We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, Great location, Lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Original Paris

Save Saved
You added Hotel Original Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Original Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #125 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, Great location, Lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a really lovely weekend stay here, gorgeous decor everywhere, crazy light fixtures which are a bit hypnotic, good facilities in the room, hair dryer, safe, good bathroom. Very close to Bastille on the Metro, easy to find, and lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby. I will definitely book here the next time I stay in Paris!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello,
Great to hear back from you! Thank you so much for the great comment :)
We are glad the Original decor and atmosphere of the Hotel and of your room in particular pleased you! "Fancy" we had heard but not yet "crazy" so this is good :)
Indeed, the area around has just about all one could wish to have....and more :) And it will be our great pleasure to have you back here amongst us for some further parisian adventures :) ....So we standby ready and in the meantime you have a big Hello from the team :)
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    94
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
144
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Quaint yet funky, sophisticated yet down to earth, comfortable and unique are some of the ways I would describe Hotel ORiginal. The location was great in the Marais close to Bastille area, service and amenities are what I look for in a hotel. The staff were above exceptional. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: They are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for the great comment you have left us on TripAdvisor! We simply loved it :)
Straight to the point yet ... couldn't agree more :)
It was our peasure having met you and we're glad our Original funky atmosphere please you!
We hope your return "to reality" went well :)
We would be lore than happy to see you back indeed in the future and why not in a wholly different decor yet just as funky and all...not to worry :)
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last week and had a great time. The hotel is in a great location, only steps away from the Bastille Metro station, and it's in a lovely neighborhood.

The rooms are terrific, our room was done with Venetian plaster in earth tones with golden highlights, and a photo mural of winter woods, stunning. We were on the backside of the hotel and we had a view of the Opera Bastille and the top of the column in Place Bastille. The designs of the 7 rooms on the top floor are each inspired by the Seven Deadly Sins. Our room was Gluttony. Hmmm...

The very best thing about the hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke beautiful English and was more than willing to make our stay a pleasant one.

This was my first time in Paris, I picked the hotel off of the internet because of the interesting designs of the rooms. I really lucked out; I found a friendly, fun place that I hope to revisit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello :)
So nice to hear back from you!! Thank you so much for the great comment you have left us....eveyone read it and you have a big Hello from all the staff here. It was our pleasure having you here at the Hotel! We are glad your 1st time to Paris was with us and apparently not the last :)!
Glad the room decor and our overall atmosphere pleased you indeed! We hope your return home went well and as you know, anytime and with pleasure will we welcome you back at our original little place :)
All the best from the O Team!
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice hotel room with "gold"-design (prestige room). Hotel has very nice english speaking staff and the rooms are kept clean. Breakfast served until 11am - can be brought to our room. Croissants, jam coffee. Our room had access to a terrace with a view to the (top section) Eiffel tower and the Place de la Bastille. If you can afford it, it's a nice place but not a bargain. Beds quite normal. As always in Paris, the rooms are small and the elevator tiny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about your stay with us at the Hotel. Glad the Golden room did the trick and we were all happy to have had you in our Original atmosphere. In regards to the rate, what can we say....it does depend on the time periods and rest assured that we always offer our best rate available....ans rates do have to be competitive and in range with our type of establishment :)
That said, you have a big Hello from all the O' team here and why not seeing you at some future occasion in a wholly different decor of ours....and rate.... :)
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice stay at this quaint boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and very accommodating . The rooms are very small, ok for just one person or a couple. The joker room is interesting in all black decor which was great for sleeping. Not noisy at all, and the rooms are equip with an iDock.

Room Tip: The joker room was perfect for getting a good sleep in the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comment you have left in regards to your experience in our Universe :) We were glad to have you amongst us for your parisian stay and glad the room decor pleased you....and indeed parisian rooms are known not to be the biggest....though this does a bit of its charm....
We hope your return home went well. Till another time....in another decor perharps....
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Quirky boutique Paris hotel,in prime location to explore, right next to Bastille metro. Friendly staff who for nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the gold room overlooking the front main road on first floor which although a little noisy we slept well and enjoyed using the bath which had mood lighting going around it which was kind of fun. honesty bar in the lounge / breakfast room was a nice touch and breakfast for 12 euros / person was plentiful. Fantastic market on Sunday morning which runs behind the hotel and would definitely recommend you explore around Bastille as there are some real gems to discover. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for the great comment you have left us on tripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you amongst us for your parisian stay. Great that you were pleased with the room and hotel decor, quirky indeed, and that the tub did the trick :)
Agreed the surroundings are great with quite a few little places one should not miss...
We hope your return home went well and we hope this is just an "au revoir"....
Sincerely,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked an executive expensive room for over 260€ per night (320$) and I found out myself in a small cage, with open bath in the middle of the room no privacy at all. I stayed with my friend so it was impossible to have a normal shower. And when we did, when the other friend waited downstairs, all the room got wet. We complained immidiatly but all the hotel was fully booked and they kept telling us "this is Parisian executive style". After one night they moved us to a bit bigger room with no bath but with shower, and the noise was 24/7 we couldn't sleep at all. Very noisy, very Paris style service - arrogant and bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,
We have well received your comment in regards to your stay at the Hotel and we thank you for that.
There are a few points though that should be brought to your attention, and in fact to anyone of our readers, as your description does not reflect how things happened here. Once you arrived at the Hotel we did notice your disappointment in regards to the room you were given, indeed not everyone is pleased with an open bathtub in the room and that is quite understandable. Even though we were quite full, which we were, we managed to have things arranged for the very next day for another room to be yours with a separated shower. You did appreciate the move as communicated to the Reception. Now at several instances, you did treat our staff at the reception in an unfriendly manner borderline disrespectful. This to the point where myself (the Director) had to come up to see you in that regard and try to establish what could be the problem, and why such a treatment. The day after your arrival we have found some broken item from the room which had not been notified to anyone. Quite frankly, once you’ve asked for a full refund, despite efforts to accommodate your needs and requests, it did appear that anything that we did or could do was useless. We are sorry that this did happen this way but the arrogant attitude and disrespectful behaviour was not coming from any of our staff. But this does not need further explanation as can be seen in just about all of our TripAdvisor comments and more. No, there was indeed a problem from the beginning with no willingness to have it resolved despite all attempts from our side.
Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Original Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original Paris

Address: 8 Boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#401 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Original Paris 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Original Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Mulhouse Hotel
Lyon Mulhouse Paris
Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Original Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.