We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The oldest Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
3e arrondissement, 75003 Paris, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$80*
and up
Private Tour: Paris Street Photography in Le...
Ranked #16 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a land-filled swamp, this revitalized neighborhood, once a center of high culture, fell into disrepair following the French Revolution, but has regained prominence.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The oldest Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The oldest Paris, beautiful creators shops, you must visit the big bazar near the city hall...A lot of restaurants around to eat the real croque-monsieur.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,007
    1,428
    212
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My new favorite area of Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In trips past, I gravitated to the Latin Quarter and St. Germain de Pres. Le Maris now replaces the Latin Quarter. While the Latin Quarter still has great restaurants, Le Marais has the better atmosphere, in my opinion. The shops were quaint (though chains are taking over, which is unfortunate), the atmosphere peaceful, fun and devine all at the same time, and the shopping was great (less expensive than other parts of the City, yet still trendy). I will return to this area. A great way to spend a day strolling the square, including the art galleries and the free Victor Hugo museum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I loved this area, easy to walk around - great shops and restaurants, great overall vibe. If I lived in Paris this might be my neighborhood! Be sure to visit the store Merci.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Some nice shops and galleries, but we were expecting more from the deli's. Also, we were aggressively hounded by men trying to sell us religious articles.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice happening neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We followed Rick Steves walking tour and saw much of this hip and happening neighborhood. Recommend!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.