We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte to your Saves list
Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1 rue Johnson | Maisons-Laffitte, 78600 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Ok so I'm writing this from the point of view of a couple who got the 4 night deal through 'the sun' for about £60. We stayed with keycamp who were so helpful. We got lost on our way from Disney (which we went to first) and we were so happy to find that htey had left our key in the caravan unlocked so we didn't have to sleep in the car that night!

Also we were idiots and when we misunderstood the map and ended up in the wrong caravan they were still so polite the next morning even though it was someone elses caravan we had slept in!

It is a ten min walk (through a very french area!) to the train station, which takes about 20 mins to central paris BUT around 40 to disney, also because of the exchange rate it worked out so expensive. my advice, 5* if you've got it through the sun or want to explore paris.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    25
    24
    8
See reviews for
78
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

The campsite is situated on an island in the river Seine, in pretty suburb of Paris. It is a 10 minute walk away from the train station which takes 15 mins to get to the centre.

The tent pitches are round the edge of the campsite. I would advise to ask for a pitch beside the narrower stretch of the Seine, as the wider part can get noisy with barges passing.

The camp site shop is expensive but has the essentials. You will need to take your own toilet roll as they don't provide it. The showers were cold as well. However, there are a few toliet/shower blocks so you don't have far to walk.

Overall, I think the campsite is great. It is very picturesque and provides an ideal base for exploring Paris.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Visited Camping International over the half term holiday just before the campsirte closed for winter. Used Keycamp, the caravan was clean and well presented - especially to say it was the very end of the season. Having stayed on many French campsites this is not one of the best. Very outdated and basic facilities. That said we have not intended to spend any time on the site or Maisons Laffitte. Not putting time aside to explore the town was a great shame. There is a loveley chateau, racecourse and nice shops and resturants. I'd definately use this town again as a base for Paris.
Took the RER into Paris which added to the excitement for children. Easy and direct journey.
Drove to Disney which is a good hour away although easy to follow directions if you're happy driving in Paris.
If you are purely visiting Disney then I would recommend staying closer or one of the Disney hotels, however if you are wanting to do a French town, Paris and Disney this is a great option.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights on way home from month camping around East Europe with 3 young children. The site has the appearance of a 1970s holiday camp but it is fully functional for a short stay in a city. It is on an island on the Seine on the edge of a lovely small town - worth a walk around (Mansion and the Hippodrome). Small supermarket on site good for getting bread in the morning. The staff at reception were very helpful (lots of tourist leaflets) and when we were there a man from the SNCF had info and leaflets on trains to Paris and Versailles. The site is ideally located for sightseeing around Paris and its environs. There is some noise from the railway bridge visible from the site. There was plenty of different nationalities on site and a mixture of tents and campers. We didn't see many children on site when we were there - but we were out for most of the time - coming home at 11pmish!

This is not a site we would recommend for a long stay site but we will go back again when we are in Paris - ideal for short stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We visited this site due to it's convenience for Paris,but were very dissapointed with the general standard of the site.Be prepaired for a lot of noise from the near by railway and also airplanes on final approach to the airport.The size of pitch is very small and have no privacy from neighbours.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Well run site with reasonable sized (for France) pitches. Free showers and toilets OK but not especially clean (bring own toilet paper, be careful not to slip on wet floor). Overall impression - OK for a couple of nights but wouldn't want to spend our whole holiday there.

Main advantage of this site - it is a superb base for exploring central Paris. Ten minute walk to mainline station and then 15 minute train ride to central Paris at approx. cost of 8-9 Euros per person.

Main disadvantage - it was close to a major rail line and trains ran throughout the night. This made it very noisy and difficult for 2 out of 4 of our group to sleep. Just about OK in caravan but very noisy in tent. Added to train noise, there were occasional aeroplanes overhead and canal boats motoring along Seine (10-15 metres away).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed there for 5 nights with Eurocamp in a reasonable mobile home with a deck. Good location for visiting Paris and other attractions as the rail links are good. Drove from here to EuroDisney which was a 1 hour drive however, be aware, that sections of the main Paris circular road close for maintenance in the late evening on most nights which means a long detour home even with a sat-nav. This is a very basic site which has both river (large ships) and rail noise which is very noticeable. As stated by a previous reviewer, there are a large number of cats on the site which is disappointing. The shop is expensive but there is a small supermarket within walking distance in the nearby town. There were representatives from the rail company on the site on two occasions to explain journeys and ticket options which was useful., The staff on site were helpful. Overall, despite the excellent location, I was disappointed with the cleanliness and general state of the site and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte

Address: 1 rue Johnson | Maisons-Laffitte, 78600 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping International De Maisons-Laffitte Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping International de Maisons-Laffitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.