We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, decent rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boileau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boileau to your Saves list
Hotel Boileau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 rue Boileau | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France (Passy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #829 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, decent rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Old rooms with loud alley way the woke us up every night.

However, I lost my wedding ring down the drain and the hotel clerk retrieved it like it was not a big issue. I offered a tip and he refused, saying it was his job to help.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the alley way, there are people going in/out all night and playing music/talkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
26
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed here for three nights as a solo traveller in June 2011. I had a room in the back on the third floor -- no lift, so getting my big back up the curvy staircase required some heft, but the room itself was perfectly fine: small, but clean, with good light and a comfortable bed. The Boileau is in the 16th -- close to a Metro stop, but about a 30-minute ride to central Paris, so if you're looking to be in the heart of the action, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you want (as I did) a safe, quiet, relatively inexpensive place to shower and sleep while you explore Paris, the Boileau is perfectly fine. It's well-located for a daytrip to Versailles -- the RER stop is only 15 minutes away by foot, and then Versailles is an easy 20-minute train ride. My experiences with the staff were mixed: the day staff seemed determined to converse as little as possible, but the overnight staff were friendly and helpful and reserved a taxi for me the morning of my departure. Free wifi worked well and was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The Boileau is OK. Nothing outstanding or flash but simply a functional place to stay without breaking the bank. It is perfect no frills accommodation for a weekend in Paris. The shower is OK too.

I can recommend it if you need a cost effective place to stay and you are going to be out and about all the time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Boileau for a long weekend in November. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet side road not far from Porte de St Cloud and a 20 minutes bus ride to the centre of town. Prices were Euro 120 for the room, but jumped to Euro 150 for the Saturday night. We thought this a bit pricey, especially for the time of year. We never tried breakfast, eating instead at the excellent Restaurant Cardinale on Porte de St Cloud, great food and atmosphere whatever time of day you eat. The hotel is essentially 'clean' and the service friendly - the desk staff are always willing to help and are welcoming at all times. So good marks for service and location. Given this is only a 2 star hotel, it's no surprise the room was small. However, this was not helped by dingy wallpaper, a truly dingy brown carpet, both walls and carpet being heavily marked and stained. When I say the room and bathroom were 'clean', they certainly smelled 'clean', the room being serviced every day, just reconcile yourself to a history of old marks left behind by previous customers. Bathroom was adequate, however the bath was tiny and the shower a complete joke - all contributing perhaps to the 2 star rating. Beds were commensurate with the room - small, and not particularly comfortable. Overall, a moderately ok stay, but not one we are going to repeat or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Our room in this two star hotel for five days was on the second floor, at the rear of the hotel and a large window looked down onto a small space between buildings with small trees. Two singles pushed together to form a large bed (which we prefer anyway); room fitted with a large wardrobe with shelves, and hanging space, two bedside tables and a combination glass topped large desk and luggage rack. The room was quite airy with windows open and blissfully quiet, at times during the day the sun shone in. (Yes we slept at odd hours getting over jetlag!). The bathroom was fitted with a bidet (does anyone use these things?) a toilet, and handbasin and shower with shower curtain arrangement over a large deep bath. Breakfast was Euro9, and very enjoyable looking onto a pleasant plant filled atrium. Huge pots of coffee and jug of frothy hot milk, pastries, bread, jams, cereal, fruit, and cheeses, Presided over by a bubbly, very efficient Madame was a perfect start to a busy day sightseeing. The Hotel is located in a residential area, and we found it easy to access by using the RER to Boulevard Victor, walking over the Pont Garigliano to Rue Boileau. We travel light with only one piece of baggage each , so found no difficulty using this route. A small Supermarket is located nearby and many Restaurants in the area and more nearby near Porte De St Cloud. There was a computer for internet access in the lobby, however pathetically slow when it was working.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Had taken my partner for his 40th birthday and relied upon the tripadvisor reviews...was not dissappointed. We had a lovely 3 night stay and the room, although small, was very clean and comfortable. It was a 45 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower, so we did a lot of walking but worth the experience of seeing much of the 'real' Paris. There is a fantasic market just a street away and many restaurants and shops too...the hotel was set in a quiet street and did not feel intimidating at all. Could not fault the helpfulness of the staff and found the hotel to be very charming, would recommend highly and would rate higher that the 2 star it is. Hope to visit again. Only one slight negative, I found the breakfast pricey for what you got - 9 euros for juice, cereal and a croissant. Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed for a weekend solo trip, very late check in, no problem!

Flat TV with cable, good heating, clean room, hot water!

Got the basics straight. About 5 minute walk to Metro Station at Exelmans

Highly recommended for a budget trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boileau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boileau

Address: 81 rue Boileau | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #829 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boileau 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the elegant 16th district of Paris, the Boileau Hotel, classified among the charming hotels in Paris, offers you charm, comfort and calm.The rooms, all different and decorated with a large variety of styles, will welcome you throughout the year for a nice and pleasant stay.With its family spirit, you will enjoy a breakfast around the flowered patio, or a drink with friends near the bar.Close to places of touristic, professional or leisure interest, like the Trocadero and the Tour Eiffel, the Exhibition Center of the Porte de Versailles, or the Stadium of Roland Garros, the Hotel Boileau, will become the ideal stop for your stay in Paris.Bar, reception 24h/24h, parking possible upon reservation, safety boxes, public parking & restaurants near by, free and unlimited WIFI access in the hotel and in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boileau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boileau Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boileau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.