We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, kind staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France Invalides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France Invalides to your Saves list
Hotel de France Invalides
102, boulevard de La Tour-Maubourg, 75007 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #673 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location, kind staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a tiny room in this hotel (although most rooms in 2 and 3-star hotels in Paris are on the rather small side). To our delight, we had a small balcony with a side view of the beautiful dome of Les Invalides. Although the hotel does not appear to be very modern, it thankfully has an elevator and the rooms have flat-screen tvs. Whenever you leave the hotel, the key must be surrendered at the reception. Location-wise, the nearest metro (Ecole Militaire) is only a few minutes away by foot and many good cafés and bistros dot the area. We appreciated the free wifi, the kind staff and the breakfast consisting of toast, different spreads, yoghurt, fruit, cheeses, cold cuts, and eggs, but the eggs had to be prepared yourself, either boiled or fried in the pan provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    69
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
59
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was small, but very nice. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the side street, second floor and it was very quiet, even with the windows open. The bathroom was roomy and very modern with wonderful hot water for a nice soak at the end of a long day. We enjoyed the elevator, free Wi-fi in the room, and the helpful staff. The location is perfect....the metro is only a short walk away and you walk past Rue Cler...our favorite spot. We could walk to many great restaurants from the hotel...The beautiful gold dome of Invalides was our beacon to get back to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again-we had a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Judged by Parisienne standards, the rooms are large. I even had a double bed!
Great view of Les Invalides and walking distance to Rodin, Eiffel and more in the heart of the 7th. Great choice - unless it's hot. This hotel is NOT air conditioned. Basic breakfast offered - primarily yogurt and croissant. Make time to dine at Chez Eux next door - a real gem with family style service.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a view of Les Invalides, on a high floor (to avoid street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

This gorgeous Parisian hotel could not be anymore perfect for a trip to Paris. It's location is close to most of the sites and plenty of local cafe's and shops. The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. The rooms are petit but beautifully decorated and everything is so clean. It's recently been renovated so it has a modern feel to it. Beds are very comfortable. For a great dining experience walk to Rue de Cler. Great choices for places to eat and a few local shops with clothing, fresh food and wine. All in all, I would stay at this hotel everytine I go to Paris. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

You don't come to Paris for the hotel room you come for Paris. That said hotel de France invalides worked well while in Paris.

Across the street from Napoleon's tomb and within walking distance of the Eiffel Tower. This is a great launching pad to see Paris

I've stayed here twice and will stay here again on my next visit to Paris

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Have stayed there twice, once in 2007 and again in 2009 , and its a lovely small convenient Parisian hotel ideally located. Get a room with a view of the golden dome of Les Invalides, worth the price alone!

Room Tip: With a view of Les Invalides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you feel like a parisian, this is your place. Everything is neat. In front, we can see Invalides and the lighted night view is just wonderful. But if you expect American style comfort, this is not a place. The room is very small and not functional. My room'shower needed much muscle to get hot water. Also,the corridor is so narrow and I am worried in case of fire. As other say, the front desk persons are very frendly and ready to help. This is definitely a big plus for holiday travelers. Also, this establishment is quite close to UNESCO and French gov agencies, so it may be good for business as well. This hotel is definitely worth trying but I am opting for an easier choice even paying slightly more at next time to come to Paris.

Room Tip: Room facing invalids
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France Invalides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Invalides

Address: 102, boulevard de La Tour-Maubourg, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#518 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France Invalides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Invalides Paris
De France Invalides Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France Invalides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.