We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for budget traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodstock Hostel to your Saves list
Woodstock Hostel
48 Rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“good for budget traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

this hostel is good for budget travellers. an average B&B with a great location

Usually the rate is 22 euros, but i got a cheaper rate which is only 17 euros (including breakfast) during a promo...that's really cheap!

Location & what's nearby:
the location is great!
- from Gare du Nord to Anvers metro need abt 10 mins by train (you can also walk from Gare du Nord to Anvers, and it takes abt 20 mins)
- it's super near Sacre Coeur (10 mins walk), you even can see it along the way you walking to the Anvers metro station (metro station is only abt 5 mins walk).
- there's a supermarket beside the hostel, you can grab some groceries there....
- there's a few pastry shops, bars & restaurants along the street (noted that there's a Michellin-star rated restaurant too!)
- there's a tourist info center near Anvers metro station's exit
- there's a post office on the next street
- a few pharmacies around the area
- a few tourist attractions: sacre coeur, place du tetre, salvador dali's museum

Room:
the room is quite small, there's a heater and a wash basin
there's only a shower room & a toilet every floor (you might need to queue for the shower during night)

Food:
The breakfast provided is simple (baguette with fruit jam/butter served with tea/coffee/milk/hot chocolate) i love the hot chocolate!
there's a few eateries/restaurants/bars/pastry shops around the area

p/s:
-wireless internet is available at the lobby area
- the stairway is quite narrow, it will give you a hard time if you have a big & heavy luggage bag
- it will be a bit noisy during night time when most of the people go back to the hostel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    62
    25
    25
See reviews for
2
22
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

A block from Sacre Cour & Moulin Rogue, this place is near the subway which is about its only bonus.

The girl on the front desk was more concerned with chatting to her new boyfriend playing with her hair that helping us. When she did finally sniffle to look up, she said, "What are you doing here? Check-in isn't for another few hours." Mind you it was pouring outside. So we asked to leave our bags and instead of actually showing us, she motioned to the luggage room, hidden behind a coffee/tea station. And that was just reception,

The dorm rooms were real small, the bathrooms and showers especially really grimey, and the kitchen...well, let's just say that if I were a different kind of person we could have called the health department and have them shut down right quick.

This cheap place goes by a great name to attract ex-pats such as myself, but that is about all it has.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

19 euros a night (for off season) was the only reason I stayed here for multiple nights. But other than that, I would not recommend the place.

Their website emanates this feeling of coziness, saying things like "once you're here, you may never want to leave...we know your name and you will really feel in a special place." During my 4-day stay (Oct. 20 - 23), there were two receptionist girls (don't know their names) who ran the desk on the bottom floor, and in truth they were the most miserable people they could possibly have hired for that position. It couldn't be clearer that they hated their job and were not interested at all in meeting anyone staying at the place. Conversely, they appeared annoyed that guests were even staying there.

They speak english, but have zero patience if your english is broken, and were terribly unkind to people in that situation. They would also play loud music until 2am which carried right up onto the first floor, making it difficult to sleep.

They charge 2 euros per half hour for internet (a terrible deal - walk around a bit and you'll find a better internet cafe if you don't have your own computer) on their computers in the lobby. Otherwise, they have free wireless (which they didn't mention without you asking). You need to ask them for a username and password.

Breakfast was minimal, but I guess you can't complain if it's free. A baguette, butter, jam, and hot chocolate or coffee. No cold drinks or water.

The curfew of 2am is annoying. And they also kick you out between 11am and 3pm, I suppose to clean the place, (though for 4 hours they certainly don't do anything impressive).

Only one toilet and one shower per floor (floors which were quite populated). Half the showers I took were cold, half were hot.

Beds don't come with sheets. You need to pay 5euros for them to lend you sheets (though 2.50euros of that is a deposit which you'll get back once you return them at the end of your stay).

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Absolute KIP........Filthy dirty..........staff terrible..............NEVER EVER GO THERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Dirty tiny rooms, dirty hard bed! dirty tiny showers and filthy toilets (gave me the runs!) , very very loud all through the night, dirty kitchen, and the staff while nice to your face, are lazy and rude! They dont care at all what you think of their home, they just want your money and they will not help you when you NEED it!

I'm sorry this may not be the experience of the three day holiday piss head makers from other parts of europe but for a traveler it was a harsh experience. I've been living in hostels for the last two and a half years of my life and this is the first one I have ever... ever! had a problem with. Do not put your trust in this hostel, go that little bit further and make sure you enjoy yourself and everything about the cities culture by staying somewhere else. This hostel will ruin your experience.

  • Liked — breakfast (baget)
  • Disliked — everything except breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

the rooms were clean, the location is really handy and lots of nice shops, bars and bakeries around, the staff are friednly and helpful and there are cool decorations BUT the toilets are extremely disgusting (even by french standards) and the shower rooms not much better... i wouldn't stay don't go but if you like your bathrooms and toilets clean then you won't enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — disgusting toilets
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

If you want to go to Paris and you don't care where you sleep as long as you have a roof over your head and you don't have to worry about freezing to death, then the Woodstock is as good as any other place out there, I guess.

While some of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, others were rude, unhelpful and made you feel quite unwelcome. The language barrier was not a problem in any case however and it was nice to hear the English language at the end of the day and the drinks were some of the cheapest in the whole of Paris.

It is the luck of the draw who you get to stay with, which was not a problem for us, as we knew we would be sharing when we booked. However, we were told we would be in a six person dorm, but we were on the top floor in a four person room (sharing bunk beds) with another matress under one of the beds. I wondered if the other matress had gone missing or if there was a booking error.

You are expected to vacate your room from 11am until 3pm for cleaning. However, I didn't notice any cleaning going on in our room, in the toilet or in the shower. The latter two were particularly disgusting. The matresses were dire and the rented sheets had some of the pubic belongings of some of the previous guests who had used them.

Nevertheless, while the room was small, it was cozy. I was very conscious of the fact that our bed squeaked and was scared to move most of the time in case I woke others up. Getting onto the top bunk isn't the easiest of things, as there were no aids, but it's do-able.

Breakfast consisted of hot chocolate, coffee, water or orange juice... and bread. While it was free, by the second morning I didn't care if I made it to breakfast or not.

The curfew was not a problem as if you really get to see Paris, you will be exhausted well before 2am. However, the walls definitely are thin and if you're unlucky enough to have the toilet adjoining... you can get to know other guests in ways you probably wouldn't want to. Bowel movements and toilet paper use come to mind.

The showers are a little scary. Once warm, they're fine but when cold they can take your breath away literally. The large window left little to the imagination for those in the courtyard and neighbouring houses. While blurred, you still might find yourself feeling a little conscious.

And if you want an early nights sleep... if you're too tired to stay awake, then you're fine. Nothing will keep you awake. However, extroverted Americans kept me up one night and I was staying on the top floor. There was little done to keep the noise down, if anything at all.

It felt like it was a place catering for people who were willing to pour as much money into the well being of the hostel as possible. Drinking in the hostel is a cheap option, but the atmosphere is bleak especially when your company is hit or miss. Maybe we chose the wrong time to go because the people certainly make the place. It's cheap, but you pay for cheap. I will never forget my trip to Paris, but I hope one day I can forget the Woodstock.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Address: 48 Rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is known for its cosiness as well as for its party atmosphere, and is the ideal place to meet other backpackers and to make lifelong friends. Watch out though, once you’re here, you might never want to leave… Woodstock is much more than a hostel, it’s a way of life. Here we know your name and you will know ours.Nowhere else in Paris will you find so much at such an unbeatable price… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Woodstock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.