We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean & quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Original Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Original Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Original Paris
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean & quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our lengthy stay at this charming hotel located just steps away from the Bastille metro stop. Our room was small, but that is to be expected in Paris. We had little trouble getting over our jet lag, as the building was quiet and our room got very dark with the curtains closed. The hotel does feature an elevator, but we seldom used it as we were two floors up and the lift is tiny. There was no refrigerator in the room, but the front desk allowed us to stash a couple bottles in the one in their 'kitchen'. There is a dining area on the first (ground) floor where we and another couple had a nightcap each evening. We hit up the rather pricy 'honor bar' located here the first night. Thereafter we went to the bodega located a few doors down and purchased bottles on our own. Management didn't seem bothered by this.
The lovely and talented staff proved most helpful and diligent in accommodating our every need. Most spoke fluent English and those that didn't made up for it by being as friendly as could be!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the comment you've just posted and thank you for the compliments in regards to the staff, they will love it. It was our pleasure to have you all here with us for your parisian stay. We hope your return home went well and we do say to you "au revoir" as it would be great to have you again, and for those nightly meetings in the lounge.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    123
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
179
27
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Original this weekend past and were quite delighted. On entering the hotel you are already transported into a world not of this one. The staff were friendly and the room delightfully decorated with Alice in Wonderland as inspiration. We were told the other floors had different themes so I look forward to returning. If I may, I'd like to make one comment about the room. There is no mirror other than the one in a cupboard, impossible to see oneself and obviously one in the bathroom. We had a dinner and had to dress accordingly but had no way of seeing if all was as it should be. I think one on the inside of the toilet door might be ok, or perhaps one where the "raven" light fitting is. A hair dryer is thoughtfully provided, but quite difficult to dry ones hair with no mirror and in the bathroom considered dangerous.
The location of the hotel is perfect we found it quiet and incredibly convenient. There is the Marais district which is enchanting, lovely boutiques and nice restaurants.
I would most certainly stay there again and really look forward to our next visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for the great comment you've posted here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Paris and with us. We well noted your point on the mirror and this is indeed an idea so we thank you for that. We hope your return to reality went well and was bearable. It was our pleasure to have you here and we look forward for news from you and to have you with us again, in a whole different room atmosphere why not?
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The area is great - the "Bourbon Street" of Paris is basically next door. We walked to most of the tourist areas and passed great shopping along the way; there is also a train right outside.

We weren't super impressed with the room. The idea is great, but the lighting made it difficult to put makeup on or get ready without waking my boyfriend. We did not really have a space to open our bag.

That said, the staff were mostly excellent. We won't go back, but it wasn't a terrible stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello,
We hope your return home went well. We thank you for your post and we well noted the point of the lighting. Some of the rooms particular themes call for a bit of a mysterious atmosphere and thus it does not pleases everyone and we understand this. The good thing is that knowing this we will indeed ensure your next stay with us, if you do change your mind in the end, will be in a well lighted room with its bright decor.
In any case it was a pleasure to have you here.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a wonderful find if you are interested in exploring the vibrant Marais district of Paris. It was quirky and fun and the staff are also very helpful. It is decorated in a modern-art, funky style with lots of fibre optic lights, unusual tiling, wall decals and themed rooms. Not just a boring room, but something exciting to come home to.

We stayed in the Alice in Wonderland room and it was great. It has a queen bed and behind a curtain (for privacy) there are 2 single beds. This is perfect for a family travelling together.
The location is very central, with the Bastille Metro station about 20 mtrs away. Also within walking distance is the Marais which is full of interesting shops, restaurants, bars and art galleries - this is an excellent area to explore or just eat in when you come back to the hotel.

There is free, pretty reliable internet, a hearty breakfast (typically French) for 12 Euros pp, bathrobes, plenty of towels, complementary loan umbrellas, an honesty bar and staff that always have a smile and are willing to help in any way possible.
The lift is small and slow, but that is a very minor drawback in this charming boutique Hotel. Also beware of having laundry done in the Hotel, VERY expensive. We knew this in advance but still a shock when you have to pay for it!

Overall no complaints, the price was good and the location excellent. I would stay here again when in Paris, I throughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello,
Great hearing back from you and thank you so much for the great comment. We hope your return home went well and it was really a pleasure to have the three of you with us here at the Hotel. A little word on your promotional work you've just posted....could not have done better :) so thank you again.
We hope to have you again amongst the team here for another adventure in the city of light, and in the mean time have a great time Down under.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Small boutique hotel off Place de la Bastille right near a Metro stop. Very convenient to Ile de la Cite, Hotel de Ville, la Marais. My room was small but cleverly designed in a quirky modern motif. The big plus was a fabulous bathtub - hard to find in hotel rooms these days. The view out my window - pure Paris!
The continental breakfast was lacking at 12 Euro, I recommend going outside for breakfast.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello,
We'd like to thank you for the comment you have left us. We were glad to have you with us here at the Hotel and that your parisian stay went well. We hope your return home went fine.
We well noted your point on the breakfast and we thank you for that. We do hope to hear back from you and have you here again, in a different room theme, so you can taste a bit further of the Originality of the Hotel and its rooms.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel online - we booked somewhat last minute after friends had recommended we stay somewhere in or near Marais. We had no idea what to expect but were pleasantly surprised with our comfortable modern room, the location, as well as the friendly staff. Upon our arrival we were given a free upgrade to the Alice and Wonderland room which had two additional twin beds (extra space for luggage since we are still sans kids). The room was very clean and comfortable and looked out into the courtyard facing some other buildings. Everyday we walked all over Paris, the hotel is literally steps away from the bastille line, seine, marais, baguettes and more. We loved our stay and seriously couldnt believe we had no complaints since we tend to be hard to please traveler!

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to the Alice and Wonderland room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for the great comment you've just posted. It was our pleasure to have you with us during your stay in Paris. I have to say the mention of being "hard to please travelers" brought us a smile and be sure we took this as a great compliment.
We hope your return home went well and we do hope to have you another time amongst us at the Hotel for another parisian stay.
Sincerely,
Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Would definitely recommend Hotel Original to friends looking for a place to stay in Paris. The hotel was very clean and all the hotel staff were very friendly. Close to the Bastille metro stop which made it easy to get around all over Paris. We were in the Silver room on the 4th floor facing the street but it was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. It's Paris, so rooms are small but decor was fun, modern! Wifi worked great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original Paris, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,
We hope your return home went well. On behalf of all the Hotel Staff we thank you for the great comment you've posted here. It is great that you enjoyed your stay in paris and with us, it was our pleasure in any case to have you here. So as we say...it is just an "au revoir" and we hope to have you back with us for another parisian adventure.
Sincerely,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Original Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original Paris

Address: 8 Boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#104 Family Hotel in Paris
#125 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#280 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Original Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AvailPro, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Original Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Mulhouse Hotel
Lyon Mulhouse Paris
Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Original Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.