We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel I've stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Friend's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Friend's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friend's Hostel
122 Boulevard de la Chapelle | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hostel I've stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Worst hostel ever. I travel a lot, usually on a tight budget, so I've stayed in at least fifty hostels in Europe (and New York, the only non-European city where I've stayed in hostels), and this place is barely fit for habitation.

Where to start. The free wifi cuts out at 6pm. They’re supposed to have cards to sell wifi access for the evenings but they didn’t have any and didn’t know why or when they would have them again. They also couldn’t make change when I checked in – they literally had none whatsoever. Maybe they should consider just not accepting cash as a form of payment if they don’t carry a float, but unfortunately it’s just the opposite: cash is the ONLY form of payment they accept. They did not clean my room during the day, although everyone staying in it was gone. The bathroom was already horribly dirty when I arrived and just got worse, and worse, hair and water everywhere. The toilet was not clean, but the floors and sink were the worst. The floor was so wet, from the time I checked in until the moment I checked out, that you could not walk on it without shoes. I was afraid to use the shower. When confronted about the fact that the bathroom had obviously not been cleaned at all (and it hadn't - I was the last person to leave and the first to return, so it should have been clean upon my return and it wasn't!), the staff person, who could not speak French or English (just Spanish), denied it and obviously could not have cared less. Another guest in the same room said later that she had tried the same thing and was also met with rudeness. The bedding was old and dirty. There are no pillows. Each room has only one electric outlet. It was unheated, except for a plug-in heater, but if we used that, then no one could charge a phone or laptop. There are no lights by the beds. There is only one key per room, and no lockers. There is a room where the staff will put your things, if you trust them. I didn’t; they seemed both sketchy and incompetent. And to top it off, the neighbourhood is super sketchy. I left the metro to the shouts of men hollering at me and every other woman passing by, groups of them clustered on the street corners to try to grab your body or purse as you walk by, the rest of them yelling their own version of whatever it was. The only thing like a common room is a tiny room with four tables, seven chairs, and no space whatsoever. This is where people go to access the wifi, when it’s available.

Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    46
    37
    127
See reviews for
11
19
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This Hostel is small, people from the front desk and the guy who cleans are super rude and often not at all friendly.

The place looks dirty, the tap in the kitchen was broken, the bathroom was small and the shower water does not heat sometimes.

This area has a fair that runs all day, where they sell everything, just throw a towel on the floor and there they are ready. The day I arrived I saw a fight between two sellers, the street looks like hell and you always have the feeling that any moment you will be robbed. During the night the area is very quiet, but the night before I leave, I also saw another fight on the same street between sellers. Crazy!! Thanks God I had only 3 days in this hostel, never again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Having seen the bad reviews, i was very apprehensive about staying in this place and the area. However once having a look around the area it is no different to any inner city suburb and it extremely close to the metro! The hostel is basic but if your expecting 5* luxury (like some people on here) then dont even bother going travelling the world. You meet loads of other travellers here from America, Brazil and the UK etc. Staff helpful and very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here with couple of friends last week. I've read and know that i should be careful when staying here - but what there was a huge gap in between what i read and what i experience.


1. Location
It is located right in front of the metro Barbes Rochecourt - theoritically, it is nice to have a hotel right infront of the metro station. NOT ! the area itself, though it was close to Sacre coeur and Moulin Rouge, it was kind of a Bronx area. So immediately infront of the metro station you would see scary people trying to scam you off and also pick pockets !

2. Staff
During my stay there, i found only 1 nice and helpful staff - Nasim. Others are not so helpful - they just simply being there only for presence.

3. Facilities
We had a room for 12, 1 room for 6 and another room for 4. Room for 12 is located next to the warehouse - which all the girls are staying in. The room was equipped with AC (which needs to be fixed, you can only feel the air, but not the chill). Minimum standard of hostel. Beds are nearly broken...or broken already.

4. Cleanliness
This was worst. They cleaned up the room, emptied the trash bins on daily basis, however, it is impossible to keep the floor of the bath room totally dry. After being used by 12 ladies at night, in the morning, we found small worm like creatures crawling on the floor. We complained - then they clean it, then it happened again the next morning. This happened only to this particular room. So try avoiding it. We arrived at the hostel right after they had BBQ party I think – and when we got to the room, our room was smelly !

5. Ambience
Be prepared to meet drunkards in their common area - as the common area was actually open up to 10 or 12. Most of them would be drinking and having fun – sometimes too much fun, and loud. Probably we were just there at the wrong season. Also, they’re turning off lights in the corridor – which then is making the corridor and hallway totally dark – not nice when you had to go out or coming back late.

Verdict – if you’re looking for cheap and strategic lodgings, this is probably okay for you. But if you’re a woman solo traveler, or travelling with only females group… just avoid this place.

Room Tip: Don’t take the room at the ground floor – or the 12 beds dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This place feels and looks like a real hostel and comes with some handy amenities like a kitchen. Great to make your own breakfast here in the morning. The rooms are basic, but for the price more than fine, also the shower is relatively clean. The neighbourhood as such may not seem the most inviting, but one can safely walk around in the evening.

One of the best aspects of the hostel is its vicinity to the sacre coeur, from where you can have a great view over paris during sunset.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ok where to start.... we arrived on Thursday 12th of April from Spain after 24 hours on a coach we were pretty tired so we got the metro to Barbes Rouchcourt which is the metro just across the road from Friends Hostel. The first thing you notice when you come out of the metro station is the 20 or more men trying to sell you cig´s on a corner. I must admit walking through them is a little intimadating and my heart was in my mouth thinking where the hell are we! The area around the hostel looks more harm than it really is just a ten minute walk to the Sacre Cour and the Moulin Rouge. The young guy on the desk is very friendly and he checked us in and told us were are room was so on first inspection of the room it was simple with two single beds and a bunk bed with a sink in the corner nothing special but for 15 Euro´s per night per person we couldnt complain. Most days we spent out of the Hostel so we only really saw the place morning and evening but there was always cleaners in the toilets and reception and our bin was always emptied in our room. I could not say Friends Hostel was not clean because it was as clean as it could be with hundreds of people in and out each day. The kitchen could do with some improvements like better knifes and folks and plates also there is no oven just a Hob so you have to make do with a Microwave which after having soup in there for twenty minutes and it was still cold needs updating! The staff changes for the evening and you get an old Pakistani man who is very rude! I put money in the internet machine and it didnt work so i complained and he started shouting at me so i gave him as much back and he came and pulled the plug out of the wall... bad attitude! The good thing is there is no lock out so you don´t have to worry about been back at a certain time. I can honestly say that i would not stay there again due to the area but if you are looking for somewhere cheap then this is a good place to start.

Room Tip: Best to try and get a room that just has 4 people sharing rather than the other rooms with 16 as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treysfar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

It's simple but it's cheap. The neighborhood looks rougher than it is with about 15-20 pretty aggressive guys trying to sell cigarettes (and other stuff?), but if you just say no a few times you'll be fine. It's not close to any sights, but is about 20 feet from the metro stop which is GREAT for getting around Paris. As long as you set your expectation that it's a place to sleep, shower, cook in the kitchen, and hang out with people of all backgrounds, it's a fine place to stay. But I bring my own sheet and don't leave things behind that I couldn't stand to lose so I don't have to worry about some of the things other reviewers talk about.

If you want "nice" and "ideal", this place ain't for you. If you want a good experience with some interesting personalities where everything won't be perfect (which just adds to the adventure for me), it could be for you.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask to change rooms...several people did when I was there for 4 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friend's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend's Hostel

Address: 122 Boulevard de la Chapelle | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Friend's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friend`s Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friend's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.