We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enough for 2-3days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perfect

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perfect to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Perfect
39 rue Rodier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #915 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enough for 2-3days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I think its ok to stay for a few days and visit Paris. If youre travelling alone like i did it can be a little boring because there is no place to share with the other guests. The breakfasr is good and rooms are clean. You can take the metro to all the main places in the center. People at the reception are nice, but not friendly for recommendations for places to go out or eat ( they say "anywhere"). The showers are not in every floor, and there is one toilet in each floor.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    139
    78
    33
    15
See reviews for
38
137
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is the best place to be in Paris. It's located near to the metro and close proximity to many places.
The service is quite good and rooms are quite clean.
Special mention to the lady at reception named Chantelle, she made our stay really memorable. She arranged the extra rooms on such short notice and with no extra charge and that too on New Year's Eve. Really nice.
Will visit again if in Paris.

Thanks
Abhishek

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Firstly, this is a hostel, not a hotel, but they do extra things that other hostels don't do, such as supplying fresh towels every day and making up the beds when you go out. There is no lockout time, which is also nice. They also supplied us with little bars of soap. We had a private twin room with a private bathroom, and it was ok for a couple nights. However, I swear the beds were quite possibly the smallest beds I've ever seen, barely wide enough to fit my torso and arms, and I'm a 5'6" thin girl, my feet dangled off the end of the mattress a bit also. Definitely not big enough if we had been two tall men. The room was super tiny but cute, and we even had a little private balcony with a pretty iron railing overlooking the street. Shower was very good and lot's of hot water. However, there was a strange mouldy smell coming from the bathroom after our second night. I mean, quite a strong smell. My friend started to have respiratory symptoms such as a very dry, sore throat. Not good. Its a shame too because everything else was ok. They really need to do a deep clean of the carpets, get the mould out of there, and have bigger beds. Then it really would be 'perfect.' There was no safe in our room, so bring a lock for your suitcase to lock up any valuables.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is place is a decent budget option. The building and rooms could do with a face lift but for the price you can not complain. The staff were helpful when needed and the room was clean. Location is good as you can have a nice walk to and from the main parts of town. There are local shops to buy water and snacks. Down the road is some options for food and drinks with some happy hours close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good hostel as my 1st stay in my long travel of Europe.
Close to Nord station, friendly staff, cosy room w/ comfy shower. Easy access to spots by walk. Good value for money in expensive Paris.

Quite thin wall, heard everything from other rooms. breakfast is standard.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Man alive, I don't quite know what to say about this place. We had booked a private 3-person room with private facilities, for 3 people, some weeks before this trip. It was priced (and I have this in writing) 33euros/person per night. Unfortunately shortly before our booking, one of our party had to cancel. We asked if we could switch to a 2 person private room if one was available - otherwise we would keep the 3-person room and just eat the price difference (still a good price for a room in Paris we thought). We were told that they were booked up and did not have a 2-person room to move us to. So, that was fine, we would keep the 3 person room. Sorted, right?

Wrong.

We arrived to discover they had taken it upon themselves to 'save us some money' by putting us in a 3 person private room the first night but only charge us for 2 people, and then move us the next night to a 4 person dorm room, 'but there is only one other girl staying with you and she is really nice, and it's cheaper for you this way.' Wait... what?? This was problematic for a couple reasons - first of all, it negates the fact that we had expressly asked for a PRIVATE room. As well, even the private 3-person room they stuck us in the first night did not have the private facilities we had booked. I understand we paid less, but...32 euros per person. Now again, they only charged us for 2 people, so overall we saved some money, but I don't understand how this shared facility room was only 1euro less per person than the private facility room.

Additionally, we expected we were going to have a 3 person room and had asked around to see if we could find another friend who wanted to join us. What would they have done if we'd shown up with 3 people after all? With the hostel packed full for the weekend, they wouldn't have had a room for us, or they would have had to kick someone else out. I don't understand how they can shuffle bookings around like this without at least notifying you ahead of time. If we had tried the same thing, they would have charged us for the difference.

When we discovered we didn't have private facilities, we went back down and asked about that and the receptionist looked at us like we were bonkers and said that a private facility room would have been more expensive at 39euros per person per night on weekends. Again, I have it in writing from this same woman that our private facility room (which they had given to someone else anyhow) was 33 euro a night. When I mentioned this she said no, but during the week it is a cheaper price, but still not the price I was quoted, or that was on the website when I booked. It seems like they just pull these prices out of thin air. The lady is annoyingly friendly about everything which sort of glosses over the wool pulling before you even realize it. She disarms you very easily, even when you have emails and things to show her to prove your point. Yargh! So, beware. If you book here, be prepared for things to change on you, or be prepared to really put up a fight.

By the time our second day rolled around, surprise, someone else had booked the dorm room, so we ended up with a full house. Yes, the roomates were nice, but it still wasn't what we expected. The walls are indeed paper thin so be warned - Paris is the city of love after all and you can certainly hear it when your neighbours are getting amourous.

The washroom situation is a bit peculiar... showers are only on every second floor (not on our floor, of course) and there are only 2 for the whole 2 floors. I get up at odd hours so didn't find this too big a deal. Then there is a single toilet stall on each shower floor, and I think 2 on the odd floors. No sink. There is a sink in the room... so you know those door handles are dirty. Not that that isn't something to be cautious of anywhere. Since the only sinks are in the rooms, if you are in late or up early, you must either disturb the room with your toothbrushing and facewashing, or manage to do those things kind of in the shower.

Despite the weird stuff, the hostel itself is very cute. It is in Montmartre, not too far from the train station (we came in on the Eurostar and walked to the hostel from there). There is a little grocery store across the street and lots of little nearby bakeries and cafes. Our best and cheapest baguettes and wine were from a little place just around the corner. The hostel's room decor is chic in pink stripes, wood floors and modern, if cheap furnishings. There were adorable little filigree balconies to sit on and watch the street traffic.The rooms were clean. The in-room furniture is not cozy but there is a lounge downstairs to hang out in if you are so inclined. There was only one electrical outlet in our dorm room, so be aware of sharing if you need to juice up any electronics. Room entry was with a keycard, and they provide lockers with keys in the dorm rooms, which was good because we had expected a private room so hadn't brought locks with us. The breakfast was wonderful as well - simple bread and coffee and juice, but very delicious. Location is close to metro and bus stops. So, a nice spot to stay as long as your booking goes smooth - either book the least picky option, or bring your fightin' words!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really nice hostel. I love it because its clean, breakfast its included and hasnt got that teen party vibe which I usually don't like. As it was already said: it is a hostel not a hotel. I think it should be renamed it to avoid confusion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Perfect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perfect

Address: 39 rue Rodier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Perfect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perfect Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perfect, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.