We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A district to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
3e arrondissement, 75003 Paris, France (Le Marais)
Improve this listing
Visit Le Marais like an insider
Private Tour
$73*
and up
Private Tour: Paris Street Photography in Le...
Ranked #18 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a land-filled swamp, this revitalized neighborhood, once a center of high culture, fell into disrepair following the French Revolution, but has regained prominence.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A district to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Listen to French people. This place has become a "must" when you visit Paris. Fashion / deco shops, bistrots and some of the traditional fabrics vendors walking the streets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,465
    1,651
    240
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Stores, good art galleries and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a fun Parisian neighborhood with great boutiques, fun bars and restaurants
Everytime I am in Paris I like to visit Le Marais

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely area to visit on Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to Le Marais on a Sunday around mid day. the place is so interesting, lots of little boutiques, cafes and non stop activities in the streets. If you like falafel and other type of Israeli food, Le Marais is the place to go. Many Kosher eating places and many range of shops. Don't forget to visit the chocolate places. The area in general is full of character.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We always stay in Le Marais while in Paris. Having been to Paris a number of times and seen all the sights, my husband and I like to get lost in Le Marais, it is wonderful. We often just sit at one of the fabulous cafes and people watch, the french people are so amazingly different!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“from historical to trendy - the Marais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed adjacent to Rue des Rosiers for the second time, for a week. Vibrant interesting area with small individualistic boutiques, the wonderful Musee de Carnavalet, a fabulous bead shop in Rue des Archives, and walking distance to a lot of the sights of Paris. Perhaps too many boutiques with a loss of some of the old Jewish food shops, but still great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.