We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marquis to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Rue Dupleix | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #261 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
north yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birthday break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel.It is in a good location ,close to the Eiffel Tower and 10 mins from the river etc.It is in a quiet street but close to shops restaurants etc.
Nice rooms ,we had a superior which whilst not huge had everything needed for a comfortable stay.Nice bakery next door great for croissants etc for breakfast.
Only minor detractions were the aircon seemed difficult to adjust which kept the room warm and we twice had to ask for milk capsules for the in room coffee/tea facilities which had not been replaced by housekeeping.
All in all a good place to stay in Paris in a quiet quality hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room for comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    122
    29
    18
    14
See reviews for
41
185
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A wonderful little hotel. Rooms nicely decorated and on a quiet street. The staff were friendly and welcoming to us. The breakfast was good and we wished we were there in summer to have breakfast in the court yard. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon here and loved that it was so close to the centre of Paris, the Eiffel Tower just 5 mins walk away and metro station just around the corner. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and well appointed, with a little balcony too. Only complaint was that the room was too warm. an artisan bakery was virtually next door, which sold the most delicious breads and pastries! Not great for the waistline, but your taste buds will love you forever!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wonderful in all respects. We stayed in room #202 on October, 22-23rd, 2012 and it was much roomier than we thought it would be with a king bed. Bathroom was spotless and good size. Plenty of hot water with plenty of force on the shower. Note that faucets are reverse in Paris, cold water is on right, hot on left. NO 110 outlets for appliances so you will need adapter for your razor or curling iron. Hair dryer is provided, as well as slippers and fluffy terry cloth bathrobes in this room. We had specifically asked for "superior room" and balcony after reading reviews for this boutique hotel. There are 36 rooms in total. Room had a balcony facing Grocery store across street where you can buy food and wines. Champagne which was half bottle in room fridge was €25 and one across street, full size, was €16. No view of Eiffel Tower and on second floor. Tower is a 20 minute walk away where the "light show" of tower every hour on the hour for duration of five minutes, makes it perfect. Cost of room was $460.00 a day. We would stay here again for sure if we visit Paris again. Breakfast in hotel looked lovely but we didn't try it because of reviews here, but there was fresh fruit cut up and chilled in big silver bowls along with eggs, pastries, cereals, breads and rolls of various shapes. Coffee, teas, juice, etc. might have been a mistake on our part. We should have checked that out first day. We looked up and down each street fron hotel and didn't find the pink cafe in reviews? It may have closed.

Oh, and the taxi from Charles D. Airport is €85 one way. We tipped €10 and arranged for pickup and drop off at correct terminal with same cabbie. Drivers do it all the time. Ours was prompt, handled all luggage and had a hand-held computer with all airlines And terminal infro. I promise you, you do NOT want to get lost in that Airport as it is huge and very confusing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent three nights in the hotel and could not fault it. The rooms were quite small but ideal, how much time do you spend in the rooms anyway when your exploring the city? The room was very clean and cleaned on a daily basis.

We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and there was lots to choose from. There was a range of pastries, cereals, fruit and hot cooked breakfast. The food was great!

The reception staff were friendly although their English was very limited. They did try hard to communicate though and you would always get a friendly smile on the way into the hotel.

The hotel was in a nice central location, only a 10 minute walk from the Eiffel tower and there was plenty of restaurants nearby for dinner. The train station was also just 5 minutes away, ideal for going to Disneyland Paris or anywhere else in Paris.

What I will say is the bar in the hotel is very overpriced so I would try to avoid if possible. When we were waiting on our taxi to take us back to the airport we decided to get two colas and it cost us 10 euros!!!

I would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

4 star hotels fall into 2 categories; 3 star hotels that are too pretty for the category or run down 5 star hotels that have definitely seen better days. This is the former category. The room are pretty, well maintained and have that upscale feel. However this boutique hotel lacks the charm to really push the 4 star rating. Now the pros and cons. The room was relatively small but after all this is Paris. We paid extra for a larger room and I probably would have been upset with the standard room. The carpets, furniture, TV, bathroom were all in good shape. The hallways were dark, dingy and seemed to always have bags of laundry from when we went downstairs for breakfast to coming back to change for dinner. The tub stopper didn't close reducing the tub to just a container for the shower water. The breakfast which is expensive was extensive with eggs, sausage, smoked samon etc. The coffee however was very disappointing as this is after all Paris. We appeared to have grossly overpaid for the room compared to the prices on the internet the day we checked in. I didn't think we had paid for the breakfast but when we checked in, the receptionist said we had. I think she looked at how much we overpaid and felt it necessary to make amends. When we checked out, they tried to charge us for the breakfasts. We argued and it was corrected. I'm not sure if that part was bad or good but it was unnecessary. I asked at check in if the receptionist would correct her computer file but apparently she didn't ending our visit on a sour note. Location was OK. It is on a relatively quiet street in a noisey city. It is close to the Eiffel Tower, a moderate walk to the Invalides and a hike to everything else. The metro was 4 blocks away. Fine if not raining or without luggage, a pain with those issues. In conclusion, if you like boutique hotels, not super expensive, consider the Marquis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

well, when we arrived in paris the hotel that had been booked for us had been closed for renivations! so as you can imagine we were worried as to where we would be staying instead!! luckily for us we were moved to le marquis and what a good move it was!!!! it is on a very parisian steet all beautiful balconys and window shutters very pretty! and most importantly very very close to the eiffel tower, so close we could see it from our window. we could walk everywhere from here!!there is a metro sation at the end of the road but we didnt need to use it ourselves

the rooms are lovely very spacious for a city hotel..... big cosy bed ....big bathroom with bath and shower and robes/slippers too

the breakfast is delicious with a choice of everything no matter what you want
the staff all helpfull and friendly

i cant wait to stey here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marquis

Address: 15 Rue Dupleix | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#224 Family Hotel in Paris
#255 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#378 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marquis Hotel
Le Marquis Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.