We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hostel - very clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodstock Hostel to your Saves list
Woodstock Hostel
48 Rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average Hostel - very clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hostel was OK -- It was clean, good breakfast and helpful staff. The rooms were cramped and the en-suit bathroom was really tiny. It had a small sink and an even smaller shower. It was hard to shower and get ready without waking everyone up. We spent most of the time exploring the city, but the time we did spend at the hostel was OK. I'd only recommend to non-family travelers. This isn't a place you want young kids sleeping -- lots of 20 year olds traveling so they were hanging out in the courtyard a lot.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    64
    25
    25
See reviews for
2
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The price was relatively good as it was under 50 Euros per person, but I wish I'd forked out a few extra Euros to stay in a hotel. The description said "bathroom en suite" but that was false--we just had a tiny sink and mirror. The toilet was in a separate closet for the floor to share--I'd guess at least 20 people per floor--and there's a shower room with another tiny sink with a broken faucet. The beds weren't uncomfortable but there were stains on the sheets. There was definitely a party going on all night even though there's a 2am curfew. I had my iPod headphones on, but it was so loud out that I didn't notice someone banging on my door for a while--apparently we'd accidentally locked our roomies out. So basically I would never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone who likes sleeping at night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

As far as hostels go, this is a best bet. We were split a room for 6 and shared with some cool folks---much better than I can say about the first hostel we stayed in Paris. The front staff was very chill and easy going, made it enjoyable to stay. Didn't care for the breakfast but didn't intend to eat there anyway, so I didn't mind the basic options. I'll take whatever I can get when I budget travel so I don't care much to review the quality of a free bread basket ;) The design is really cute and overall it was probably my more pleasant hostel experience in Paris. Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Average hostel. Shared room of 6 with 4 strangers, who were good so it was fine. Decent location near metro, but nothing excel Sacre Couer is within walking distance. Not a good breakfast

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We had to share the room with 6 more people. This is a nice way to get to know new people. The showers were fine too. The only sad thing us that there is not enough place for your bagage and that the front door closes around midnight. The people who work there are very relaxed btw!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After reading a ton of reviews I was pretty nervous to stay here, but it was great! Yea there are stairs to climb and some of the guests are noisy, but for what you pay, it is really a very nice place to stay. The front desk people are very nice and helpful, and they even have a cat! It's clean and safe. I stayed here for 2 weeks total. I guess some reviewers were just expecting a hotel? Twerps.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good customer service, they all speak English well, pretty clean, good breakfast, not enough bathrooms in my opinion, and I prefer same sex rooms but this is not available here. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Address: 48 Rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is known for its cosiness as well as for its party atmosphere, and is the ideal place to meet other backpackers and to make lifelong friends. Watch out though, once you’re here, you might never want to leave… Woodstock is much more than a hostel, it’s a way of life. Here we know your name and you will know ours.Nowhere else in Paris will you find so much at such an unbeatable price… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Woodstock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.