michel.

We only got breakfast on hotel on our last morning and we were a little disapointed. It's much more expansive then close cafés but with less quality, the croissant, for instance, it's not delicious as in the cafés nearby.

I recommend this hotel and probably I'll be there again when I came back to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, clean, comfy and quiet. We had one of the rooms at the back which looked out on the interior courtyard so it was lovely and peaceful.
Only drawback was the room was tiny. The shower cubicle and sink were miniscule, if you are over 6ft tall or larger than average then you might struggle. We paid extra for a superior room thinking it might be a bit roomier. I think next time we would make sure we had a room with a bath and shower.
The Staff were very charming and helpful and this really made the difference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 2x, once for a romantic weekend, the other time with teenage kids and I have positive experiences both times. The rooms were very nicely appointed, particularly the ones at the top floor which have a great view from the skylights of the Pantheon. The location is terrific since you can take the RER from CDG and stop at Luxembourg then walk in <5 min to the hotel. The hotel is just across from the entrance to La Sorbonne and the small street is quiet at night, unlike some spots in the area.
The room is very artistic and eclectic as befits the hotels name. The elevator is tiny so it is not easy to take more than one person and their baggage at a time. Mostly we walked to the top floor rooms as a way of walking off all the nice food we ate during the day! Each room has a Mac computer which serves as the TV and internet access point.
Breakfast was good with the possibility to make small crepes with authentic maple syrup. The room is quite tiny so we elected to eat early before it got crowded.
Overall the location, quality of the furnishings and comfort make this a good choice. Finding a reasonably priced hotel in Paris is not simple and this hotel is not particularly cheap, but it provides a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor are excellent and you can get a discounted price if you book early and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked a 'design deluxe bath' at this hotel at almost half the rack rate on their website which cost €184. Still pretty pricey I think! The reception was tiny and opressive with ridiculous green lighting. Check in was good but we weren't given a twin room as requested so they had to send someone to make the bed up into a twin. Lift miniscule. When we entered our room (no.44) there was a horrible smell and it was tiny (for the price!!) and with really dark decor. The bad smell continued in to the bathroom as well. So thank goodness there was a big window to open and let some air in and by the time we came back it had finally improved. This could get too long so to summarise:

Pro's
Good location (although surrounded by copy shops and the classrooms of the sorbonne are only a stones through away right across from the window)
Nice welcome
Really dark room for sleeping and quiet too.
Comfy bed and pillow

Cons:
Smelly room
Tiny (for the price!), dark room
'atmospheric' lighting in bathroom (only two spotlights and not one over the bath/shower)
'atmospheric' lighting in the room so the reading lights weren't strong enough to read by
Inadequate toiletries - only soap and a generic 'hair/shower' wash. No separate shampoo, shower gel, body lotion etc
Crispy cheap loo roll
Make up stain on robe and a broken loop
Battered 'no smoking sign' next to bed
Tired looking furniture with chips and marks out of the paintwork
Lack of drawers/storage space
Broken expelair in bathroom

We pre booked a 'buffet' breakfast (€11 instead of the standard €13), but don't be fooled, it wasn't a true buffet they offer, they ask you what you want and bring it from the kitchen. And you felt awkward asking for more juice for example. Heaven forbid should you want a second croissant.

In a nutshell, for the price this hotel really lacked the little touches which make a hotel great. It wasn't cheap at the discounted price I paid and I was really disappointed. I'd thoroughly recommend the Splendid Etoile which was excellent - now that's how it should be done. (see my other review from April 2012). The only reason we didn't stay there again is because we were in Paris for one night only and couldn't afford the Splendid Etoile (which we got on a great 3 nights for the price of 2 deal through Cresta.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelasorbonne, Directeur général at Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ilovethatbag,

We are always happy to receive feedback and would like to thank you for having taken so much time to share your experience. Unfortunately, it seems that the charm of our hotel did not reach you in any way. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with and found some aspects disagreeable. We could have remedied these during your stay, and avoided receiving this review later, if only you had said something while you were with us. Our reception staff is present to handle any requests 24 hours a day, and happy to do so!

As you must have seen, a large variety of different products are available at breakfast. Did you test our homemade cake, freshly-cooked crepes or organic muesli? And of course, our staff is more than happy to bring more orange juice or rolls - there is absolutely no reason to feel awkward when asking! It’s just that certain items are prepared and stored in the kitchen, whereas others are available for you to serve yourself from the buffet.

As for the ambiance of the area, the Left Bank is steeped in history, and situated right in the heart of Paris. It’s unfortunate you didn’t seem to appreciate the location.

At least you did get the best possible price by booking directly on our website (which is where we guarantee the lowest prices and best offers). If you do ever decide to come back and stay with us, please contact me directly and give the Hotel Design Sorbonne a chance to prove that we aim to please all our guests, even the most demanding.

Kind regards


David GERMAIN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I laughed at reviews prior to our trip to France when anyone complained about "tiny rooms" but that was before we got to Hotel Sorbonne! We liked the hotel just fine, the location was good and close to St. Germaine du Pres which had some really good bars and restaurants.....the rooms though were so small we couldn't open both suitcases at the same time. The bathroom was the tightest I've ever experienced - if you're a larger than average person, skip this hotel as you'll be pretty uncomfortable. I understand it's Paris and room generally are small, but this felt extra tight to me personally. Staff was great and friendly. Fairly close to metros.

Room Tip: I didn't see the junior suites but I would opt for one to be more comfortable & get a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelasorbonne, Directeur général at Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear HMSnewjersey,

Many thanks for taking time sharing your trip to Paris. We do have several types of rooms, and if you are looking for more comfort we advise our guests to book a Design Deluxe rooms. Should you need to have more space we can also store your empty suitcases, to allow you to use all the available space in your room. And don’t forget that our best deals are always on our website, where booking in advance can give you a huge reduction on the room rate. Our staff is available 24 hours a day to respond any requests you may have.

We hope to have yourstay again soon in one of our Design Deluxe rooms.

Kind regards


David GERMAIN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent three nights here and had a pleasant stay. The desk staff was mostly friendly and helpful in recommending markets and boulangeries. These are unique rooms, but quite small. Even smaller bathrooms and virtually no closet space whatsoever. All of this was pretty much to be expected, just not at the price for value. It's been a while since I was in Paris, but I feel like I received the least bang for my buck throughout this trip at this hotel.

The location is great. We walked whenever we could, and when we couldn't, there was a bus on the next block. There are alot of people around the school during the day, but the area is quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelasorbonne, Directeur général at Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Richard L,

Many thanks for your comments. High season in Paris is always very expensive. The good news is that you can always get a good deal by reserving in advance through our website, allowing you to get a larger room, such as our Design Deluxe rooms. We hope to have you back to visit soon.

Kind regards


David GERMAIN
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Design de la Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design de la Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#249 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#273 Business Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design de la Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, AvailPro and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Design de la Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Design de la Sorbonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.