We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe

Save Saved
You added The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51-57, rue de Courcelles | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #296 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We (myself, my wife and two young daughters) arrived an hour or so before check-in. Staff were very nice and offered to try and have our room ready as soon as possible. Went to the hotel's 'purple bar' with the intention of having a cold drink while we waited, it was a hot day. The prices were so outrageous I was reluctant to buy anything. Fortunately, one of the desk staff arrived with our keys before I caved in and ordered a drink. The room was comfortable, and a good size for a family of four. A small bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates on returning to our room on our second night was a nice touch. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. We never had four towels, and on a couple of nights were not provided face washers. A request for two extra pillows and a face washer resulted in one pillow and a shaving kit being provided. This could have been explained by the language barrier I suppose. The credit card hold fee was not removed from my card at the end of our stay and I had to follow the hotel up to have it removed. Overall, a good hotel, but not a great one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Nathan,

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe Paris for your recent stay and also for posting your constructive feedback on this website.

I sincerely regret that we failed in meeting your expectation during your stay. I shared your feedback to the Heads of concerning departments and rest assured that serious actions have been taken in order to avoid this kind of experience reoccur in the future.

We hope that you accept our sincere apologise and please do not hesitate to contact our service if you wish to visit Paris for another occasion.


Sincerely,

Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations
Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    167
    58
    18
    25
See reviews for
156
196
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about a week when it was still under Hilton management. There was an excellent promotion in effect that encouraged us to choose this property.

Overall, it was not a bad stay, and frankly -- for Paris -- the room size was completely sufficient; travelers from North America are often surprised at how small standard hotel rooms can be in Europe. The lobby was classy and subdued, and even though we arrived well in advance of the hotel's posted check-in time, management was able to accommodate us with a room within 30 minutes of our arrival (but I would strongly encourage sending an email well in advance to let them know your expected arrival time, and of course, it is never guaranteed).

Downstairs from the lobby is a fairly impressive setting for the hotel's spa, although we never did get around to using it (who has the time when Paris beckons?). Our room was clean and tastefully appointed, both beds and furniture were up-to-date and comfortable. Everything was in working order in the guest bathroom, with good water pressure and plenty of hot water in the shower. No complaints in that department. One stand-out area was the concierge team, who continued to amaze us with their willingness to bend over backwards to give us directions or provide restaurant recommendations. One gentleman at concierge even called different restaurants in Paris to inquire about particular meals and their preparation, I was impressed.

Our room had a view overlooking the courtyard in the center of the hotel, which was better than facing the street; although, I should mention that guests facing the street shouldn't necessarily fret because it's a fairly quiet location with minimal street noise. One area of concern was the air conditioning, which didn't make the room as cool as we would have liked it. Not sure I can blame the hotel for that. Paris isn't really big on air conditioning in the first place, as they don't need it most of the year. That being said, our room window opened to let the outdoor fresh air in, but one word of warning there: other guests have the same idea, so try to use your indoor voice if your window is open.

I can't speak about any of the food/beverage amenities as we ate out every day and night. Again, this is Paris, do try and get out of your hotel to sample genuine French cuisine! My only complaint in the end would be the hotel's location, which isn't the most central. If your time in Paris is short, you need to pick your location carefully, otherwise you'll spend far too much time on the Metro and walking to/from it. The Arc de Triomphe is a good hike from the hotel, and that's where the major metro station is located. Another one is located further up the road on rue de Courcelles, but requires a transfer at Arc de Triomphe anyway, so we just usually walked directly to the Arc de Triomphe station (it is a pleasant walk, however, lined with residences, hotels and embassies). The neighborhood itself doesn't boast a lot of other amenities, few restaurants and no cafes. You definitely spend a lot of time transiting to other areas in Paris when you stay here, which is less of a concern if you have a longer visit; but as much as I hate to say something negative about what was a pretty good stay, if you have a short visit in Paris, I would really stress trying to find a hotel more central to the sights and eateries.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter and afford, well, the view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your extensive review of Hotel du Collectionneur on TripAdvisor following your last trip to Paris.

I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us and it helps us monitor the service we provide.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoy the style, the comfort and the dimensions of our rooms, which are indeed larger than most other accomodations in Paris. I also noted that you were fully satisfied with the professionalisme of our Concierge staff. Rest assured that your review has been shared to our management and the service concerned.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our property for your next visit to Paris and please do not hesitate to contact the Guest Relations team for a further assistance.


Sincerely


Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations
Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel itself is a very old building with poor structure, but with new heavy doors and very loud elevator. Every time elevator stops - all building shakes. Moreover, there is a gigantic metal overpass over the gutter on the road, in front of the Hotel: every time a car drives over it, it makes this Kaboom blasting noise, echoing all the way under the bridge. + school in adjacent building. The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe is cute from outside, but do not stay over there if you want to have a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Iravlas,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel du Collectionneur for your stay in Paris and for having taken the time to post such a constructive review on the website.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us.
Rest assured that the situation has been duly reviewed with our management and serious actions will soon be taken in order to ensure that the similiar situation does not reoccur in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact our service if you would wish to review your decision to re-visit Paris any time in future.


Sincerely,


Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations
Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was concerned that the photo's may have been enhanced to show the room as bigger than it was. But I needn't have worried...it was perfect for 2 adults and 2 children, though the bathroom could be a tight fit at times. In all other respects, my expectations were exceeded. The staff, food (both breakfast and dinner) and rooms were fabulous - and the beautiful art deco/art nouveau design was sensational. Perfectly located walking distance to Arc De Triomphe and a reasonable walk down Bvd Haussman to the shopping in the Opera district. It is on a peaceful street which helped us as we had just had a 30 hour trip to get there....loved this hotel! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this nice review of the Hotel du Collectionneur on Tripadvisor,

I am so grateful that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It is really a plasure to read that our room ,food served at le Safran as well as the services provided were exceeded your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be shared to entire staff and our management.

We are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back at the Hotel du Collectionneur and please do not hesitate to contact the Guest Relations Team for your future reservation.



Yours sincerely,


Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations
Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is elegant and rooms are very spacious. Service and food is good, but very pricey (a beer is around $18 US dollars) but you are in Paris!! The location is great 10 min. walk to the Arc de Triumph, very close to a grocery store (in case you want to buy a cheaper beer..), and also close to the metro (by subway is a 15 min. ride to Eiffel Tower, we learned this after we walked for an hr). Like most European hotels, the AC is controlled so the temperature doesn't go bellow certain point...which sometimes can get a little warm for the American taste, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Denisee,

Thank you for taking time to leave your comments following your recent stay with us at the Hotel du Collectionneur.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and that you enjoyed our hotel stylish atmosphere, inspired by the greatest Art Deco designers.

The point you are bringing to our attention is valid, please rest assured that your comment concerning temperature control will be shared with our hotel management.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you once more at the Hotel du Collectioneur and providing you again the elegant hospitality you compliment us for.


With our best regards,



Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations

Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was truly 4 Stars from the service to the rooms. We had 4 nights with two 9 year old children and had a wonderfuyl time. The styaff were both friendly and most helpful. The food at the breakfast buffet was good and plentyful. We tried the room service and my son declared he had the best Cesar salad ever.. and it was indeed good.

The hotel location was qwuite cental only 7-8 minutes walk from the Arc du Triomphe and from the Champs Elysees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Hôtel du Collectionneur, and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am sincerely glad that you enjoyed your room and the quality of the dishes prepared by our chef and the kitchen team. I am also proud that you did appreciate the high level of service delivered by our staff.

We work to provide each of our guests with an impeccable hospitality and we care very much about the service we deliver.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the city of light at the Hôtel du Collectionneur in a not too distant future and the Guest Relatiosn team remain at your disposal for any assistance.


Sincerely,

Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations

Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mouintains NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late May 2013. On arrival at 4.00 pm, rooms not ready. Waited nearly 2 hours for room. Lobby was crowded and shabby with ripped upholstery. Arrived back late at night and room key was deactivated. No reason given, no apology, just French arraogance. Room badly needed makeover. Chipped paint and broken furniture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationshdc, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for very much for having chosen Hôtel du collectionneur for your stay in Paris, and for taking time to let us know your feedback.

We are extremely sorry and disappointed to read your review concerning your last visit in may 2013 and we would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously.

Even though your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standards for which we have been recognized, please be aware that we have discussed your comments with our heads of department and senior management in order to correct the encountered issues and to ensure that this kind of situation does not reoccur in the future.

We do hope that you will accept our apologies, and that you will take the opportunity to come again in the future. I would be pleased to personally take care of your reservation and demonstrate the level of service we are known to provide to make sure your stay will be truly unforgettable.


Sincerely yours,


Rangga Le Moing
Guest Relations
Hotel du Collectionneur
Arc de Triomphe Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe

Address: 51-57, rue de Courcelles | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Paris
#146 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#210 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#211 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arc De Triomphe Hotel Paris
Hilton Hotel Paris
Hilton International Paris
Hilton Paris
Paris Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel du Collectionneur Arc de Triomphe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.